We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, around wholesale market”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Palace Hotel
Ranked #381 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arrived at 9 p.m in Don Mueang Airport and took about 20 Minutes, cost 345 Baht ( including toll fee 105 B). Clean & Comfy rooms . Main bedroom has 1 double bed and 1 single bed. Bedroom 2 has 1 double bed and Bedroom 3 has twin bed. Enough for 6 adults and 3-4 kids.
Cost 50-60B to khaosan road by taxi. Location in Bobae tower start On 11 fIoor ( lobby). So many food stall and traditional fruit market which sell in cheap price, for example coconut start from 5B, rambutan 35B / kg and many more. Easy to go to Siam or Pratunam area by khlong boat ( cost 10 B to Siam via hua Chang pier). With its price 3359 Baht / night for 3 bedrooms, my whole family satisfied and I definitely recommend this hotel especially for shopper. Will be back again when in Bangkok

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dewikartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Prince Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is located at the central city, and can be accessed by boat of Saen Saep. This was the first stop of our sixteen-day-trip in Thailand. We took the cityline from Airport and stop at Makkasan station, The Pier of Saphan Asok is just 100 meters south away from cityline station. Take the boat to the direction of west and get off at Hua Chang Pier, and the hotel is just 5 min walk. Taking the boat is the best way to experience the life of local people. The hotel is aged but comfortable to stay. The two swimming pools are really cool and breakfast range is satisfactory.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is around 30 minutes from BKK airport, we paid 1200 baht for a transfer from one of the taxi desks in the terminal building. Situated a ten minute tuktuk ride (which costs around 100 baht) away from the Koh San road it is an ideal base for exploring Bangkok whilst avoiding the hustle and bustle of this ever evolving city.

Upon arrival you take an elevator to the 11th floor where the reception staff are mostly helpful, although at times their English skills are a tad patch, this wasn't really an issue though, there were always enough staff around to translate. Try and avoid calling reception from the room as there is no guarantee that a fluent English speaker will be on the other end. Obviously you can't expect this in a Thai hotel, but it is always useful.

The hotels decor is one of faded grandeur, the marble floors and chandeliers take ones breath away but looking deeper than the facade there are obvious signs of wear and tear that come with an older building.

Our room was spacious, clean and well presented. The wallpaper was missing a few strips here and there but nothing that impeded the enjoyment of the stay. The kitchen area served very little purpose however, there were no cooking facilities and not even a bottle opener. It seemed to be a space filler more than anything else. The large fridge was good for chilling water and a few beers though.

Beds were comfortable and the room was serviced every day, taking room service away takes a bit of time but in a building if this size it is understandable. The room service food was good and very reasonable.

The staff were welcoming and friendly on the whole. The tour guide in reception is very little use, he seems to want to sell a pong pong show more than actually give some useful advice and help.

We originally booked for 2 nights but decided to extend for a third before we headed to Ka Toah. We spoke to a gent on reception at about 10:30 in the evening of our second night and he said that it wasn't a problem and we should come down in the morning to check out and check back in to allow a clear transaction path. He clearly stated to us that we could have the same room at the same rate.

When trying to conduct the above transactions the following morning it was not so clear cut. We were told that the hotel was fully booked and that they could find us a room if we paid 5000 baht for the night opposed to our original rate of 4000 baht. Admittedly it is a relatively low amount of money in sterling at around £20 but it was more the principle that they could find us a room in a full hotel if we paid 25% more than before. I took great exception to this and threatened a poor review and also suggested they checked the CCTV footage of the previous night to prove we had a discussion. The receptionist was rude at best and at worst insulting by suggesting we were fabricating the story. It felt as though we were being targeted because we were a group of young guys who they probably thought had no experience of how to deal with such issues.in the end we did only pay 4000 baht, but on holiday one should not be expected to haggle with a reasonably good hotel staff. That behaviour should be reserved solely for the tuktuk drivers and market traders outside the serenity of the hotel.

Drinks at the pool bar are basically charged at western prices which is fair enough in a western targeted hotel, bars and restaurants outside are cheaper but that's no different to any large hotel

The breakfast is good, if it isn't included in your booking the cost is 300 baht per person, which it doesn't really warrant. Eating in restaurants outside the complex is cheaper and the food is in all honesty better.

Th sky bar is very quiet, we had it to ourselves one night, the staff are great and join in with the karaoke, and manage to tolerate horrendous attempts at singing being made by guests.

Overall, a reasonable stay, made better by good company. The incident regarding over charging did mar the stay slightly, it made me question the ethics of their model, and if you could actually trust the staff of the hotel in an emergency. Probably not in my opinion.

We are due back in Bangkok shortly and are in two minds as to whether or not to stay here. That probably sums up the place.

Room Tip: 3 Bed Suite really worthwhile, good views and enough space to breathe.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanfordmark1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Reception is on level 11, and if you need a map they send you to the ground floor. The reception staff are mainly rude (especially the guy in tge rumpled black suit...what a great example of the hospitality you're providing) with only one or two genuine staff.
The waitstaff are generally uninterestead, again a couple of great ones...sadly let down by everyone else! The breakfast buffet has many options to select, sadly they're all generally cold once you've take 3 steps. Though a la carte and room service menu's are very tasty.
House keeping were lovely, but clearly over worked. The rooms were fairly clean, but not to the standard you would expect - there was hair in the plug hole of the cracked bath tub and the rooms where generally just a bit worn. The bed was comfortable though.
Another hassel was buying the wifi. At US $10 for an hour or $20 for a 24 hour period it is not cheap! It just seems miserly that a hotel this size and of this supposed calibre cant provide Internet complimentary. But why give something away when you can bleed your guests for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for three night since i extended my trip and my previous hotel was overbooked to give us extension. so we decided to stay in a 3-4 star category near some shopping area like bobae market and we chose prince palace. we stead in 3 bedroom prince suite. upon our check in we waited for 30 mins because our room was being made up. after 45 minutes when we asked the reception that can we go to our room he said that yes the room is done. when we reached the room we were shocked to see the condition it was not cleaned and it was as dirty as on could hardly imagine. it smelled a lot. everything was in a mess. we called reception and then again after 30 mins they sent a cleaner.after an hour when we got a clean room it was still pathetic to stay in. broken furniture. stained wall papers and washrooms. no toiletries no tissues. broken smoke alarms. the air conditioners were leaking. uncomfortable beds.it was just like a one or two star hotel. the staff was very rude. on our breakfast we requested him to join the tables for the family , he made a terrible face and went away. the breakfast was as poor as it could be. no dinning options near except thai food.the location down the hotel is all very dirty except a bob a tower there is no option to pass time. it happened all the three nights that their AC stopped working at 3 or 4 am in morning. and thats not all on our checkout when the house keeping surveyed the room she found a broken tea cup , the hotel blocked our security deposit and charged us 100 THB for the cup. this hotel does not know how to treat their customers.

Room Tip: i don't recommend any room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Umair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am a season traveller. I was there with my family during the holidays . Hotel stay is fine. Service is acceptable. Staff helpful ... food is great.. hotel may look old... but comfy and large room .However avoid touts and tour drivers whom pester to offer transportation but try to sell their package tour which is expensive and unreasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeong31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed with our family with 2 young children. Arrived on an early flight and bonus was that we could check in late morning. Had an executive suite, which was large with ample room for extra children's bed, views towards the river were great night and day. Room was dated, old decor was like stepping back in time to the 70s. Comfortable stay but a tad over priced considering the state of furnishings, postage stamp sized pool, user pays amenities and facilities (wifi, gym etc), and the location that, while central city, wasn't close to major attractions. Was a good base for our stay though, with water taxi on the door and 15-30min tuk tuk trips to most of our destinations. Had a good stay but would look for better location and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneAndRobJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Royal Princess Larn Luang
#241 of 879 in Bangkok
505 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#378 of 879 in Bangkok
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#173 of 879 in Bangkok
1,244 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 879 in Bangkok
1,578 reviews
Tara Lake Hotel
#657 of 879 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Palace Hotel

Address: 488/800 Bo Bae Tower, Damrongrak Road | 488/800 Bo Bae Tower, Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#226 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $45 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Palace Hotel pampers the traveling executive with only the best, in surroundings that are simply "Princely par Excellence" Prince Palace Hotel is situated on Damrongrak Road (off Krungkasem Rd.) at the site, which once was "Mahanak Palace" of Field Marshal Prince Kromaluang Nakhon Chaisri Suradej, a son of King Rama V. Therefore, Prince Palace Hotel was named to enhance his prestige. Prince Palace Hotel is perfectly located in the governmental and commercial heartland of downtown Bangkok, where you find many old town attractions, government offices and garment business offering good bargains. It is also within easy access to the Expressway network leading to the Airport or anywhere else. The hotel premise comprises 4 towers occupies the 11th to 32nd floor of the Bobae Tower. The lower floors of Bobae Tower contains more than 1,000 shops forming a world class wholesale fashion center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Palace Bangkok
Hotel Prince Palace
Prince Palace Hotel Bangkok
Prince Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing