We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pimienta Tapas Bar & Restaurant

Pimienta Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3,173 of 10,627 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown / Yaowarat
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

And the food is pretty good too. Pimienta's Tapas or a la carte and Sangria are all excellent! We like it so much, we now have been there three times since we discovered it three months ago. We also attended the buffet dinner on the last new year's eve at Pimienta and it was the best new year celebration we ever had in Bangkok. Surprisingly, although it was packed, the restaurant served excellent buffet food which offered variety and great taste. My favourite was the braised duck in sangria. Absolutely to die for! The desserts were also well prepared and delicately tasty. In the cool season, outdoor seating is excellent but make sure it is after 8pm, for a lot of the dinner cruise boats dock out in front and it gets a bit crowded and noisy. There is also a small band offering live music outside on the terrace.The indoor area is elegant but quite chilly as the air conditioner is on constantly to cater for those who can't handle Bangkok's heat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mckrungtep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Riverside dining with a great view and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a reasonably-priced restaurant next to the Chao Phraya River. You can eat inside or outside. Because it was hot, we chose to eat inside in the attractive restaurant. Later on, they had a singer outside. This is just a few feet from the water. I had crab ravioli and my husband had pot roasted fillet. Both were good. We shared a delicious white chocolate flan dessert. The service was very nice. There is also a tapas menu. We ate here because we could walk over from our hotel and because it's next to the water. It was a plus that the food was also quite good and reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lylac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas and Paella, Heavy-duty Sangria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Pimienta is situated in the River City shopping complex on the east bank of the Chao Phraya River on the 1st floor occupying 3 riverfront units with indoor and outdoor seating. We were promptly greeted by who we assume is one of the co-owners. We indicated that we were there for dinner and to our delight, the two of us were seated at a table for 6-8 giving us ample room to sit comfortably and space for our numerous dishes.
This clean and warmly decorated restaurant offers not only a wide range of tapas but an extensive selection of Mediterranean fare. Dishes range from $5 to $10 USD each. The beverage menu and wine list has more than enough to choose from. The soup, three tapas dishes and paella were all deliciously prepared and presented beautifully. The gazpacho was appropriately cold and tasty. The mushrooms stuffed with prawns with light mustard dressing were delicious. The seafood paella was seasoned to our liking. The sticky toffee cake with butterscotch sauce and cream was over-the-top amazing.
The pitcher of red sangria was super strong and more than the two of us could handle. The restaurant was kind enough to put the remaining sangria into a wine bottle for us to take home.
We look forward to going back to try the black squid ink paella and seafood croquettes amongst others. We’ll also be sure to bring some friends to help us with the white sangria.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RayNok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
348 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A good menu selection with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Finally I got a chance to review this restaurant. I need to put some photos for this review soon.
The menu is great and the choices are unexpected top of the range.
I am sure that the guy behind this kitchen putting a lot of thinking in planning the menu.
The decor is very attractive plus the river view outside making it perfect.
The service is friendly and attentive.
The down side is the shopping center around this restaurant is nothing special. I am so lucky to find this restaurant accidentally.
Anyway, I am sure that this restauarnt will move up in terms of rating in Bangkok.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wiseguy1282005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pimienta Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Pimienta Tapas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing