We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a nice hotel”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a nice hotel”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I haven't really heard of Riva Surya Hotel before so I didn't really know what to expect but when we got there, it was actually a really nice hotel. The interior of the hotel (lobby and the rooms) was really nice and it has very intricate details on the walls and ceilings. It's very different from the big chains of hotels in Bangkok that's why it stands out, in my opinion. The staff were really friendly and very helpful,the rooms are clean and nice and it has a very nice pool too. The food at their restaurant was fine and a little pricey, it's better to just eat out since you will get plenty of options outside the hotel. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because of the area behind the hotel (facing the river) was very filthy, there were dog and human feces everywhere on the path walk to go to the boat stations so I found that quite disgusting. You can visibly see the path walk from the hotel's poolside and from the restaurant too, it wouldn't hurt if the hotel management would assign someone to clean that area since their hotel guests use the boats frequently. The main road in front of the hotel has lots of restaurants, cafés and bars, also it is very near Khao San Road where it is nice to hang out at night to eat out, do a little bargain shopping or go for some drinks at the bars. By the way, this hotel is also located at the backpacker central or it used to be.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeajuneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    449
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
291
915
113
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in Bangkok for a little over 2 weeks. I decided to move around a bit staying at different hotels. This was my favorite spot! Staff was great. Walking distance to a ton of attractions. Also right on the river so you can take a water taxi places too. Very clean and comfortable. Food by hotel standards, was not bad. Staff spoke better English than most places. I would definitely recommend this hotel.It did get a little loud at night and the only fault I see with the whole hotel is that it has the loudest doors I have ever heard. Every time one closes it sounds like it was slammed. A small down to an otherwise great place.

Room Tip: Riverside doesn't mean "view" I was on the 2nd floor and the trees blocked the view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed at the Conrad Hilton 5 years ago, and it was like not leaving Miami; my home. I wanted to be near the old section without the long commute from the area of the Conrad Hilton; I found it at this Boutique one year old Hotel next to the river. We traveled to all places by river ferry located in back of the hotel. Service and food were excellent, and the staff competent and friendly; they spoke not only English, but French, Italian, and Spanish, as well as other languages I did not recognise. The Manager was superb, and came by daily to see if we were happy with his staff and facilities; we were there 10 days with no problems; conducted business, and were able to be close to all we wanted to see. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river, as high as possible for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubancomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very friendly staff
Excellent location, quiet and less than 15 minutes walk from the Royal Palace, Wat Pho and the vibrant Khao San Road. Also less than 5 minutes walk from the local ferry station.
Booked a top floor room with river views and worth every penny. Private balcony with stunning views over the two bridges. Comfortable couch on balcony meant spent countless hours watching the river go by whilst relaxing with a cold beer.

Room Tip: Book room with river view, worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cov833JohnRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wonderful riverside restaurant, top notch food and good service. I went to the Riva Surya with a group of 10 to celebrate Loy Krathong expecting it to be good, but it was really excellent. The chef pulled out all the stops with the buffet adding interesting twists to the selection of food. It wasn't just a seafood buffet, it was crab, lobster, king prawns with your choice of a variety of marinades. Not just pate but foie gras cooked in front of you. Not just a selection of fruit but a chocolate fountain with fruit to dip. Incredibly good value. To top it off there was a great live jazz band all night, free flowing wine and beer AND a boat tour along the river where we floated our krathongs. Looking forward to more events at this hotel as they did a such a beautiful job at this one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent service and very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent rooms and location. We had a river view suite that overlooked the river and spent hours on the balcony watching the boats go by - it was so relaxing. The restaurant food and service was excellent. We ate there most nights.

Room Tip: Splash out and get a river view room - it's well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaTravels-net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A really great hotel. We can't find anything to complain about.

Highlights:
-Great location, right by the river
-Hotel Pool (river facing) - Sip on one of their great cocktails and watch the boats at sunset
-Walk to Khao San Road and it's many bars/restaurants/shops
-The staff are very helpful
-The Breakfast is great

Room Tip: Riverside room is well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shimTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,288 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing