We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #311 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Right on crazy Koh San road. Old looking hotel but very clean and well appointed inside. Hideaway pool area where you may well be the only swimmer. Great buffet breakfast included.
Find your walking shortcut to the Phra Atit ferry pier, and you'll have a Baht 40 ticket to just about anywhere in Bangkok.
A bit silly that you have to pay a cash deposit for your room key, but I guess too many tourists have gone home with them.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are the more quiet ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Billy044

Much appreciate your favorable comment regarding your experience at Viengtai to be considered as clean, well appointed and great buffet breakfast.

Your review makes us swollen with pride and more passionate to please our guests. Apologies for inconvenient occurred to you regards room key deposit and thank you for being generous to recognize our responsibility.

Nonetheless, guest review helps us getting better in overall visitor experience, Thank you once again for sharing your opinion. Look forward to you host you on your next stay with us.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    366
    243
    48
    28
See reviews for
102
245
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I used this hotel twice on my 2 month trip as I based myself in Bangkok. The hotel is in a convenient location - walking distance or short tuk-tuk journey to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. There's plenty going on around the hotel as it's in back-packer central! The rooms are spacious and clean, although those at the front overlook the noisy night scene which carries on til after midnight, so if you want a quiet room ask for one at the back. Staff were brilliant - very helpful and obliging and I personally thought the breakfast buffet was brilliant and good value (150Baht) and starts at 6.30am if you have an early start. It was a little bit pricey for my budget, but do look for deals on the Internet as the price varies.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manichouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mainchouse

We are indeed privileged to be located on the golden spot of shopping and entertainment along with attractions.
Absolutely love your feedback; it is an affirmative to the service and the restaurant that my team and I work hard to accomplish guests’ supreme fulfillment.
We can’t wait to hosting you back again soon- the world famous Thai new year 13-15 April would definitely be a great time for you.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Viengtai in 2012 and were very happy with it then, so when we needed just one night between trips leaving from Rambuttri Road, we found our old favourite again. We were given a room on the eighth floor away from the street and it was perfectly quiet. Rooms are large and it was so nice to have a large bathtub to soak away the day's activities.

The foyer is also very spacious, and as we had a late departure from Bangkok, we left our bags with the hotel and returned later to collect them, spending some time on the free wifi in the foyer. The staff was always very accommodating. There is such a large choice of restaurants in the area, as well as being the hub of tour departures. If you need to be near the Khao San Road area, then this is your hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors on the side away from the street are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Travelbugbitten10

I am grateful for your comment regarding our staff and various complimentary amenities such as a life-size bathtub, secured storage, on the house wifi.

Also our pool is quite popular for those travelling as a Family, location that gives numnumerous fabulous options for shopping and dining.

Our staffs are often seen giving advice and direction for local attractions. All of our employees take pride in what they do. Thank you for the excellent review and rating of your experience at Viengtai hotel.

Best regards

Suittirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Viengtai hotel was great with good breakfast. We stayed 5 nights and it is close to a 7 Eleven for anything needed for tourists and water bottles (even if you have complimentary ones). They have lock boxes. Beautiful and quiet pool. They are on a lively street at night and so many restaurants, shops in the same street. Use their 10am free shuttle to Grand Palace. Best way to get around, take a tuk tuk and bargain the price. The service at the front desk was great: Pramot Buakhaw was so helpful, with great english. For a day trip we booked a car through Bangkok Beyond to visit Ayutthaya.

Room Tip: Our room window was facing the parking lot and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Audew13

I am totally blown away by your eyes on details review. It is really shows us that you have valued for what Viengtai have to offer. It is delighted that you have chosen us to be your home away from home and Pramot Buakhaw, one of our associate especially contributed to make your stay exceptional.

I shall ensure that all of your kind observation is passed on to Pramot and the rest of the team. Our staff is very accommodating and will go above and beyond to certain all of guests have a great experince while they are here at Viengtai Hotel.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel itself is fine for a budget property, central location & clean. But the noise from the street is so loud until at least 2am, if you want to rest I would look for somewhere else. If you want to be on the street/I the bars till 2am then it's perfectly suited. Personally would not have chosen this property if it had not been part of a tour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Janet2801

It is regret to learn that your stay with us was not a great impression. Viengtai hotel has giant advantage of being located in such a full of activities area. However, it also comes with noise penetrability which hotel has been putting in order to get rid of.

We appriciate hearing from you. Feedback from our guest, both positive and negative,is valuable as it allows us to make appropriate adjustments as needed.

Your comment is thoughtful. Thank you for providing opinion regards your Viengtai experince.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This Hotel is clean and comfortable and smack in the middle of the busy Tourist Distict in Bangkok adjecent to the main street of Bars. We only stayed for a couple of nights and then headed to Ko Samui. It's perfect for a quick stopover but not a long stay.

Room Tip: If a couple you must specify a double Bed when booking or the default with assign you a twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Danielle S

Providing our guest exactly as advertised is always our goal. The incomparable area Viengtai situate only one step outside hotel glass doors to Restaurants, Bars, Market is what we proud of further more with cozy and hygienic rooms.

Thank you for spending your time mention us online on your latest reside with Viengtai.

Best Regards

Suttirak K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great hotel. This place stands massive in an area that is so ramshackle and random, yet it kinda fits into the background.

Very comfortable, perfect location (right next to Kho San). All the amenities you'd expect A/C, Safe, TV, breakfast, comfy beds, great showers.

Enjoy this awesome area in Bangkok but do it in style. Very affordable for Flashpackers and oldies. Students etc you can afford it for a night or two if you really need to escape from the heat and get a shower.

Staff couldn't be any better. Super friendly, super helpful. The tour operators and suit salesmen in the lobby will try it but won't push if you say no and walk away.

I will stay there next time I'm in Bangkok.

Room Tip: oh if possible ask for one at the 'back' of the hotel.....that said the street noise didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Chris C

Terrific recommendation you gave to upcoming travelers. We were pleased to discover you fond of Viengtai well-situated spot, full facilities and our personnel reached you with efficient and charismatic service throughout your stay.
The exceptional experience is what Viengtai makes every effort to bring to every guest. Your expressions means a lot as your acknowledgment will undeniably inspire us to do better in the future.

Best Regards

Sutiirak K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 852 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#352 of 852 in Bangkok
712 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#434 of 852 in Bangkok
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 852 in Bangkok
995 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 852 in Bangkok
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing