We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the prettiest Temples”

Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple)
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.29*
and up
Half-Day Small-Group Temples Tour in Bangkok
More Info
$37.70*
and up
Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho
More Info
$35.81*
and up
Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho
Ranked #26 of 558 things to do in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Often referred to as the “marble temple” in guidebooks, this architectural gem features a magnificent Buddha image, which is a copy of the highly revered Phra Buddhajinaraja, and a beautiful beamed ceiling in a dark red and gold.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
697 reviews
417 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
“One of the prettiest Temples”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Visited July 2013. This is one of the prettiest temples and being made from marble makes it unique. It is just as ornate inside although this is a small temple. Photographs beautifully and was empty when we were there. Part of a tour of six temples - each being different.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    456
    116
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not a fair review”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is not a fair review, since we are not allowed to enter the temple as there's a ceremony going on.

So we were only allowed to go behind the temple to see the monks and the place where they will shave their heads.

The surrounding is great for some photos though. Do snap away!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaemonChylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ok...”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a lovely temple but compared to others I visited I was really quite disappointed by it. It is small, nothing much to it to be honest. Go to Wat Pho and Wat Tramit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This Temple is a unique Temple because it is made completely from marble. A lot of the ceremonies take place around this Temple. The temple itself is beautiful. With its marveled carved exterior and it's delicate made interior. Every part of this temple is beautiful from the statues to the window shutters. Definitely a must to Thailand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Solemn temple but beware the scammer”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I forgot if I posted a review for this before but I do agree about the post of another reviewer about a scammer we met here while touring around the city. He seemed very friendly and he'd sell you the "precious stones" of thailand (that you can buy at some location where the tuktuk will take you - the tuktuk offered was free since they claimed that it was a special government holiday; in fairness, we got to go to the temples for free.). He was saying that it was a great deal and that you get to buy jewelry in bangkok at factory prices for a very limited time. He claims that reselling it in your home country will make you so much money. Beware of this scam!

Aside from this, the the temple and compound is small but nice. Not crowded and very solemn.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank noleaveswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple) also viewed

 

Been to Wat Benchamabophit (The Marble Temple)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing