We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Bolognese

Il Bolognese
Ranked #40 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Description: By Customer Tripadvisor review... This smallish, cozy Italian restaurant in the heart of the city offers some of the best Italian food in Bangkok. Situated in a stand-alone Thai house, it has both indoor and outdoor seating and a room for private parties. The prices are average but the food is exceptionally good. There are weekly specialties on offer but the standard fair includes homemade pastas, salads, antipasti, fish, beef, lamb, chicken, and, of course, their famous pizza. They also have homemade desserts and an impressive wine list as well as a fully-stocked bar. Definitely worth a visit.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I had an excellent dinner there a few weeks ago. The staff were well-trained and courteous and the manager (an Italian gentleman) was extremely friendly and helpful. We started off with a couple of salads which were excellent before I had a ravioli in a cream sauce and my girlfriend had her spaghetti vongole. Again, both dishes were excellent. All the dishes were large portions, which I truly appreciate, but I would recommend sharing a starter instead. I would also like to specially recommend the house wine. It was excellent stuff, generously poured.

All in all, I will definitely go back again and try something else from the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckystriker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    154
    31
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Benissimo!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Glad that I found this authentic Italian restaurant not so far from where I live, it's really a hidden gem. Pizza was tasty and crisp. My spaghetti frutti di mare was really great. Squid was perfectly cooked and all ingredients were so good. You can tell right away that they use premium ingredient. The service here was excellent, especially the Italian owner or manager, he really welcome you warmly and treat you like friends. They served a special little complementary and also after meal they serve limoncello as well. This place is cozy and nice. It's good for a romantic night for couples or friends to hang out. I will definitely go back to this restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Posh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This smallish, cozy Italian restaurant in the heart of the city offers some of the best Italian food in Bangkok. Situated in a stand-alone Thai house, it has both indoor and outdoor seating and a room for private parties. The prices are average but the food is exceptionally good. There are weekly specialties on offer but the standard fair includes homemade pastas, salads, antipasti, fish, beef, lamb, chicken, and, of course, their famous pizza. They also have homemade desserts and an impressive wine list as well as a fully-stocked bar. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Il bolognese is a good place to have a pizza. Pizzas are quite good even if a little bit too fat.
Restaurant itself is nice too, probably a good place to have a romantic meal.

Helpful?
Thank Penvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant far far away from Bologna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am italian, born and grown up in Bologna, which is arguably one of the best places to eat in Italy, so I know what good food is. I am currently living in Bangkok and luckily I found this great restaurant, where authentic Italian food is offered every day! The tortellini, the signature dish of Bologna, are excellent and the lasagne are simply delicious.
The staff is always friendly and attentive. The manager, Andrea, always attends to us personally and helps us with the menu and/or recommends a good wine. Really great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aleluppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bolognese also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Il Bolognese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing