We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good service, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clean, good service, location.”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here while on a Contiki Tour. Hotel was clean, breakfast Buffet was average but had good selection. Pool was really nice and clean. Hotel does not have free wifi but you can buy pre-paid wifi access for 100 baht for 24HRS. I would stay here again if I visit Bangkok again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel and thanks also for your feedback. We are happy to learn that your staying experience with us has been pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    391
    248
    50
    29
See reviews for
128
267
112
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We already stayed here 4 times - took taxi in Suvarnapum airport and went to Rambutri? near Kaosan road. We had prefer such hotel on many reason:
1. very quite place near the Kaosan, Royal Palace, Wat Pho, pier, tourist centers, ticket offices and so on (in walking distance).
2. very cleanely in old and new rooms (enough for 3-4 persons)
3. deep and comfortable pool, good fitness center.
4. rich breakfast
5. everything you want in bathroom: lotion, tooth paste and brush,sleepers etc.
6. very polite and friendly staff
one price all the year - 2100 bt for Triple Deluxe

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Kotman,

Thank you for taking time to write the review of our hotel.

We are happy to learn that our services and facilities did match your expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I found this hotel to be not too bad in a area where small hotels and cheap backpacker hotels are at the most. Rooms are a little dated and air con is not th best, However the rooms did seem clean enough and i found our room to be very quite for a decent nights sleep.swimming pool was off a decent size and very deep so good for diving.didnt eat in the hotel so cant comment on food tho the eating are did look very nice. The gym was a little pony not much equipment at all.location of hotel is great.all in all id say it was nothing special but defiantly wouldnt dissapoint. Dont let the bag man at reception book you a taxi!you will pay double as he will get a commision!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated & taken to consideration to improve our overall services and facilities.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

A group of five of us stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of September and were delighted with the location of the hotel - right next to Khao San Road and the central backpacking area as well as easy access to the temples/palace of downtown Bangkok. The hotel looks 4 star, the lobby and restaurant areas are extremely clean and the rooms are very spacious. Staff are constantly smiling and helpful and there is a tour operator in the lobby called Jimmy who made our trip fantastic by arranging trekking in Chiang Mai for us at an amazing price. The bars across the road have live music and great atmospheres. Highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast also very tasty and varied.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaimi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our location and services.

We look forward to welcoming you once more in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My organisation has been returning to Viengtai for the past twenty years or so. I love Viengtai :) It's arguably the hotel that offers the best value in the Banglamphu area, given its amenities. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms have bathtubs, the quality of the beds is high, strong aircon. If you spend a lot of time in Thailand - you'll learn to appreciate a few extra square metres in the bathroom! The buffet breakfast is quite decent - with a modestly sufficient spread.

The Viengtai is a fairly simple hotel - nothing fancy, but it has pretty much everything that you need. For backpackers especially, after time on the road, it feels almost equivalent to pampering to stay at the Viengtai, for a reasonable price! I would personally pay the small extra to get the deluxe rooms, since I don't like carpets generally.

The best things about the Viengtai are the staff and its central location. I find all the staff sincerely kind, warm and accommodating. Especially Ms. Bent and Mr. Kongpang (from reservations). Really, as cliche as it sounds, Viengtai feels like my home in Bangkok!

In terms of location, the Viengtai stands proudly right smack in the middle of Rambuttri Road, and you'll never lack anything. There are many excellent (and cheap!) restaurants, massage places, bars, and shopping, all a stone's throw away. Khao San is a three-minute walk away. Sometimes the music drifts into your room until past midnight, but this shouldn't be a problem if you request a room not facing Rambuttri. I actually enjoy the free live music!

The Banglamphu area is not near the sky train, but it's a short walk to the Phra Athit station, where you catch the river boat that will connect you to the SkyTrain. It's also near the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew. I enjoy staying in this older part of town.

Though there is wifi, you have to pay for it. One thing the hotel could add that would offer even better value is free wifi. I've already suggested this to the management, and they said they are working on it. So next time, I hope this will be a reality!

Room Tip: Try the hotel's website, as I think they offer really good deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyL1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Cathy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a thorough review of our hotel and for choosing Viengtai while you visited Bangkok. We are honored by your compliments and glad that you are mostly happy with our facilities and services.

Your comments are important to us. For your information, we are upgrading and improving our standard rooms which will be operational in 2 months. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Thanks again.
Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablethorpe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

stayed here for twice for 1 night
didnt book this hotel myself was with a charity trekking group so didnt know wot to expect of this hotel its standard ect prior to arrival however it was great
the rooms were very clean staff were friendly and felt perfectly safe
its right at the heart of the tourist section of bangkok ie kaohsan rd and loved the attmosphere around this hotel, from the dirty crowded streets it really was a nice retreat, some noise from the busy street below could be heard but hey its wot most people in that area of town are there for.
next time i go back to thailand i will be going back to this hotel
and to any one off to thailand have a fantastic time i loved it best place ive ever been to cant stop raving about it its such a shocking and awsome place

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear ANT20,

Thank you for choosing Viengtai Hotel as your hotel during your visit to Thailand. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our room cleanliness and our overall service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon. With thanks.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Excellent hotel! We stayed for 5 nights and the service by all hotel employees was fantastic! Price for the room was good complete with king size bed. Pool and fitness centre were available.

Located near the Grand Palace and Khao San Road! Very Clean!

Great Value for Money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanB695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viengtai, General Manager at ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear Jonathan B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Viengtai Hotel and taking the time to write your review. We are happy to learn that you are satisfied with our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#172 of 867 in Bangkok
1,296 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#380 of 867 in Bangkok
1,041 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 867 in Bangkok
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 867 in Bangkok
1,216 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#363 of 867 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai

Property: ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Address: 42 Rambuttri Road | Banglampu, Bangkok 10200, Thailand (Formerly Viengtai Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai offer a place of comfort with its rooms that boast inspiring and upbeat designs on every floor plus all the modern facilities including powerful WIFI to every visitor. A unique way to experience Khaosan and Bangkok right at its heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viengtai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing