We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Ranked #186 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed 20th to 30th Sept which was in a Good location and quite street,but only 5 mins walk away from the bars and night life,the pool is great which gets the sun from first thing in the morning till mid afternoon,the room we had was fantastic also the best bed i have ever slept in, and the wifi was great all over the hotel,breakfast buffet was sufficient but not a lot of choice,the bar within the hotel was reasonably priced with snacks if required.
The only downside of the hotel, is that we arrived on the Thursday night,but had to go to reception on Saturday to request them to change the towels etc as the room had not been cleaned ,we also requested a wake up call at 5.30am from the receptionist to allow us to catch our flight home, but we never got the call and were lucky not to miss our flight.

Room Tip: suggest choose a corner suite room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 419 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a new hotel so expect new beddings and furnishings, a luxury for hotels at their price. Buffet breakfast is adequate, fast wifi, and very near the major happenings in Sukhumvit but none of the noise. There's a massage parlor nearby, a Thai restaurant, the BTS is a just a few minutes away. I came back here several times for the convenience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgccarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 23rd to 26th sept, a hotel that's worth staying for. Food is great! Staffs were trying their best to speak english when we asked some questions, they were helpful. Location is convenient to everywhere. Wifi service is great in room as well! They refill our amenities in room every day. I will recommend my friends and whoever is going to BKK to stay here, well to at least experience their hospitality!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdream85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great location within walking distance to everything! BTS, shopping center, massage,restaurants,bar, quiet and convenient. Breakfast buffet was very nice, wifi worked great and the room was extreamly clean since it is a very new hotel, comfortable bed, good amenities and design was very nice also. Great value for money and we would definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a perfect hotel if you want to be walking distance to where things are happening in Bangkok on the Sukhumvit road! The pool is great, wifi works perfectly and there's a little massage place just outside for those that are looking to relax. It's easy to get a transportation by just getting out on the highway and it's walking distance to some of the great malls.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It took us about 30 minutes to reach the hotel from BKK airport by taxi and the cost was roughly 250 bahts (including toll). It cost slightly lesser (205 bahts) from the hotel back to the airport, no toll.

The hotel currently only has 6 floors of rooms available for booking. It is surrounded by other hotels and some private condominiums. Basically, it looks clean, new and rather empty as this is a brand new hotel, newly opened in April 2012. Nice small pool, neat restaurant & bar. As the name 'Mermaid' suggests, the decor is sorta a marine theme.

Only the receptionist can speak somewhat good English. They are rather slow in service in general. It could be the culture of Thailand - chill out! The receptionist took a while to get us a room and was a little flustered but she tried her best to be nice. We checked in at 11pm. The lights in our room was faulty and it took them an hour to get us another room which I thought was rather long judging that the hotel was pretty empty and we were the only ones at the reception.

It takes 1 minute to walk out to the main road. Turn right towards Asok BTS which is the nearest train station. It takes about 10 to 15 mins to walk to the BTS. And if it rains, you may need a little longer.

The room is pretty clean and nice, it is a brand new hotel remember.. Not much to complain about. Love it! TV channels are the usual international ones. There is a rain shower system in the bathroom, nice! No bathtub. 2 mirrors, 1 full length in the bedroom and the other smaller one in the bathroom. Nice comfy double bed! You can borrow the hairdryer from the receptionist. The walkway is a little dark tho.

The hotel is still in the midst of renovation, prepping the higher floors (7th to 11th) which are out of bound to guests. No construction noise or dust, so not to worry!

Hotel breakfast was nothing fantastic. They have about 7 to 8 dishes including cereals and fruits just to fill you up. There are way better food in the streets of BKK so I would suggest you skip the hotel breakfast!

Overall, a nice boutique hotel for you to come to just to sleep after a whole day of spa, shopping and clubs!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yukikisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was very convenient for public transport and, surprisingly, very quiet.
It's new. The room was very clean and very comfortable, nice shower. Fast-speed wifi.
The Danish manager was very pleasant.
I don't understand the previous reviewer's comment about privacy at the pool...? It's not a huge pool but fine for a dip after a hot day sightseeing!
Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#407 of 887 in Bangkok
136 reviews
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#160 of 887 in Bangkok
1,734 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bangkok Hotel Lotus Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Admiral Premier Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mermaid Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mermaid Bangkok

Address: 6 Soi Sukhumvit 29, Sukhumvit Road | Kwaeng Klongtoey Nua, Khet Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mermaid Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mermaid Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing