We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How did we get back here?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Pissouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How did we get back here?”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Really nice room, friendly and helpful staff which was backed up by a story from a couple we met in Koh Tao and situated in heart of the city of squalor (Alan from Hangover's words not mine).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    391
    248
    50
    29
See reviews for
128
267
112
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I chose the hotel at the last minute, because the two people I met at a bar were staying there.
It's a typical hotel, but in light of the surroundings that extrapolates to a palace of sorts. Khao San is a backpacker's paradise, and the poverty on the streets is rampant.
After a night of cheap booze and no food, it's a perfect hotel to crash in.
The lobby is well maintained, and the service was excellent. Checking out is a breeze, and if you need a ride to the airport, taxi's are lined up at the early morning hours waiting for you. Just ask the front desk what the typical fare is, and haggle with your driver.

Room Tip: If you are an early sleeper, the higher the floor, the better. Otherwise, all the rooms are satisfac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_mauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My partner and I started our holiday of a lifetime here and was very impressed with the service and amenities you get for the price. Breakfast was excellent, spicy noodles etc ... just up our street! We stayed here on the way back from our travells too - it is very central and not too far from the airport in a cab

Paula

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed two nights, was good for a short stay. Excellent place to base yourself while checking out Bangkok. Walking distance to Reclining Buddha and Grand Palace. Not too far from the river and ferry options down towards Chinatown region. A real plus is being one block from Khao San Rd, close to the action and a bit away from the madness. The road that the Viengtai Htl is on is a quieter version of Khao San Rd with heaps of options. Rooms tidy, bathroom nice, breakfast great but the place gets a lot of noise from the surrounding nightlife. Turn on the antiquated air con which roars like a jet and problem solved. Not for the light sleepers unless you can get a room on the non-road side. Nice pool too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APW_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Viengtai at the beginning and end of a tour that we completed through Northern Thailand. Just as a quick background we're 30 and 27 and travel a lot of pleasure and business. We felt that the rate was somewhere in the middle of places that we stayed.

Pros:
Nice private pool, well decorated hallways and lobby, huge breakfast buffet and helpful front desk with good English.

Take it or leave it:
Room furnishing (some nice features, but nothing to write home about).
Location (for some this may be a bonus if Khao San Road is your thing, but we thought it was difficult to get to. Taxi was really the best option. We wished public transportation would have been closer to get around the city).
Wi-fi (free in Lobby and in some rooms, but not as good as other places).

Cons:
Paying for the buffet (lots of cheap options around the hotel, so why eat at the buffet?)
Noise (some members of our group felt that it was very noisy outside they're window. You could try to drown the sound out with your air conditioning (which was pretty loud), but some people still had issues).

With so many places to stay in Bangkok I would think this place would just fall somewhere in the middle. Not a place I would usher people to, but I wouldn't shoo them away either.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better to keep away from the street/bar noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I love this hotel. stayed here for more than 5 times, new renovated rooms are brilliant. Try their buffet breakfast, selection of thai and european food... absolutely will be back again next winter...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anth0ny555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Good location, rooms were ok and there was a swimming pool. Sadly that smelled like drains sometimes but sometimes it was bearable. It cost a fortune compared to other places, we were not told breakfast was included for free, in fact it actually had a price written on it for us, and the wifi was expensive to use!

Go elsewhere, get twice as much for half as much money

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 867 in Bangkok
1,296 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 867 in Bangkok
1,041 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 867 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 867 in Bangkok
1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#363 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing