We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #311 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Table View, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Recommended Hotel”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel was clean and well kept, the rooms were big enough and the on-suite bathroom were more than adequate. The staff were very friendly and spoke reasonable English. There is an on-site coffee shop that make excellent milkshakes. Breakfast is of the buffet type and were both varied and better than most other hotels I have been in. The hotel is also located in a side street and was surprisingly quite.

Just off the lobby there is and Intrepid Travel and 1 other travel agency (forgot the name) and so it is easy to book day trips. The markets are 1 block away, in the evening it simply becomes a night market. There are plenty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, turn right when exiting and walk 1 block to find them. Must warn you that this area is very touristy.

The river is a 5-10 minute walk if you want to take a boat ride. Taxi's do not pass the hotel and so you need to walk half a block to catch one, the doorman will accompany you and flag the taxi if you ask, recommended.

There is wireless available but only in the lobby area. There are very comfortable couches to sit on so it was not a hardship.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a side street and so all the rooms were quite, the one I was in actually faced the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    366
    243
    48
    28
See reviews for
102
245
101
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have been staying here for almost 10 years I guess. It is not the most wonderful hotel - it is comfortable and suits our needs and budget. It is a great place if you are looking to chill out on Khao San and do a bit of Euro-touro watching. My husband has a particular penchant for the red jelly offered at breakfast. Overall: safe, well located, clean, friendly & helpful staff. My one negative are the leechy taxi drivers at the front who will NOT take you on a metered fare. Take their details and report them - I do. Hopefully that will stop them.

Room Tip: We always choose a deluxe room which is a little more expensive but bigger. And, if you are a non-sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trafficislanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is like your grandparents who have a house in an amazing location that has always been there for you and it hasn't changed for as long as you can remember.

This hotel was probably the worst and most expensive in 3 months traveling in SE Asia BUT the location is hard to beat.

As a base in Bangkok, rambutti is the street to be on. Not as crazy as koh San rd it's still got a great atmosphere especially when you cross over the main road and head down the quietter alley way.

The tired rooms, lack of wifi and average breakfast can't for us detract from the cute restaurants, 20b pat Thai and walking distance to the palace.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving in Bangkok. It was an hour from the airport by taxi, which cost around 750 Baht. The lobby was spacious and well decorated. The room was dimly lit but a good size. The bathroom was clean and complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) were provided.

The hotel was located right near Khao San Road, which was full of stalls, restaurants and bars for backpackers. Breakfast could be purchased in the hotel restaurant on the ground floor for 150 Baht and consisted of a good buffet, although there were also plenty of options for food in nearby restaurants.

If you don’t like a touristy environment, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights duing mid May 2012.

The hotel is walking distance to the Royal Palace. We visited on a Saturday and according to the locals who accosted us in the street (to stop us wasting out time) is only open to Thai's in the morning - so we returned in the afternoon. To get to the palace you cross a park, which during the day was desserted, however, we returned in the evening to take more photos of the palace. In the evening the park was full of Thai families enjoying picnics and kite flying. It was very chilled out, so would recommend taking a couple of beers and join the locals, before returning for dinner to the chaotic Khao San Road.

I think the hotel is a business hotel and from the outside looks more upmarket than those in the surrounding backpackers area of the Khao San Road.
The hotel is in the road behind and running parallel to the Khao San Road, it is also opposite a bar, which plays music to 2am.
The hotel provides ear plugs and this set alarm bells ringing for me. Our strategy on the 1st night was to stay out as long as possible, so that we would be soooo tired that we could sleep through anything. However, on returning to our room the noise was not as bad as I had been expecting and using a combination of ear plugs, a/c and TV on low in the background, I did get an ok nights sleep.

The location is very convenient for the Khao San Road and all the restaurants and bars associated with this area. If, we were visiting Bangkok independently I would have choosen to stay further away from this area - somewhere a bit quieter.

Breakfast is not included, and from the menu it is expensive. Not a problem when there are probably 100's of eaterys nearby!!

The hotel has a pool on the 3rd floor - follow the signs! It is quite large and is very deep in places, so children would need to be supervised at all times - there is a small 'paddling' pool for younger children. Lots of sun cream is required as there is little / no shade from the sun.

Would I stay here again - the hotel itself is fine, but for me I didnt like the location (and from other reviews I suspect I am in the minority) - so NO!

Room Tip: I am guessing that rooms at the back of the hotel and higher up would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and good service. They all kind people who work here very friendly. Room is very clean. Think about when your already treval so tried then u have good room to rest and relax, swimming pool oh ! Best time for me now ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noinah1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We arrived at Viengtai at 5am. Knowing that check in isnt until about 2pm we were hoping to be able to store our bags and head out in the morning after a rest in the lobby. But after a half hour wait reception gave us a our room early which was very nice. Friendly reception. Cool pool. Basic room but just what you need. The hotel is one street back from Khao San Road which is an added convience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkabell44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#188 of 852 in Bangkok
1,230 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#352 of 852 in Bangkok
712 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#434 of 852 in Bangkok
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#357 of 852 in Bangkok
995 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#341 of 852 in Bangkok
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing