We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Italian trattoria for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Bolognese

Il Bolognese
Ranked #40 of 10,686 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sathorn
Description: By Customer Tripadvisor review... This smallish, cozy Italian restaurant in the heart of the city offers some of the best Italian food in Bangkok. Situated in a stand-alone Thai house, it has both indoor and outdoor seating and a room for private parties. The prices are average but the food is exceptionally good. There are weekly specialties on offer but the standard fair includes homemade pastas, salads, antipasti, fish, beef, lamb, chicken, and, of course, their famous pizza. They also have homemade desserts and an impressive wine list as well as a fully-stocked bar. Definitely worth a visit.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian trattoria for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a great time at Il Bolognese - warm welcome by Andrea and the team, nice dry prosecco, real attention to quality and authenticity and good wine list with reasonably priced, quality wine. My porcini ravioli was delicious - loved every bite. Friend said the gnocchi was great, as was the osso bucco. And we loved the desert - simple gelati, fresh and delicious. I would look forward to going back to this restaurant and trying more of the food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    154
    31
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This place is perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'm a very difficult and critic person, but after eating in il Bolognese, i can say is superb.
Thanks to Andrea that bring the pizza experience in a level that no one can do it.
I will come back and advise to every friends

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KhunFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambais, France
Level Contributor
306 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I recently visited this Italian restaurant and felt I was in Italy. Home made pizzas and now since the new Manager arrived more really Italian dishes in this restaurant more and more busy where you can dine outdoor if you fell like it. Food is fresh wine selection good and reasonable very price. They also have a private room where you can enjoy the diner without being in the main room.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotteglober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great food within an authentic Italian taste and genuine atmosphere all finely enhanced by the precious touch and professionalism of the GM Andrea, that will often surprise you with unique dishes made out of the freshest Italian ingredients that will fully please your palate. Very good deal at lunch time!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FabioBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“This is the Place for Excellent Italian and a Most Comfortable Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I love this restaurant. The parking is easy ( which with my mobility problems is important) The owner/manager is not only friendly but sure knows his stuff ( and remembers you from months ago!) but above all the food is excellent , original and very well prepared with changing menus. Its a place you go to have good conversation, excellent service. and be most comfortable as the tables are well spaced and the seating is great. To us , and I have come with many friends , its one of the most relaxing restaurants around , priced at slightly above average with average value compared to the local competition.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bolognese also viewed

 

Been to Il Bolognese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing