We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“she knows how to cook with love”
Review of Joy Luck Club

Joy Luck Club
Ranked #524 of 11,062 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“she knows how to cook with love”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

it's a place out of any places, it seems when you enter that little room you are no longer in bangkok, maybe in paris or spain... and when the little thai woman come to bring you those tasty potatoes chips you cannot avoid smiling at her and hug her... she is such a powerful and energetic person and this is confirmed by the love she put in all the dishes she prepares with her hands as if all of us were her children. We were 11 people and she was able to prepare fastly one of the best dinner I've evere had in 2 weeks vacation in Thailand

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loredana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    42
    21
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nothing big or fancy but very tiny, cute and having some kind of a home atmosphere. We went in for a caffe and to relax and refresh after the long walk and firstly we liked the interior a lot. Waiters were nice, caffe was great, the music as well and shortly, we enjoyed our time in Joy Luck Club.
At the end we decided to take a small snack and it was very good choice, the best spring roles in our lives.
Highly recomended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Great taste of Thai Food from Thais opinion”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm Thai and just found this nice Thai restaurant to dinner with friend. I live in Bangkok but not knowing much about which restaurant is having good Thai dishes near Pha Artit road. Accidentally, I walk passed Joy Luck Club and my friend told me that this restaurant is famous so we interested and just tried it out. We ordered two menus : Omelette Formula 1(special formula omelette by the owner and she also have Formula 2 we) and fried tofu with vegetables. Both menus are tasty and make we wanna try other menus next time. Also, lemon juice is great refreshing. It is the real Thai food I think.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pimfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and trendy,gorgeous cafe! Not to be missed!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had the massaman curry and it was one of the nicest curries I've ever had in my entire love. It came with sweet roti bread which was also delicious. So glad I found this place! Free wifi and the loveliest staff too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r_jacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Bangkok.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Having lived in Thailand for over six years, I'm very disappointed to have only recently found Joy Luck Club. What have I been eating all these years?!

The staff, who I believe are two sisters, are very friends, very helpful and more than happy to explain each freshly made dish in great detail.

The food is brilliant, the drinks are great... I can't fault anything.

This is my new favourite place to eat in Bangkok. It's a must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommumford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joy Luck Club also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Joy Luck Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing