We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from where you shop till you drop”
Review of Indra Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Indra Regent Hotel
Ranked #303 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Varanasi, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hotel from where you shop till you drop”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was my 6th visit to Thailand and second stay at Hotel Indra. A slightly above average hotel in Bangkok. Choose this hotel if shopping is your prime interest, with famous Indra Market in hotels ground floor and two basements, Platinum Fashion Mall, Diamond Mall & Pantrip Plaza being walking distance, MBK Mall & Paragon Mall being very near by. Rooms are reasonably alright, maybe slightly overpriced considering Bangkok's Hotel Tariff. Roadside Thai market all around the place.

Was upset as the Hotel's website talked about complimentary broadband connectivity, but on check-in, I was told the facility is at cost of 600 Bhatt/day for unlimited usage and that too only through cable. Inclusive breakfast is a letdown. Check-in is not very pleasant, language being a problem. Surprisingly, Thailand being such a huge tourist place have staff not speaking and/or understanding English. Place is always overcrowded and hospitality seems a little indifferent.

So, if shopping is not primary, you can get much better property at the same tariff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshVNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    540
    395
    160
    90
See reviews for
389
388
103
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I would like to share my recent experience with you. I took my wife and two adult daughters on our fifth trip to the Indra Regent Hotel for a weeks holiday. In 2011, when the four of us arrived at the hotel at 7.30pm local time, we had to wait until they found/made up our rooms and wanted to charge again for the Breakfasts we had already paid for at the travel agent before we left - this got sorted by our travel agent on the last day of the holiday. This last holiday July 2012 on our last day in the Indra, we were being picked up for transport to the airport at 5.00am. I spoke to the people in charge of the restaurant and they postulated, Mr Talffgak Trivivit (Hotel Manager) was the only person that could arrange breakfast for us so, I spoke to this uncooperative man and no, you can not have breakfast today even though you have paid for it and no there it no refund. I did get the Laundry bill however, a 405Baht turned into 477Baht with all their charges added and NO there was no swopping the laundry bill for the money we had paid for breakfast. YES RIPPED OFF. In the past five years at the Indra Regent Hotel there has always been a few hic-ups we could overlook however, from now on, there will not be a repeat performance over the next five years, we will vote with our feet next year and take our holiday down the road to the Watergate Hotel. Oh, and Indra Regent Hotel, you still owe me and the family a refund for a full breakfast on the last day which I will take up with my travel agent.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 13th floor and still could hear the traffic all night plus the flushing of the toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MIchael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdomIRH, General Manager at Indra Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Michael,

Kindly accept our apologies for your disappointment with our policy regarding breakfasts during your stay at the Indra Regent. Prepaid breakfasts are nonrefundable and nonexchangeable with other charges such as laundry as requested in this case.
Regarding laundry bill, like all other hotel charges, this is subject to tax and service charge.
We appreciate it that you are sharing your experience, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely Yours,
Udom Vanichkajorn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very rude staff, not very helpful at all. Rooms ok and comfy beds. Breakfast buffet good. Good location close to markets, shopping malls. The staff are sharks, just want your money...just no customer service skills with any of them on the front desk. Did not make me warm and fuzzy at all on checkin. Even charged me $5 for a bucket of ice! Hotel was cheap, in good location so stay there for that, but dont expect any customer service while staying there. I wouldnt go back to Bangkok ever as all the people were rude and out to rip you off. Not all of them, but alot of them. If you take a taxi make sure they put the meter on, amazing how many meters were broken but persist and you will find one. The tuk tuks can be rogues too, just make sure you settle on a price before you ride and tell them they must not stop at any shops on the way, you want to go direct.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliotts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights I was a bit worried after reading some negative reviews of this hotel but found it to be comfortable and the location was great, we had 2 x superior rooms on the 16th floor found the rooms to be very clean, and comfortable, yes the rooms are a bit dated and could do with a make over, but this place is not 5 star. Platinum mall and Pantip plaza are a 10 minute walk as is the Siam center. short tuk tuk ride to mbk . there is a market right outside the hotel. Breakfast was typical and plenty. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family have been visiting Bangkok for more than 20 years & almost always stay at Indra. The only time we went elsewhere was once when they were refurbishing the pool but we had no hesitation to return after that. Reasonably priced hotel with lots of facilities. The Indra is built within the Indra Shopping Arcade & Food hall....... you really do have everything you need on tap. The Pratunam Clothing Market is right outside the door & offers the cheapest priced items in Bangkok. The Junior Suite rooms are a little more costly but worth it for longer stays as the rooms are a lot bigger & are on the higher floors away from hotel & street noise. Internet access is free (in the business centre) to all facebook friends of Indra Regent Hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter & the higher the better. Money saving tip....... book your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiamSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Staying for a night only before off to Saraburi and was fantastic hotel. Room was cosy and nice, food at the restaurant was not that bad and the service was tip top. I will come again soon.

Room Tip: room located at upper floor will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed on a 13th floor non smoking room. Ample room for 2 and good value. We were on a shopping trip and after a good look around found the best shopping on our doorstep. Exit thru coffee lounge and you are there. Pantip Plaza and Platinum Plaza within 15 minutes walk. We didn't have breakfast and used the street stalls. Tuk tuk drivers wasted a lot of our time taking us to places we did not want to visit, they get paid by the shops to take you there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#343 of 862 in Bangkok
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centara Watergate Pavillion Hotel Bangkok
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista Express
Hotel Vista Express
#336 of 862 in Bangkok
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centre Point Pratunam Hotel
0.1 mi away
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#707 of 862 in Bangkok
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
First House Bangkok
First House Bangkok
#354 of 862 in Bangkok
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Regent Hotel

Property: Indra Regent Hotel
Address: 120/126 Rajaprarop Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#200 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Indra Regent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Rajaprarop Road in the heart of Pratunam one of Bangkok's most popular shopping districts, Indra Regent Hotel is only a short distance to Central World, Platinum, Siam Paragon, and also tourist attractions. At your doorstep is Indra Square and Pratunam market with local delights at great bargains. 455 rooms include Superior Room, Deluxe Room, Triple Room, Junior Suite, Family Suite, and Residential Suite. Facilities include Botanica cafe, Ming Court Chinese restaurant, and Poolside Bar/Cafe, and Sala Thai restaurant featuring Thai dinner and traditional dance show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indra Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Bangkok
Regent Hotel Indra
Indra Regent Hotel Bangkok
Indra Hotel Bangkok
Regent Bangkok
Indra Regent Bangkok
Bangkok Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing