We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Park Suanplu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset Park Suanplu
Ranked #147 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Patong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

great valued 1 bedroom apartment in the heart of the Embassy District of South Sathorn. 5 minute taxi to Silom and all the nightlife area. Rooms very large and service not too bad . Buffet breakfast was good .wifi in the room not too bad but it is thailand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobR0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I am pleased you found 'great value' for money and my Team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    318
    59
    15
    10
See reviews for
158
108
95
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The good:

1. The apartments are huge, with a balcony which is great for smokers.
2. Breakfast was of a decent quality and spread
3. Wifi was free and contrary to other reviews, of decent speed
4. Pool was sheltered while guests had the option of either lying on the lounge chairs in the sun or under shelter
5. The minimart within the apartment was very convenient and stocked basic necessities (great for rainy days)
6. Very affordable accommodation given the size of the apartments, facilities (pool, gym, tennis court), amenities (In house spa and minimart), complimentary wifi and breakfast
7. Jit the bellman was very friendly, cheery and helpful and was a real pleasure to have around.

The bad:

1. The lift lobbies, corridors and lifts are extremely dark (along with the dated fittings, the overlook image presented was not a flattering one)
2. The furniture in the apartment looked dated. We even had a CRT TV in our living room (no remote was in sight too, we had to manually turn on the TV and manually switch between channels throughout our stay)
3. The breakfast spread remained the same throughout our stay except for a few breakfast items (bread and pastry spread remained exactly the same throughout our 3 day stay)
4. There were a few reception ladies with exceptionally black unpleasant faces and a really unfriendly, stuck up air about them (maybe because we aren't white males?)
5. The aircon in our rooms was extremely cold and noisy (even at the lowest speed and at 26 degrees)
6. The shampoo provided doubled up as an all in one body wash. It had a great smell and was awesome as a body wash but I wouldn't have chosen to use it as a shampoo if I had a choice. The hotel should look at providing separate shampoos from their body wash.
7. We had to call for housekeeping to clean the apartment as they had forgotten to clean our room.
8. The location is not ideal for a shopping trip. It's not within walking distance to any shopping centre. Who really wants to wait 30mins for the hotel's complimentary tuk tuk just to get to the nearest train station?
9. The in house spa had ridiculous rates around 4 times that of the spas within a few steps away from the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your descriptive 'good and bad' comments about your recent stay at Somerset. I am pleased to receive your review.
1. The lift lobby and corridors - we will see if we can increase the lux lighting level in this areas during our renovations.
2. The apartment furniture is not ultra-modern and in line with the photos on our website.
3. Whilst we try to cater to many nationalities for breakfast, certain breakfast dishes/items are changed daily. Whole meal and white bread together with danishes and cake slices are a standard at most hotels for breakfast. I will discuss with the restaurant operator if they can change the pastry variety more frequently.
4. I am disappointed to read that some of our female staff at Guest service did not deliver the usual high standard of Thai greetings that Thailand is famous for. For this I apologise and will speak with them on your comments.
5. Yes our air conditioners are aging and are serviced regularly. We will investigate this room to alter or change the thermostat and air flow.
6. The 2 in 1 shampoo and body product has been specifically designed for our entire chain as a new, eco-friendly product. More information on our company eco-friendly Green strategy can be found on our website.
7. Please accept my apology that for some reason our Housekeeping staff did not attend to your room by the time of your arrival back to the property.
8. Our location is definitely not in the middle of a shopping area as stated on all our advertising. Our regular tuk tuk complimentary transfer to Silom shopping area is every 30 minutes from 830am to 6pm and connects with either the BTS sky train or MRT underground train system. Taxis are readily available if the free transfer time does not suit.
9. The outsourced in house day spa offers quality spa treatments using high quality spa products and prices are in line with any hotel in Bangkok. As you point out, there are many choices to meet many budgets nearby.
Whilst some of these review items can be fixed, again, thanks for your review and I hope that you may consider to stay with us again when you next travel to Bangkok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed in hotel in July2012, in two room apartment. Rooms are very spacious, but I think they need to refurnish and clean some more ... the rooms get in age a bit.
Stuff very friendly, very helpful.
Hotel have perfect location, few minutes away from the main South Sathorn road.
Wonderful city view from apartment terrace
Only one thing I disliked- AC is very noisy
Everything else is very, very good… Feel pleasant in hotel. Perfect for long stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoran v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thanks for your review of you stay with us in July this year.
As we offer apartment style accommodation, every room is equipped to suit either a long or short stay guest. The flexibility of being able to cook in your room and have a separate bedroom (s) / bathroom (s) is certainly one of the best features when compared to hotel style accommodation.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

rooms in this hotel are immense. we had 1-bedroom apartment, which actually meant a huge sitting room, comfortable bedroom, fully equipped kitchen, walk- in closet, wc and bathrom, and balcony.
rooms are very well equiped although it is apparent that they would deserve refurbishment like new furniture, flat-screen TV's, etc.
fitness room is incredible for a hotel- spacious, several cardio machines, enough weights, perfect view trough panoramic windows. size of the pool is very OK, water too cold for me.
location of the hotel is ok, close to great lumpini park,but you have to walk to metro ca.15 min. no problem for us but some might mind. breakfest is fair enough.

Room Tip: the higher you are the better view you have and further from the street noise you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kuchtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Traveller,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your comments about the apartment stylke accommodation that allows guests the flexibility of being in a self contained apratment.
The residence will commence some renovations in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hi,

I stayed here from the 8-10 January 2012. I did stay here also for six months in the late nineties when I first moved to Thailand.

The place has changed names several times during this period. I always loved the location and the magnificent garden setting. It has a free tuk tuk service to various downtown destinations.

I stayed in January in a one bedroomed spacious self contained apartment. It had plenty of space with a living room and kitchenette and separate bedroom. It has a swimming pool on I believe the second floor although on this occasion I did not make use of it.

The premises have indoor parking and Somerset is quite a favourite of long term business people and a good clientele. There is a ground floor restaurant and coffee shop serving decent food at reasonable prices that is located to the left on entrance opposite reception. They do have business facilities at reception.

We were taken care of promptly and efficiently. I would recommend these serviced apartments for business travellers or for those wishing to have the freedom to take care of themselves. There were slight signs of some areas ageing that will need upgrading shortly.

Room Tip: The rooms vary as they have one and two bedroomed apartments. Ask to view is the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Many thanks for your informative review of your stay last Januray. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my first time stay with my friends in such apartment hotel.Bellman Jit is super kind and helpful.He always gave us much useful information and smile.One disadvantage is the location.But anyway,our staying is comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marin_0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Marin_0709,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
I am pleased to read my staff were able to provide great service during your stay.
Whilst we are not located in the middle of a busy shopping area, it is very easy and convenient to get to the Skytrain by our free scheduled tuk tuk service or by taxis. Bangkok city is relatively easy to get around in and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent 7 nights here recently in a single bedroom apartment. Overall the experience was good.

Positives 1. Room was large with a living area, kitchen (fridge and microwave were most welcome) and a closet. King sized bed was nice. Lots of natural light from balcony into bedroom. 2. Cleaning service was prompt and efficient. 3. Buffet breakfast selection was above average. 4. Location is good for business travellers heading into Silom and Sathorn. Hotel tower is away from road separated by a large garden. There is a local market nearby and several roadside and family restaurants nearby. Sarahn Relax is a spa next door and rates are reasonable, 450 baht for 2 hr Thai massage. I went 3 times. Hotel provides a half hourly tuktuk to Sala Daeng train station. Lots to see, buy and eat at Sala Daeng area. 5. Price was value for money, abt US$50/night. Would recommend the larger apartments for families.

Negatives - 1. Pillows were a little too soft for my liking. 2. Airconditioning system was loud even at lowest fan speed setting. 3. TV in the living room is a flat screen but the one in the bedroom is a CRT. Sort of odd. 4. Bathroom is not connected to bedroom. That's sort of unexpected but not too weird for one bedroom apartment. 5. Room colour scheme was somewhat dull, lots of beige. Some contrasting colour would have made room more stylish. 6. A larger pool and sun deck area would have been nicer. 7. Hotel spa rates are pricey for Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polevalter, General Manager at Somerset Park Suanplu, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that overall you did enjoy the stay experience. I have noted all your comments and will try to incorporate changes where possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
#134 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Sathorn
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
Ascott Sathorn Bangkok
#97 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Sathorn
Urbana Sathorn
Urbana Sathorn
#323 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Siri Sathorn Executive Serviced Residence
Sathorn
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Park Suanplu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Park Suanplu

Property: Somerset Park Suanplu
Address: 39 Soi Suanplu, South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#122 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#166 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somerset Park Suanplu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These modern and superbly appointed serviced residences are nestled in a private garden, just minutes from the business district of Silom and Sathorn Road. Ideal for corporate housing and interim accommodation, each residence is designed for the discerning individual with contemporary designs and modern technological conveniences. Within walking distance to many business, cultural and tourist destinations, there is also convenient access or easy walk to Lumpini subway station will get you around Bangkok efficiently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Somerset Park Suanplu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Park Suanplu Bangkok
Somerset Park Suanplu Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing