We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Ranked #174 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice room”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Very nice room with nearly all the extras. Really solid rooms with very nice decor and high quality details. Good Internet, soft beds, nice rain shower.
The thing I don't like about the place is the restaurant. The breakfast food is always cold, even at 7:30am. The coffee is always empty or cold. The lunch and dinner fare is kind of a strange Northern European menu and not very many choices. The room service is very expensive.
Overall I loved the room but not the food.
The location is half way between 2 BTS stations. It's about 10 minute walk to BTS and shopping mall, 5 minute walk to nearest coffee shop and restaurants. So it's not in the middle of everything but not very far at all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarangBuddhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    168
    50
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
150
92
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Hotel is great all over and in my opinion is a true Boutique experience. The Hotel is brand new and yet you can already fell that a lot of energy and resources are put into maintaining, developing & maintaining the hotel. They have recently just open their terrace and rooftop bar.

Your will get the small luxury but yet cozy felling which is so important for a boutique hotel. Furthermore, you will also notice that this is not a large international chain but a privately owned hotel. There is a lot of personal pride is the revenue and this shows at both at the hotel and the Admiral restaurant.

The location is great it is a little down Sukhumvit but you are very close to the BTS line which will basically take you anywhere you want in Bangkok within 30 min. So in my opinion the location is great it is down a small soi and thereby quiet area but still easy to reach all the activities of Bangkok. From the airport you can also choose to go by the BTS and line and with one stop you will be at the hotel.

The rooms are big with all modern amenities and the bathrooms are very spacious and modern (walk-in shower etc.). The swimming pool and surrounding areas is really nice and great for relaxing after a long day of shopping or sightseeing.

The Restaurant Admiral’s Pub is chapter for itself, it has a really cosy fell where you will feel very welcome from the moment you step in. If you have a background in shipping or from Scandinavia you will for sure enjoy the historic atmosphere which has a great story to tell. Again here you can truly fell the personal evolvement from the owners.

I normally rate hotels and restaurant based on Value for Money and here it is really simply you get a lot of value for a very reasonable price. There is a lot of good options in Bangkok but if you are looking for this very special Boutique fell this would be the option for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesper_Vagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is really one of Bangkok's hidden gems. It's obviously quite new and it's location down Sukhumvit Soi 29 and can be a little off putting on first arrival. But don't let it be. It's a great hotel.

Only 50 meters from Sukhumvit, a little over a five minute walk to the Sky train & MRT. It's quiet and really well situated.

The rooms are great with ultra silent a/c's. All the usual fittings and not to small. The linen and beds are first class. One of the most comfortable I've come across in Bangkok.

The downstairs bar has a very nicely stocked cellar and is pleasant to spend a while in.

Breakfast is fine in a bright airy little restaurant. No complaints there.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwardgarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms here are fabulous. Incredibly clean and modern. The room is so big that the TV was hard to watch since it was a bit small, but who goes to Bangkok to watch tv? As a single traveler, it was a bit farther away from the main area than I wanted. You had to go into an alley to get to the hotel, but except for the first night when I didn't know the area, I felt safe. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the skytrain and close to Terminal 21, a huge shopping mall. I didn't eat at the hotel since it was ridiculously expensive for Bangkok. Not much around the area, but for the price, the room was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beriberidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here with my family (wife and son). The rooms are spacey and well decorated. The bathroom is just awesome. Service is friendly and fast, an extra bed was arranged on 5 min. 9 O'clock evening.
The bar and restaurant has this local atmosphere with an genuine interests in the customers well-being, and the dishes are big and tasty.
The owners help us out a lot with sightseeing ideas, not just the touristic places but real insight knowledge. They must have been here for long time!
All in all a very nice stay, and we will for sure return.

Room Tip: The corner suites are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLux69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel will be amazing when it is finished , but for know I will say we had a room below a construction sitet with the stair wells covered with yet to be used fuse boxes and transformers.

It's a shame but we were disturbed every morning by the sounds of drilling, cutting, Hammering and grinding. We were on the ninth floor so I went to have a look. I could not step out of the lift on the 10th floor as it wAS not safe to do so.

This area should be inaccessible during this time. I would also suggest that the level below the works not be used as it is just uncomfortable during the day.

On a plus the hotel scores top marks on everything else. But no matter how good the hotel , when you know your customers experience is being effected by your decision to carry out a re fit you can't provide a satisfactory product. Hence your low score. regardless of the price!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed 1 night at the hotel. it makes the job perfect when you stay for a short time in BKK. We booked a cornersuit at Agoda.com with a 20% dicount on top. so for this price (around 57$) we had a good offer.
we got the Room 305. View wasnt great. maybe its better to get a higher up one, what i acctually asked for it but didnt get.
Entrance hall is nothing special. it has no charm. its a bit cold and less welcoming. so maybe they could work on it.
people were friendly and welcoming you.

The Bed was supergood. spacious room, Internet in the wohle house. Bathroom was very nice. rainfall shower or a nice bath. Aircone was quite.

breakfast is ok. you get toastbread, egg in 3 different ways. fresh fruit, cornflakes in 2 cheap versions and meat. its a buffet. and a self service. so also there its a bit of a cold atmosphere.

as i said in the beginning. it does the job. the main thing is the room and this is great. ( maybe cause the hotel is new) lets see when a few years are gone and how it looks then.

the pool we didnt used cause the weather wasnt great to jump in the pool.

walking to the "asok" Trainstation is about 5-8 mins. taxi to and from "makkasan" is around 50-70 Baht.

i would go again

Room Tip: maybe high up to see a bit a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#383 of 863 in Bangkok
126 reviews
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#153 of 863 in Bangkok
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
S31 Sukhumvit Hotel
S31 Sukhumvit Hotel
#183 of 863 in Bangkok
600 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Premier Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid Bangkok

Property: Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Address: 6 Soi Sukhumvit 29, Sukhumvit Road | Kwaeng Klongtoey Nua, Khet Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mermaid Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mermaid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing