We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. We needed somewhere to stay for one night in Bangkok and had some trouble finding a decent hotel that was close to kho san road. This one fit the bill. It's a 5 minute walk to the bars and markets but far enough a way to get a good nights sleep. The hotel and rooms were beautiful! We stayed in the river view room which was so worth it - amazing view if the river and sunset. The pool area is great- you can have a swim and relax next to the river- a world apart from the hurtle and bustle of Bangkok. We had a curry and some cocktails by the pool which were probably the best we had in our 3 week trip. Staff were friendly and helpful! All in all a fantastic hotel- wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri-Simm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    449
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
292
917
113
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed over on an unexpected business trip for 4 days. Though I booked last minute, the staff was very accommodating and gave me a free upgrade.
The restaurant babble and rum in the hotel is amazing, some of the best thai food I've ever had. But if you want a quick 2 dollar bite, hop out and there are plenty of decent street carts just around the corner.
My riverside room has great light and it was a perfect temporary work station. Wifi worked well, spacious desk...
The bartenders also has an excellent selection of cocktails - make sure to try something new!
Decent gym- much more than if expect from a hotel gym, let along a boutique hotel. The pool isn't big but very well designed - just like a pool in a spa resort.
I'm usually a complainer but can't think of a single bad thing to say about this boutique hotel. I really had a wonderful experience and will definitely return. And oh, I hear the owner of this hotel is really beautiful girl!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willkost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

While this hotel isn't exactly for the budget traveler, they did give me a special price when I asked, and I found it to be TOTALLY worth it. It is a beautiful hotel, has amazing amenities, is clean, comfortable (for me, this was much needed after staying a couple nights in cheap hostels) and the staff are sooooo nice and accommodating. The pool is lovely, and it is in a prime location in Bangkok to walk to markets, night life, parks, the river (with cheap water taxis to get you around the city), and great food. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I only stayed for 1 night, but it was amazing. They even helped me book a Thai cooking class and got me directions on how to get there. Awesome. And their staff give great massages too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was a really pleasant surprise. At it's affordable rate I didn't expect to have a butler like experience, but the staff were so on point and would always go out of their way to help.
The decor is Bangkok chic- modern sleek and with a touch of tropical feeling. Seemed to have a great energy in the place.
It's certainly on the hip scene, as you'd often find many stylish and beautiful people in the restaurant and around the lobby.
The only problem I had was that they booked the wrong type of room for me when I made the reservation. But they were very helpful to remedy it and gave me a credit for their mistake too. Seven stars, would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ky2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed 3 weeks in Riva Surya in March for work. Staff were extremely attentive and polite (thanks especially to Layda and Patty at the front desk, and Sunny-security). Small gym has high quality equipment and not many use it which is great. Pool large enough for (short) lap swimming. Beds and pillows are very comfortable, and wifi worked well. Rooms facing river with balcony are quietest and allow you to have a sundowner on your own balcony watching the ferries and river-life go past. I ate most nights from one of the smaller street stalls on Phra Arthit road: rice, veges and squid lightly fried for about US$1.25. Breakfast at hotel is good value and they made me an extra strong double cappucino every morning which was perfect. Easy 5 minute walk to KhaoSan road (which I generally avoided). Ferry from 100 metres away takes you up or down river including to BTS and shops. I took number 15 bus from outside hotel to MBK shopping mall for t-shirts and computer equipment on a weekend morning for 7 Baht (25 cents) in less than 30 minutes.

Room Tip: River room with balcony a must. Street rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Found Riva Surya Hotel on TripAdviser. Easy to book a room for a single traveller. Taxi from the airport cost around 300baht including tolls. Some confusion between "Riva" and "River" hotels on same street.
Staff warm and friendly. Could not do enough to help. Hotel well appointed and in good condition. Bonus is the Riverside view. Local area is lively but hotel peaceful. Room was spacious, clean and well equipped.
Breakfast was not included but available at reasonable cost. Good selection of food.
Location great for backpacker area and the River Taxis. Little further from the modern city centre.
Check out was smooth and efficient. Staff provided guidance on taxis and timings for return to the airport.
Overall, very enjoyable holiday!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

stayed in this charming boutique hotel for two nights - lovely suite overlooking the river. very helpful staff, beautifully appointed room, nice food. will definitely stay again even though hotel was a bit quiet which was most likely due to it being the low season.
great location too, with the jazz happens venue literally just across the road. close to shopping!!
only suggestion to hotel management would be to put on better quality live music but that could possibly change in peak season.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 868 in Bangkok
8,298 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 868 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing