We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”
Review of The Cabochon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cabochon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 652 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with a fresh chilled coconut juice in the library before being taken to our very tasteful room with its own spacious balcony. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent.
We also enjoyed the laid back breakfast with fresh fruit, bread and a selection of hot breakfast to order.
Wifi works very well throughout the hotel and free international calls are included. That was a big plus for us after we had to spend an hour on the phone to the bank in the UK sorting out a problem.
We went for a quick pre breakfast swim and it was really lovely up there. We are staying again in a few weeks and I'm already looking forward to spending more time by the pool.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    71
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
144
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

From the moment we walked in the door we were impressed with the welcome and the excellent service in this charming hotel restaurant. The menu is not big however the dishes we chose were superb. I had chicken, cooked in lemon grass and coconut and I can honestly say I have not experienced such wonderful flavours before. My dessert was spicy sweet rice, with mango and this was also delicious. The staff were charming and helpful in our selection of dishes.
The Hotel is located off the main street and down an ally way so you need to google instructions on how to find the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awbw1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed in the Cabochon during my working trip in BKK early November. I have no doubt to recommend this hotel to those who want to have a relaxed trip in the busy town. The outlook and interior design are wonderful! It gives the sense of vintage and I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere there. Staff are friendly and helpful and gave me a feeling of going back home! Food are great! Try to spend some time just sitting in the Joy Luck Club and have a cup of tea! You would believe yourself is living in the old Shanghai! Bed linen are so comfortable that I can't found in any hotels I'd ever stayed. The only problem I met was the flashing system in my washroom but it was fixed immediately by the staff. The overall experience in the Cabochon is excellent and it is surely my choice for my next trip to bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WN_CHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We chose this hotel because we didn't want to stay in a huge chain one and were so glad we did. It's beautiful inside and out, designed to look like a house in 1920's Shangai, all dark wood, old shop counters, glass cloches covering butterflies, a lovely little library filled with really cool books and an amazing rooftop pool. The staff here are excellent too and went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. I can't recommend this hotel enough and I don't normally bother to leave reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minxieminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Cabochon Hotel is one of those eclectic discoveries; a place which makes you feel you are on the inner circle in a travelers hierarchy. It's elegant and timeless design belies it's young 2 year existence. The color palettes are thought out with taste, and the communal areas, hand-picked vintage store and restaurant are designed with a personal artistry that echoes the sentiment of the whole place. Kamon and the staff are polite and welcoming, and the structure unique. We stayed in the balcony suite which was spacious and comfortable, with beautiful nuances. The only very small negatives were the lack of light, and the location whilst central and connected by transport, is a short way from many main attractions, but in a bustling city like Bangkok, the privacy and quiet this location affords is a positive for a good night's sleep. Highly recommend, it's charm is boutique in the purest form.

Disclaimer: Cabochon Hotel hosted our stay in the Balcony Suite.

Room Tip: The Balcony suite is spacious, comfortable and feels like a home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights then came back for a third on our way back to Australia after 6 months travel in Europe. We arrived exhausted after 16 hours flying. The room was made ready early & we were able to check in 3 hours early for a sleep. It was a lovely quiet room, beautifully decorated, clean with a comfortable bed. We loved the rooftop pool, the breakfasts & the restaurant & the location was just right. The staff were attentive, competent & friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebboS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

- check in / greeting: staff was helpful and well mannered
- style & location: love the 1920's deco. was surprised to be transported back in time when i stepped into the huge gates of the mansion-like house at the end of an alley, cozy location further away from the bustling Siam area, but not too far from the BTS stations. It's a great pick if you prefer staying in a comparably more residential area a short ride away from the shopping mega malls.
- food: i usually don't eat in hotel restaurants, prefer trying out the stalls on the streets, but made an exception for Cabochon and totally loved it. the decor and food was an unbeatable package.
- room: we loved the consistent details of 20's design, our room had a big balcony which brought through great ventilation and natural light

all in all i totally fell in love with the place and the warmness of the staff & hotel manager. would definitely choose to stay here again next time in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 863 in Bangkok
580 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 863 in Bangkok
1,505 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabochon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabochon Hotel

Property: The Cabochon Hotel
Address: 14/29 Sukhumvit 45 Road | Klongton Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 652 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cabochon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabochon is a one-of-a-kind boutique hotel located in the heart of Bangkok. Explore, dine and relax surrounded by artifacts collected from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cabochon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing