We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Benja Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Benja Hotel
Ranked #337 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Seattle
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I always stay here when I'm in Bangkok (I come annually). The hotel is in a great location, close to the Sky Train and just a few stops away from Siam Square. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, and the breakfasts are great. I did have a couple issues this time was that the air conditioning was very weak and took hours to cool down my room. They are also doing remodeling on the 29th floor and even though I was staying on the 25th floor I could hear it in my room quite loudly. However the work was being done during the day so it wasn't too inconvenient. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room high up you'll have great views out over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over60Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    187
    96
    31
    13
See reviews for
66
114
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed there with my friend for 2 nights. Ladies at the reception were always kind and helpful. I was there during the protests. As I wanted to see many attractions in Bangkok, they advised me places where to go to not being bothered by the potentil danger.
The lobby next to the reception was quite nice, the service was good too, but the waiter didn't know English very well.
Breakfast was tasty, not a large selection of typical Thai food, but it was enough, average.
The room was on the 24th floor and view was fantastic! Every morning I was waking up while watching the beautiful skyline of Bangkok. The room was spacious, we could dance even dance there. Before arrival I was a bit terrified about the room as I'd read some reviews saying there are bed bugs in that hotel. Fortunately, this wasn't that case and I was contented with my bed.
The bathroom was spacious, too.
The surroundings and the ambience of the hotel was not typical for BKK as it was not very noisy. But the paths around the hotel were a bit complicated and once we got lost. We could see the hotel but it was unable to get in it. Funny.. It was a surprise, because this hotel is only few steps from one of the noisiest streets in Bangkok. Everything was near and if I wanted to go further, I could simply use the Sky Train, which stop was near to the hotel too.

Room Tip: The 20th floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiskooH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Best thing is its location. Center of the city and just a few steps away from sky train station..
Indian and veg food is available nearby..
Pool at the fifth floor gives an awsome sunsetview..
Staff is cooperative and friendly.
Food is good too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Royal Benja is a quite popular hotel and every Tuk Tuk and Taxi driver seems to know about this place.

It is at the end of the narrow Soi 5 (street no. 5) in Sukhumvit & Sukhumvit is one of the most happening place in Bangkok.

This hotel is just a small walk from the Sky Train station and ample taxis and Tuk-Tuks (3Wheeled Auto Rickshaws) are available as you exit and enter this place.

Plenty of good massage parlors and salons line up the roads in Sukhumvit and the neighboring places are crowded by foreign tourists of various nationalities visiting Bangkok.

The narrow lanes of Sukhumvit near the Hotel Royal Benja are full of street food vendors. Pimps and Go Go boys solicit clients on pavements and Tuk Tuk drivers offer to take you to the various Massage parlors and game shows.

Royal Benja has a good spread of buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a few good Indian restaurants are also situated close by.

The elevators in this tall hotel are quite fast and well maintained.

The atrium looks majestic.

The shower and bath are excellent and the bed and linen are fantastic.

The room service is a little lax but that is there everywhere in Thailand.

The Royal Benja is excellent value for money..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnilKumarPorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We've been 4 nights (2 at the beginning and 2 at the end of our trip)in this hotel. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is large. A very good shower with lots of water :).

The rooms need an update. There are small things that are repaired in a french way...could be better. However, everything works, bed is good, staff is friendly. Breakfast is buffet and various.

The pool was not clean at all. My husband stayed here before and also at that time the pool was a dirty mess.

Avoid the taxidrivers and tuktuks in front of the hotel. Scammers!

You're close by restaurants, skytrain, market, etc. If you need a taxi only take a taxi that will ride on meter. Or go by skytrain, boat or metro.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baz2baz2
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Thailand experience with cosmos/archers tours organised by a company called destination asia
Travelled march 12th for 3 weeks – 2 weeks tour & 1 week stay in phuket Andaman seaview hotel

We had a great tour with a fantastic tour guide named Yui– he was ab fab

He showed films, music concerts, he had a library with books on Thailand, games etc – we had quizzes too
With PRIZES – sometimes silly but good fun, always trying to think what the next question would be

Our bus – called ‘HEAVEN’ because it was so hot outside – brand new – great – 45 seats only 29 people on the tour rotated 2 seats clockwise daily (was a bit confusing at times) – if didn’t want to rotate you could stay at the back of coach – all passengers were excellent – always back on coach on time – no one was noisy – all got along very well

We also had a trainee tour guide (Arm) who was nervous but good, also had a ‘water manager’ – Pau who supplied us with cold towels on return to the coach, he also supplied us with water 20p or soft drinks 40p

Yui organised wakeup calls – a lot of the time very early (earliest 5 45) left hotel @ 7 15

When travelling north, long travel times, late arrival in hotels for 1 night & out again for another event, sometimes so much organised it was too much, not enough time to relax, which is why we did an add on to stay in phuket for 1 week so we could unwind before 3 flights back to Newcastle, glad we did this but still found it difficult to get our body clocks in order when we got home

We stayed in Bangkok for 4 nights & this was our itinerary from Yui, I also have optional excursion info & costs

COSMOS TOURAMA AND ARCHERS DIRECT, UK
THAILAND EXPERIENCE 2014

2- THU : Mar. 13, 14 ARRIVAL BANGKOK
Arrive Bangkok Airport and transfer to hotel :Overnight: Royal Benja Hotel, Bangkok, as you can see we had a very full itinerary & although long days & tiring at times it was all worthwhile as we had a fabulous time

FRI :Mar. 14, 14 BANGKOK-CITY TEMPLE & GRAND PALACE Dress code (B/D)
08:00 HRS : Depart hotel for Wat Trimit, Wat Po and Grand Palace (lunch on own arrangement)
Afternoon Tour Optional : Rice barge Tour : 1,100 THB per pax
18:45 HRS :Depart hotel for Thai Dinner & Classical Dances
Overnight: Royal Benja Hotel, Bangkok

‘ SAT :Mar. 15, 14 BANGKOK- FLOATING MARKET & ROSE GARDEN (B/I)
07:00 HRS: Depart from Bangkok for full day Floating market & Rose Garden including lunch
Evening Optional: 19:30 HRS Cabaret Show in Bangkok: 1,000 THB per pax
Overnight: Royal Benja Hotel, Bangkok

SUN: Mar. 16, 14 BANGKOK (B)
Day at leisure
Overnight: Royal Benja Hotel, Bangkok

MON: Mar. 17, 14 BANGKOK-KANCHANABURI (B/I) 07:00 HRS: Depart from the hotel to Kanchanaburi,War Cemetery, Museum & Train Ride, lunch at local restaurant afternoon visit Hellfire Pass
Overnight: Home Phutoey, Kanchanaburi

TUE: Mar. 18, 14 KANCHANABURI- AYUTTHAYA Dress code (B/I)
07:30 HRS: Depart from Kanchanaburi to Ayutthaya ancient city lunch at local restaurant afternoon visit
Bang Pa In Summer Palace
Evening Optional : 19:00 HRS :Ayutthaya by night :1,200 THB per pax
Overnight: Krunsri River Hotel, Ayutthaya

WED: Mar. 19, 11 AYUTHAYA-SARABURI-LOPBURI-PHITSANULOKE (B/I)
08:00 MRS : Depart from Ayutthaya for Wat Phra PuttabatMorikey Templeiwictrartocatrestaurant
Evening Optional : 19:00 HRS : Trishaw Parade Ride :750 THB per pax
Overnight : Amarin Lagoon ,Phitsanuloke
THU : Mar. 20, 14 PHITSANULOKE-SUKHOTHAI-LAMPANG Dress code (B/I) 08:00 HRS : Depart from Phitsanuloke visit Sukhothai Historical Park lunch at local restaurant afternoon visit Wat Phra That lampang Iuang
Overnight: Lampang River Lodge, Lampang

/ FRI: Mar. 21,14 LAMPANG-MAE SAl-GOLDEN TRIANGLE-CHIANG RAI Dress code (B/I)
07:00 HRS: Drive to Chiang rai, stop for Kwan Phayao visit White Temple ,Mae Sai Market lunch at local
restaurant Golden Triangle
Afternoon Tour Optional : Boat Ride On Mae Kong River : 700 THB per pax
Overnight : Wiang Inn Hotel, Chiang Rai

SAT: Mar. 22, 14 CHIANG RAI- CHIANG MAt (B/L/D)
07:00 HRS: Depart from Chiang Rai visit Doi Mae Salong ,stop at Mae Ka Chan Hot Springs lunch at local
restaurant, Afternoon visit San Kampeang the world’s largest art & craft center
19:15: Depart hotel for Kantoke Dinner and Dance Show
Overnight : The Empress Hotel, Chiang Mai

t2 SUN: Mar. 23, 14 CHIANG MAI Dress code (B/I)
06:45 HRS : Visit Elephant Camp
Optional Tour :Elephant Riding & Bamboo Rafting: 1,400 THB per pax
lunch at local restaurant in the Orchid farm Afternoon Wat Phra That Doi Suthap
Overnight : The Empress Hotel, Chiang Mai

‘MON: Mar. 24, 14 CHIANG MAI (B)
Day at leisure ;Overnight : The Empress Hotel, Chiang Mai

TUE: Mar. 25,14 CHIANG MAI-DEPARTURE (B)

WE HAD AN ADD ON IN PHUKET FOR 1 WEEK TO RELAX – SEE REVIEW OF ANDAMAN SEAVIEW HOTEL

ANY QUESTIONS JUST CONTACT ME & I WILL TRY & ANSWER THEM

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME, ALTHOUGH TIRING AT TIMES BUT WELL WORTH WHILE

HINTS & TIPS

Better exchange rate in Thailand than in UK
UK £100 = 4000 bahts – Thailand cash machine £100 = 5000 bahts

Buy hard shell cases from ( IT ) they have a zipped part in the lid where we packed our shoes, kettle, coffee etc, toiletries, adapters, suntan, mozzy stuff, packet soup, snack bars all in separate Zip lock see through bags – really worked very well instead of searching through case for bits & pieces – clothes went in the bottom part of the case, packed stuff for phuket at the bottom some in large zip lock bags

Hotels – some supply kettles but not all – some have kettles but no cups or supplies – best to take your own
Usually 2 bottles of free water per person – make sure you use the complimentary ones or you will have to pay for the non complimentary

If suitcase not completely full clothes might slide to the bottom & crease – to avoid this buy big bubble, bubble wrap & fill case with this – if buy stuff on hols burst bubbles or cut pieces off

Wine mostly imported expensive in hotels (£20 per bottle) + 10% charge + 7.5% vat - some restaurants will fill water bottles with Thai wine – just ask for a take away – this also applies to food

Temple visits – take or wear socks as shoes have to be removed & pavement is so hot it burns your feet, some temples women must wear ankle length trousers or skirts & cover your shoulders – always told by our guide the day before

Wear a wide brimmed hat at all times, we were there in March & temperatures were in the mid 90’s to 104 – some people in our group had sunstroke, also wear a high factor sun cream or cover yourselves up – I came back paler than when I went

Be prepared for humidity – it can cause a lot of distress

Clothes – no need for any smart clothes – casual ok even in hotels

Food & drink etc – we are from the north of England & found it much more expensive than at home

Health advice – if you seem to catch all germs going around, buy Vicks First Defence (online – much cheaper) use it before you go & when travelling on planes & in enclosed spaces – it’s not cheap but worth it if it stops you spending money on holiday for medications & stops you getting chest infections – prevention is better than the cure – school teachers use it a lot

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Baz2baz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

its a great hotel to stay and relax , even if you are on a business tour. the rooms are big and spacious and have a great view of the sukhumvit skyline from the rooms. it reflects the royal culture of thailand. professional staff with good english speaking quality.
the food is amazing with varieties of thai and chinese food. had a great stay here the hotel is rated as 3 star but actually is at par with 5 star hotels . rooms having great facilities with bathtubs.
will surely be staying there again when in bangkok.

Room Tip: take rooms on the higher floors as the hotel building is 40 storey's high , to have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep_khanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
BelAire Bangkok
BelAire Bangkok
#156 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Silom
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Bangkok Centre Hotel
#656 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Narai Hotel
#205 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Hotel Windsor Suites & Convention Bangkok
Sathorn
Annex Lumpini Bangkok
Annex Lumpini Bangkok
#359 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Benja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Benja Hotel

Property: Royal Benja Hotel
Address: 39 Sukhumvit Road Soi 5 Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Benja Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Benja Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Benja Bangkok
Hotel Royal Benja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing