We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lured in with agoda room rates (if a little high), pillaged with extras and slack service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince Palace Hotel
Ranked #388 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Agree with Ryan S. Booked twin suite but got a queen bed. Awkward! No other rooms to move to apparently..... rooms old, wallpaper peeling off everywhere, windows filthy inside and out as were tabletops. No porter available at one entrance. A massive walk to reception on 11th floor to check in.... when they finally decide to serve you.....andsame forcheckout. picked here for gym but was later told it is extra 300baht/use. When i pointed out their Agoda listing ad as misleading, the manger on duty smuggly told me it was only listed as 'available' and not the industry standard as usual which is included for guests. I pointed out that they had advised on website that wifi was extra (bring bank documents for your second mortgage to use internet here) and not the gym and she just smirked and repeated herself. As a result of her attitude I refused to spend another cent within the hotel. Breakfast was heartbreakingly pathetic. Is along way from anywhere and to be honest, even at discounted rates is severely overpriced. I'm a very experienced traveller and rate this place as 2.5 star on its best day. On checkout, doormen not keen to help unless you were going to airport (big fare commission?) and we were often left standing there when they found out you only wanted a trip into main shopping area. In Bangkok, you can do much better and get way more value. Keep looking!!!!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere?????
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timtam2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 2,180 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

excellent service, even at a crowd of such volume, the facilities, location, environs with well laid-out flee market alive from 4am. Memorable experience. No night life around, market closed by 8pm. Alert security keeping track of your movement while going out. Enthusiastic staff with helping attitude. The restaurants close by 11pm, with only choice of room service. Wished there are night entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamzakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our (one child, two parents)stay at Prince Palace was a misleading one. Pictures on the website showed modern rooms and advertising proclaimed the use of internet and fitness rooms, but the reality requires guests to pay 300 BHT ($10US)per visit to the Fitness Room and 600 BHT for 24 hrs of internet service. Rooms were spacious and offered nice views, though the carpet in the Tower A hallway was very much in need of replacing; it was stained in many places and gave an impression of having seen better days. The hotel is a massive one catering to huge groups and we often felt lost in the sea of people, but we prefer a quieter ambiance to the big hotel shuffle, so that was perhaps our fault. Access to the train line is difficult with a child, requiring a boat taxi or a tuk tuk ride. Directions/ maps are not easily acquired at the reception area. Eating within the hotel is not cheap: we paid 1,400 BHT for a modest poolside dinner and were surprised to pay 200 BHT for a beer. We checked-out early and opted for a smaller, family run establishment where all facilities are included in the price of the room. For younger travelers, the proximity to Kosan nightlife would be appealing as would vibrancy of the river and walking trips around the area.

Room Tip: Tower C is more 'modern' than Tower A, but Tower A has rooms with sunset views that are perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I couldn't believe this magnificent hotel was within our budget, $404 for a 2 bedroom suit on the 26th floor. It has stewards at every door so you dont have to open it, the staff are extremely friendly, hotel is clean. Breakfast was included, they have EVERYTHING you could possibly want to eat. I highly recommend this hotel, many other comments say staff are rude and not helpful, I never found anyone like that, if you treat staff well and are polite you get the same back. Woulnt stay anywhere else if I went back to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Book as far ahead as you can and ask for a room on a high floor, I booked in January for a September...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taracally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location of Hotel is pretty good, middle of BKK. We booked 2 bed room suite with special discount via Agoda. We got 3 bed room suite at the same price. Hotel rooms were clean,but old fashion type, maybe renovated very long time time ago. Minimal furnitures and accesories in rooms as well in the kitchen. No free internet at Hotel, rates were quite expensive. Public areas were quite nice, lot of space. We liked swimming pool and restautant area at 11th floor. Breakfast was eatable. Taxi service at 1st floor was very expensive, we did last minutes reservation for early morning (at 05.00 O'Clock) transportation to the Airport.

Room Tip: There might be renovated rooms available, you should ask. When we did last minute reservation the Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pertti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Impressive went to step in to the Hotel. Service was not good. Despite a lot of staffs standby. None were really helpful and check in was very slow.

Room was not clean. Doesn't live up to Prince Suite level. Embarrassing. Furnitures were old and inserts could be found.

Pro:

Place near to the market. Can easily find food around
Lobby was quite impression. Lack of service
Very accessible to the city via tuk tuk or taxi

Cons:

No service
Room cleanliness needs improvement
No free Internet. Have to purchase prepaid card
No BTS or MRT nearby

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyflee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place was perfect for me and my friend backpacking through Thailand. It was only 80 Baht from Khaosan Road in Bangkok where all the fun bars/restuarants are located. It's only 400 Baht to the airport. The rooms are basic but if you are backpacking, it won't matter because you won't spend any time in the room. They do have A/C, the restaurant was decent and the pool is nice, on the 11th floor. You do have to pay for internet.

This is probably not ideal for families or if you have high standards of living but if you are just looking for a place with a decent bed that you can trust and to leave your stuff, this is perfect. Make sure you see the view from the top floor. There is also a 7/11 walking distance to get essentials.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and had a great view. We asked for two beds and given them easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Royal Princess Larn Luang
#240 of 889 in Bangkok
514 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#362 of 889 in Bangkok
1,082 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 889 in Bangkok
1,654 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 889 in Bangkok
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Palace Hotel

Address: 488/800 Bo Bae Tower, Damrongrak Road | Klong Mahanak, Pomprab, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#225 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $44 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prince Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Palace Hotel pampers the traveling executive with only the best, in surroundings that are simply "Princely par Excellence" Prince Palace Hotel is situated on Damrongrak Road (off Krungkasem Rd.) at the site, which once was "Mahanak Palace" of Field Marshal Prince Kromaluang Nakhon Chaisri Suradej, a son of King Rama V. Therefore, Prince Palace Hotel was named to enhance his prestige. Prince Palace Hotel is perfectly located in the governmental and commercial heartland of downtown Bangkok, where you find many old town attractions, government offices and garment business offering good bargains. It is also within easy access to the Expressway network leading to the Airport or anywhere else. The hotel premise comprises 4 towers occupies the 11th to 32nd floor of the Bobae Tower. The lower floors of Bobae Tower contains more than 1,000 shops forming a world class wholesale fashion center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prince Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Palace Bangkok
Hotel Prince Palace
Prince Palace Hotel Bangkok
Prince Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing