We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viengtai. Great location, excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a 12 hour flight, me and my friend were welcomed very warmly by the staff. They were more than happy to take our bags to our room and gave us flower garlands. Really sweet.

It's located down the road next to Khaosan which is great because you can explore the madness of Khaosan and still get a good nights sleep down the quieter road.
The air con worked really well, nice and cool and it was very spacious and clean for the relatively cheap price we paid.

We had breakfast both days and there were plenty of options to choose from. The pool is worth a swim in too to escape the heat!

When we checked out, the staff let us leave our suitcases in a locked room until later in the day whilst we explored.

A very pleasant few days. I would highly recommend and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katreed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear Katreed4,

We happy to learn that you were satisfied with our staff & services. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 951 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had requested a non smoking room in the new wing,but when we arrived we were given the key to possibly the worst room in the hotel. It was in the old part of the hotel and smelt strongly of smoke. We went to reception to complain and was rudely given the key to another room and informed that that was the only other room available, again in the old part and very noisy. We have stayed at the Viengtai several times in the past and it has always been good but never again! Also we called in the travel agent belonging to the hotel to book transport to Hua Hin, telling him clearly that we wanted an air conditioned bus. We ended up in an overcrowded mini bus which took three hours before we eventually departed Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing but chances are you won't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience while staying with us. We would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. To allow us to investigate on the case, kindly provide us with more information at info@viengtai.co.th. Thank you.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were lucky to get a back room overlooking the pool so it was nice and quiet. The rooms are clean and the linen is very comfortable. Some of the staff are very friendly but it can be a bit hectic at peak times on the front desk when I think extra staff would be good to help with the flow.
They have secure luggage storage which was great and wifi in our room.
The hotel is in a very central location with lots of street food and restaurants right on its doorstep. A bonus is the swimming pool which i did make use of.

Room Tip: try and get a room facing the pool or high up if you dont like the street vibe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tembi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at Viengtai Hotel at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
We are look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a comfortable 5 night stay here, 3 of which we booked ahead on the noisy (street) side of the building and another 2 on the quieter (pool) side. Unfortunately when we decided to extend our stay in Bangkok we were told by reception that all rooms were booked out. We then checked on Agoda and found many rooms still available. So we rebooked on Agoda. On checking out and back in we had to pack up our gear then when we got to reception, another lady told us, no, you keep same room now. We then had to explain that we'd booked the pool side now and with some reluctance she agreed to let us into the other more expensive room. Other than this our stay was comfortable. There are ear plugs available in the bathroom if you stay on the street side but I recommend you spend the extra and stay pool side. Also, ignore the taxis and tuk tuks permanently stationed out the front of the hotel, they will charge 3 to 10x the price than if you walk out to the main street.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajseco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. Your comments are all important for us to consider.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience you experienced at our
reception. After investigating on the case, we found that our rooms were fully booked but our allotment to agent showed room availability. We will manage room allotment more efficiently in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Previous reviewers have pretty much said it all. The hotel has a great location and basic rooms that are clean. There is some street noise if you in a room on a lower floor facing the road. The other option is to request a room at the back of the hotel but then you are looking into a parkade. I preferred the street side and turned the air conditioning fan on to block out the street noise.

The location is excellent with numerous restaurants and bars. You can walk to all of the main tourist attractions (Grand Temple, Wats, etc) from the hotel. You can also easily catch the ferry on the river to the Sky Train station at Central Pier if you want to reach the Siam shopping area without taking a taxi. The ferry takes more time but you get a nice scenic ride down the river and you avoid any traffic gridlock.

One thing the hotel could improve on is adding staff to the front desk during the morning check-out rush and early afternoon for check-ins. We had to wait 20 minutes both times.

We would recommend this hotel to travelers wanting to be in the old city in the middle of all the night life without busting the budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InsightCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience while staying at Viengtai hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your constructive comments about how we can improve our time managed at the reception; we are training our staff accordingly.
We are look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Viengtai Hotel.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, the room was comfortable and clean, just a bit characterless; we could have been at any hotel anywhere in the world but it served it's purpose for our stay. However, what elevates this hotel from 'average' to 'very good' is the location. It was a great base for the Khao San Road, walking distance to main attractions such as the Grand Palace as well as having plenty of bars, restaurants and markets on the doorstep. The downside of that is that it could be noisy; we had requested a room at the back of the hotel (which we didn't get), however, our room was on the 6th floor and the street noise didn't bother us at all. Breakfast was good: a mixture of western and thai food, fresh fruit etc. For a city centre hotel there was also an outside swimming pool, which was a good amenity (although one we didn't use during our stay).

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel or on higher floors would be preferable if you don't want to be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nottingham_UKBeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback while staying at Viengtai hotel at Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you were pleased with our location and the overall services. We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great location, just around the corner from Koh San road so its easy walking distance and you can still get a good nights sleep - so a perfect mix. Friendly staff and nice spacious clean rooms with comfy beds and good amenities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Viengtai Hotel. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed our location and overall services.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 891 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#184 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#361 of 891 in Bangkok
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,656 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#42 of 891 in Bangkok
450 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $71 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing