We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal City Hotel
Ranked #651 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Roma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, old style hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

A bit old, but still in a good shape, this hotel is clean and comfortable. The position is not really central, but close to the bus station with van going north of Bangkok. Air conditioning was working properly. Breakfast was good and with a selection of oriental and intercontinental food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tink1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    50
    57
    12
    9
See reviews for
12
37
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Close to shopping and across road from convention centre. A short taxi ride to the river and city attractions. Quiet location with great rooms. Beds superb.Pools delightful. Some of the facitilties not quite as advertised e.g. pool bar yes but you need to phone for drinks.Had a problem opening elctronic safe but management were quick to respond and very obliging. Room maid stationed on floor and service excellent, nothing is too miuch trouble. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Request non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay. India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I recently stayed in a suite in this hotel.
I had booked for 2 nights but checked out after one night and even though I had to pay for half charges for 2nd day because I checked out at 5pm.
Hotel is very old, ill designed rooms, old furniture, very ordinary bathrooms and located at location that has virtually nothing around for food or moving around.
Restaurant is in shabby condition and quality of food and service is bad.

I had bought wifi internet from hotel and house keeping staff took away password coupen while cleaning the room. I informed the reception but hotel did not have courtsey to offer another password.
BKK has such lovely hotels within same cost range and this hotel is absolutely avoidable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surender-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Stayed here in a standard room for a week. Conditions and the way the rooms were decorated clearly reflect their age - outdated. This hotel would be considered luxurious back in the last 15 years. Several significant wear and tear items found throughout the room. Beds were uncomfortably firm. Neither coffee/tea or electric kettle was provided. Limited choices of TV channels and on top of that most of the TV signals were bad. Cleanliness was just okay. We found some stains on bed linens though.

Service was disappointing. Don't know how they normally serve foreign guests but for us we were treated unimpressively especially staff at the reception - they never smile; their acts and sayings obviously indicate a lack of service training. However most of the housekeepers were exceptions - they were quite friendly and always smiled.

Location of the hotel is considered a bit out of the city. No skytrain or MRT around so unless you are adventurous enough to take one of the crazily driven buses the only way to get into the city is by cabs. Nearest attractions are the grand palace and a famous Khaosan Rd. which are around 10-15 mins away by taxi; 10 mins to the southern bus terminal where you can catch southbound coaches; 30-45 mins to inner shopping areas such as Siam Square and Pratunam. We didn't try their restaurants so cannot comment. A hugh shopping mall with heaps of choices for dining is just 2 bus stops away (Central Plaza Pinklao) - about 10-15 mins walk. You can perhaps do some serious shoppings there without a need to get through a traffic into the city centre.

All in all, if you are doing your first visit to Bangkok or you are going to travel by your own without provided hotel transfers I would recommend to stay in other areas that are more central and more convenient to explore the city. Only if you really have to stay in this area or you are somewhat a frequent visitor to Bangkok wanting to try something new, this hotel would be your best bet as I have heard that the other hotel nearby (SD Avenue Hotel) is even worse.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor rooms with odd numbers so you can have a good view of the bangkok skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sprarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
609 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Nice hotel to stay but bit far from the center, 10 minute by tuk tuk to Khaosan road should only cost 100 baht .the wifi is not free, we have to buy card that vary from 1 ,5 and 24 hour.the pool is fine and quiet the fitness center is poor with only 5 item inside. The massage is ok for 350 baht per hour for body massage and in the room massage for 450 baht.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank faozanrizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was skeptic about staying in this hotel and when I got there I saw that I was right. The hotel is not in a very good situation, seems like a old and not very well maintained hotel. The first room that they gave us was in a very poor situation. It was very dirty, the bed linens had dirt on them, the sofa was dirty, there were hairs in the bathroom and the water was accumulating in the sink. Also the furniture was quite old, not mentioning the uncomfortable beds. However they were friendly enough to move us to a cleaner room, but I'd already had a bad impression of the hotel. If cheapness is your way to go, this is an ok hotel but I'd suggest avoiding this hotel. Also avoid the restaurant which is under-satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cagribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Because I have business in the area I have stayed at this hotel several times, but unless you have to be in the Pinklao area I would definitely give this place a miss. Service is patchy (waiter with earphones in whilst on duty), the breakfast buffet is third rate, and the hotel generally is in need of refurbishment. The SD Hotel just down the road (nearer to the Central shopping centre) is much better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnglishmanAbroad63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Charlie House Pinklao
#209 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
The Royal River Hotel
#534 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Maleewana Hotel & Resort
#3 of 18 in Nonthaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#319 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#404 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#183 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal City Hotel

Property: The Royal City Hotel
Address: 800 Boromratchonni Road | Bangkok Noi, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #651 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 401
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing