We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is amazing, rooms are average”
Review of Riva Surya Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riva Surya Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Location is amazing, rooms are average”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't like to stay in my room a lot so the fact that they are pretty small does not bother me so much. There wasn't a balcony which I would have enjoyed because the hotel has great views of the river and sunset.

However I cannot praise their location enough. You can walk to khao san road which is a great nightlife experience and it is a half football (American) to a pier 13 where river taxis can take you to the palace, many temples and further down to China town or Asiatique. Taxis are cheap too. Usually only costing $3-5 to get to the shopping district with MBK or Siam centers, from which the sky train can take you further.

There are so many hotels in Bangkok that I would like to try more of them for a basis of comparison but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to explore Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raider781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    449
    65
    15
    6
See reviews for
292
915
113
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kamakura, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A Thai friend suggested I give this hotel a try. That is some of the best advice I have ever gotten. The staff members make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in. The hotel is small, and so they get to know the people staying there and their likes/needs. That personal interaction by itself makes this a good choice. But wait . . . as they say in infomercials . . . there's more! The rooms are quite spacious and furnished in an authentic contemporary Thai style, clean and comfortable.

One side of the hotel overlooks the river. I suppose these are the preferred rooms. However, I was quite satisfied with mine, overlooking the street. A band plays every night in a club right across the street. When I had the veranda doors closed, I only barely heard it. But the more I listened, the more I liked the music. So, for two nights, I ended up keeping the veranda open. (The club itself was packed, so listening from my "skybox" was a privilege.) The handsome hotel restaurant served good food. It and the bar are right on the river. Reclining on the poolside couches is a wonderful way to end the evening.

Also, and this is important, the hotel doesn't try to reach into your pocket for every service. WiFi is included in your room and is available throughout the hotel. A safe is available in each room. Wake-up calls come promptly, along with an offer to call again in a few minutes.

All told, this is one of my favorite places to stay anywhere in the world. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: If you absolutely want riverside, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man0ntheM0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a surprise!
The location is superb and the views over the Chao Praya glorious!
There is this modern chic all over... I absolutely loved this hotel!

On the negatives; the pool is small and the breakfast rather overpriced.

Overall I think I have found my favorite place in Bangkok; reasonably priced luxury!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to be in the heart of "backpackerland" without doing the backpackering! The staff are friendly and polite. The hotel is clean and designed well.

However, the menu is extremely limited and the quality of food was poor.
The room was spacious, but very sparsely furnished so felt half empty.
Very few of the staff had an adequate level of English for a hotel of this rating
The music by the pool and around the hotel was terrible (and too loud) - I am all for having a bit of funky chill out music floating around, this however was not that and created the wrong vibe
The staff around the pool/restaurant were not very attentive hence you have to go and find them when you want served....
We thought we may have to change our booking from 3 days to 2 but were told we would have to pay the 3rd night anyway (seemed a bit harsh) obviously we stayed the extra night

Considering the great deals on true luxury hotels in BKK this did not feel like value for money - unless all you want is the location. Still think this place has great potential and would go back if could get a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived here after a long trip from Koh Chang, and we really appreciated our room on the 4th floor with balcony and river view.
Everything is very nice, furniture, location, breakfast, products in the room, but my husband did not appreciate the bathroom with glass walls (he prefers more privacy!)
I recommend it also to business travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManuVagabonda64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Riva Surya Hotel is situated along the Chao Phraya River in Bangkok.

When you enter the hotel you are struck by the fact that there isn't a reception desk, just a table with 2 laptop computer. You are greeted immediately with exquisite warmth, led to an armchair and presented with a cool drink. Then you just have to provide your credit card, sign a form, receive your magnetic key and taken to your room. Your bags arrive within minutes.

My room was on a high floor with a view on the river. It had a most comfortable bed, bottled water is provided daily. The bathroom is spotless, the shower is spacious. The a/c can be set to exactly the level you want.

Breakfast is served indoors or outdoors and, if you desire, it is a real meal.

The hotel offers you a free ride on one of the boat buses.

A lovely experience.

Room Tip: A high floor with a view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is really a oasis in the middle of a chaotic city and poluted (at the same time amasing) city such as Bangkok.
The reservation online makes the price per night to be lower and, despite the cost, it is really a very good price for the quality (both for intallations and service) that is provided.
People are gently, they make you any favor, are always aware and explain everything very well. Massages (Thai and soft ones) are not expensive at all. And you have the best scenario for doing them, close to the swimming pool, which is also a magical spot, contrasting with the river, with clean water and smooth environment,
Breakfast is great! (it is not included). If you need transfer service for other nearby cities they can arrange it for you.
And the archtecture is just BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL BEAUTIFUL.
This is my first comment on tripadvisor, despite I had already attended at least 30 different hotels in my life, but this is definitively the best one.
hope you enjoy** the country is amasing too. nature forest development

ps: wifi is free and fast anywhere in the hotel and there are 2 Mac computers in the entrance hall for those who had left them at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlota_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,291 reviews
Banglamphu
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Surya Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Surya Bangkok

Property: Riva Surya Bangkok
Address: 23 Phra Arthit Road | Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Surya Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the Chao Pharya River in the heart of Bangkok, Riva Surya is surrounded by some of the city’s most treasured historical sites. A Sixty eight-room boutique hotel, Riva Surya adds a touch of style and charm to this bustling locale. Surrounded by cultural treasures and within walking distance of the lively entertainment district of Khoa San Road, Riva Surya gives you direct access to many popular sites and connects you to the city center via a distinctive mode of transportation, the river boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riva Surya Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing