We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start and End to our Thailand Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #123 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Viengtai at the beginning and end of a tour that we completed through Northern Thailand. Just as a quick background we're 30 and 27 and travel a lot of pleasure and business. We felt that the rate was somewhere in the middle of places that we stayed.

Pros:
Nice private pool, well decorated hallways and lobby, huge breakfast buffet and helpful front desk with good English.

Take it or leave it:
Room furnishing (some nice features, but nothing to write home about).
Location (for some this may be a bonus if Khao San Road is your thing, but we thought it was difficult to get to. Taxi was really the best option. We wished public transportation would have been closer to get around the city).
Wi-fi (free in Lobby and in some rooms, but not as good as other places).

Cons:
Paying for the buffet (lots of cheap options around the hotel, so why eat at the buffet?)
Noise (some members of our group felt that it was very noisy outside they're window. You could try to drown the sound out with your air conditioning (which was pretty loud), but some people still had issues).

With so many places to stay in Bangkok I would think this place would just fall somewhere in the middle. Not a place I would usher people to, but I wouldn't shoo them away either.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better to keep away from the street/bar noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 975 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

I love this hotel. stayed here for more than 5 times, new renovated rooms are brilliant. Try their buffet breakfast, selection of thai and european food... absolutely will be back again next winter...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth0ny555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Good location, rooms were ok and there was a swimming pool. Sadly that smelled like drains sometimes but sometimes it was bearable. It cost a fortune compared to other places, we were not told breakfast was included for free, in fact it actually had a price written on it for us, and the wifi was expensive to use!

Go elsewhere, get twice as much for half as much money

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnoMckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012. The hotel has a great location a block from the Khao San Road with tons of restaurants and lively nightlife nearby. It's also a great base for sightseeing during the day, near the river for boat tours, a short tuk tuk ride to the Grand Palace and major temples.
The front lobby and pool areas are very nice. I found the standard room to be tiny, dark and somewhat unappealing. I expected more for the $80 per night that we paid, especially in Thailand, but prices are definitely not cheap here, contrary to popular opinion.
The restaurant had an excellent breakfast buffet with both Western and Thai food, no complaints there.
If you need a safe, Western-style hotel for your first night or 2 in Thailand this is a great place to stay.
Just a word of caution, beware of the tuk tuk drivers taking you to places you don't want to go, such as travel agencies and tailors where they receive a commission. We loved using them because they can weave their way thru heavy traffic and it's all part of the Thai experience. Just negotiate a price before you get in and make it very clear to them that you don't want any unexpected detours on the way!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

although in a good area for tourism, bars and restaurants this hotel is on a very busy thoroughfare; music and din from the bars continued to 3.30am and started again with traffic at 5.30am; the rooms and bathrooms are very basic but comfortable enough

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlgarveSunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed here with my family, i loved the location of the hotel, there is always something exciting going on down in the street. The hotel staff are really nice, and the hotel rooms are clean and nice for mid range. there is a pool, and it is close to Ko San Road which is alot of fun. i would definatly stay here again! =)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erajasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 8 days and I must say that it was a memorable experience. Beautiful, comfortable and spotless room, with a clean bathroom and great service. The hotel staff were very helpful.

The hotel is in a great location- near Khao Sarn Road, and there are so many lovely restaurants around this area! For Thai food lovers there are numerous sumptuous options. I thoroughly enjoyed every single meal I had at various restaurants around the hotel. The hotel's restaurant itself was really good at reasonable prices and I had many meals here (all delicious Thai dishes). The breakfast buffet was delicious, with continental and Thai options.

There are many shops around this area where you could buy things for good prices. You can visit any of the several travel agencies around the hotel- they provide trips to places around/outside Bangkok for decent prices. Do look around a bit before deciding on which agency, though. I even managed to get a shared vehicle to the airport- though you might want to be a bit careful of these as they can run late sometimes (even though I started more than 4 hours ahead of departing time, I was slightly delayed thanks to the van waiting for other passengers).

The only drawback I experienced (though not an expensive one) was that I had to buy a card to get wifi internet (the hotel could do with free wifi for its guests). Nevertheless, I must say that this is a great place to stay and I would definitely return to Viengtai, for its great rooms and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#172 of 891 in Bangkok
1,344 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#181 of 891 in Bangkok
1,357 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#366 of 891 in Bangkok
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 891 in Bangkok
1,682 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#48 of 891 in Bangkok
460 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#359 of 891 in Bangkok
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $71 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing