We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Good Location”
Review of Silom City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silom City Hotel
Ranked #120 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good Value as breakfast included and extra bed for our third teenager without needing a third room.

Good Location in a traditional part of town but not far from the Sky Train.

Make sure you confirm and pay for transfers if you want picking up from the airport.

Taxi from Airport 800THB, Hotel van 1400THB!

Top Tip : Use the Sky Train not the Taxis in City, the Taxi will always take you to their friends BOAT TRIP!!!

Room Tip: Make sure Wifi Internet included in room price and you get late check out till 2pm free with web boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NZCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 798 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably prices hotel, good sized rooms, and a very pleasant staff, then this is the place for you. This is about my 7th time I have stayed here, and I could not be happier. The staff is always there to greet you, to carry your bags to your room, or to a taxi, and always with a smile.
Many people have mentioned how they do not speak good English in their reviews, but I have never had a problem communicating. Just give them a nice smile, and speak slowly. They will do their best.
The only thing I can say that needs attention to is the internet is a bit on and off.
Over all, another enjoyable stay, at a very pleasant hotel. I will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steveula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

So it was my first time in BKK and I was on semi informal trip. This is what i felt about this Hotel
Reception : always occupied in themselves, no time to greet or to smile for their guests. They speak limited English with Thai accent but what makes it difficult to communicate is that they hardly understand English. Porter was always smiling and enthusiastic.

Room: was neat and clean. Toilet was spotless. Room service was offered everyday but I used it on alternate days. Room was very small in size, given that I had booked standard room for 2 guests. luckily my friend didn't join and room was for me.. else.... Safe was already damaged. Room has only 2 power points and at awk locations. In Thailand I didn't expect those old fat TV in my room. Its a country of Flat screen LED but not for this hotel.

Breakfast: Fairly ok breakfast. you will get Juice, Milk, Tea, Coffee, bread, croissant, flakes, fruit and 3-4 non veg dishes. Vegetarian has to live with bread, cornflaked, banana and milk. it starts early but continues till 10am.

Restaurant: It closes by 11pm and u can't get anything after that. Though plenty of non veg options but no veggie food at all.

Internet: complimentary wifi across the hotel. Fairly OK speed but if you coming from India, Europe or USA.. its slow for us.

Location: 100m off the main Silom rd. Nice. You get no noise in your room and can sleep good. But for taxi you might want to walk those 100m. You may wait at hotel but it will take some time. I walked a little.. 100m is nothing.

I suggest you may want to stay at this hotel and eat out somewhere else. Do your homework before you arrive like what to do and where all you might want to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Suresh Chand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The room photos as shown on the booking site and the actual room was drastically different. The room and the hotel are quite old and run-down. We got the suite on the 13th floor but the lift doesn't go above floor 12 !! There was a big balcony with the rooms but we couldn't lock the windows, just slide them to shut, which was quite uncomfortable as we had our two young daughters with us. The night duty manager was quite rude and unhelpful.

On the positive side, the morning duty manager was very courteous and friendly and always good us good advice on traveling and shopping. The room service was very prompt and reasonably priced. Food was generally quite good, including the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deepakgupta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed there in 2012 December , the first time I have stayed on the forth floor in the room which had a ( locked ) door to the next room due to this was a bit noisy ! The room was basic but functional , cleanliness Ok , but carpet was stained .The second time I have got a room on the eight floor that room was much better , no door to next room , better view from the Window , flat screen telly , less noisy but seems due to thin walls a lots of noise coming trough specially from the bathrooms.Stuff was helpful and friendly , Breakfast was Ok, Location was a bit far away from sky train ( 20 minutes walk ) but less of a hassle than Nana area.Good for shopping, eating out !
Tip : ask for room from the eight floor and upwards and some of the rooms has hard wood flooring as well.

Room Tip: Tip : ask for room from the eight floor and upwards and some of the rooms has hard wood flooring as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventuresOfZolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Picked relatively at random based on tripadvisor comments and wasnt disappointed. Location is pretty good - can walk to a skytrain and are pretty central downtown. On a side street off a main street so a bit quieter than average. Rooms were very standard - nothing to write home about but nothing disgusting either. Some rooms are carpeted, some arent. The carpeted ones are getting old... would rather straight floor if I had the choice. Safe in the room. Morning buffet very good. Juices, real coffee, several asian and several western hot dishes, toast, fruit and can order to desire omellettes or eggs. Did find the wifi slow.and the business centre computers were beyond slow.. bordering on non-useable. Ended up going to another hotel a block away and paying per 10 minutes to access high speed internet to do some hotel and train reservations. Front staff was hit and miss - sometimes very helpful and good English.. sometimes not. Overall - you dont come to bangkok for the hotel room (okay, I didnt).. so for the price and location - its not a bad choice and breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room without carpet.. its likely to be a newer renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenB_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel was good, cannot fault anything but it is rather average - room is comfortable and equipped ok, breakfast was simple but sufficient. The staff was very friendly and helpful, location of the hotel is great - close to Skytrain and main Silom road where there is lot of pubs, restaurants and clubs. The hotel has free wifi and aircon and is in a quiet road just off Silom so I would recommend this hotel for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen83Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#118 of 896 in Bangkok
955 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#139 of 896 in Bangkok
625 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#59 of 896 in Bangkok
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Klassique Sukhumvit
#184 of 896 in Bangkok
772 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 896 in Bangkok
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silom City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silom City Hotel

Address: 72 Soi Prachum , Silom Road | Suriyawongse, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $23 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silom City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silom City Inn, a business hotel, is conveniently located in the business and centre of Bangkok, near shopping centres, world famous nightlife and entertainment establishments, Bangkok railway terminal, Lumpini park, the Chao Phraya river and the expressway to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Silom City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silom City Bangkok
Hotel Silom City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing