We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Place”
Review of Silom City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silom City Hotel
Ranked #115 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Budget Place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My friends stay here often when traveling from other areas of Thailand. Two of them were with me. They shared a room and I had a room of my own. The hotel's near the SkyTrain, you can easily catch a cab to anywhere. Well, if you can deal with the cabbies. Or the yuk-tuks. But that's another review. There are many, many good restaurants with any cuisine you'd like. The staff speak English and Thai, are very helpful with any questions you may have. FREE WIFI that tended to skip out a bit. Nothing that serious to me. I think if I went downstairs and sat next to the modem, that would have been solved. Twice, we left our luggage to be held. Once before checkin (we arrived too early to get in the room) and secondly, when we were waiting to leave town at the end of the day and checked out early. Everything was safe and sound when we arrived. Tasty breakfast, included with the room. Great coffee! Several things to choose from. Fruit, juices, cereal, thai breakfast. A clothesline in the bath/shower was handy, as was the fridge. Two nice size bottles of fresh drinking water provided daily. Be sure to pay attention the little brown box on the bedside table. It controls most of the electrical equipment: A/C, TV, lights, etc. I thought it was just a radio. lol

Room Tip: My corner room had a view on both sides, large and sunny. #908.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    341
    103
    19
    9
See reviews for
114
255
136
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, and we'd come back.. Great location (quiet road, near to a main road with everything, 10 min walk to Skytrain), personnel are very helpfull, rooms clean and everything works. Breakfast is perfect!
If tariff is in your budget, dont have doubts, go to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinAlonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a very reasonable hotel for the price.

The rooms are big, the bathroom is adequate and the bed comfortable though it is a little bit too dark. The breakfast is ok though I did have lunch there when I arrived and that was really delicious.

The location is quite good partly because it is in quite a local area which is nice but it is about 15 minutes from the subway.

Overall a nice place to stay if you are on a budget and it certainly isn't roach pit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_attree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

stayed with my sister and aunt for a 4d3n vacation...the location is great especially for those who wants a massage and spa treat..there's a lot of variety of spa and massage parlors to choose from near the location..train station is around 10-15mins walk thou, yet its still conveniently located.. Requested for a room upgrade from a non balcony to a balcony view room for three, and they gladly accommodate the request.. it is a budget hotel for budget travelers..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweetyriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offered clean spacious rooms, a very nice breakfast and great location within bustling Bangkok. Right outside the front door you'll find both a meat market and veggie/fruit market and within blocks there is decent shopping (gemstones in particular) and other Thai market sales (clothes, trinkets). At night the streets are very quiet. Hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. Recommend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PipersMom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all, we are not big spenders, so this place was a bit of a splurge for us, but it definitely impressed us for the price and met all of our needs for 6 nights. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly with all of our queries, and they were organized and useful for getting things done (like laundry and getting directions).

The included breakfast is an extensive buffet that would easily cost you 200+ Baht elsewhere.

The hotel also upgraded us to the deluxe room because they wanted to open up standard rooms while we stayed. Thus we had a huge comfortable room during our stay, with a bathtub and all the standard amenities.

We stayed here during a job fair near the river front, and were glad we did. We would definitely return here! The only concern I would bring up is that the location is not ideal for many people. Yes it's quiet and near Silom area, but it's significantly off of the main road and you need to know where you are going as most taxi drivers have no idea where it is. There are signs from the main roads, however, so it's not TOO hard to find.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and it was completely silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our arrival to BKK before going to Krabi and Phuket. Staff was very nice, breakfast was good. This was one of the most comfortable bed we ever had on a holiday.
Next to the hotel is the Silom market where you can eat all kind of food for every taste. There is a meat market very near, but next to it is a thai market again with very nice and cheap food also delicious fruits.
If you stay here book the floating market, also go to MBK shopping.
Do not book in the first travel shop, look around and in fact next to the hotel when you pass the meat market on Silom rd the first travel agency on your left is very cheap.
We paid for a taxi to the airport 300BHT. Do not book with hotel just go on the road there are many taxis and do bargain never pay what they want.

Finally have a good stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevyLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#141 of 862 in Bangkok
479 reviews
Klassique Sukhumvit
#98 of 862 in Bangkok
705 reviews
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#87 of 862 in Bangkok
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Silom
Kokotel Bangkok Surawong
Kokotel Bangkok Surawong
#192 of 862 in Bangkok
121 reviews
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom City Hotel

Property: Silom City Hotel
Address: 72 Soi Prachum , Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#120 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silom City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silom City Inn, a business hotel, is conveniently located in the business and centre of Bangkok, near shopping centres, world famous nightlife and entertainment establishments, Bangkok railway terminal, Lumpini park, the Chao Phraya river and the expressway to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silom City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom City Bangkok
Hotel Silom City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing