We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporium Suites by Chatrium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emporium Suites by Chatrium
Ranked #326 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“avoid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is a nicely located property in the heart of Bangkok but poorly maitained. the airconditioners does not function properly. the staff are cold in behaviour unlike other Hotels in Bangkok. The manager at coffee shop where they serve breakfast is very bad in behaviour as well as in service. vegetarians have very little to eat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for took time to review us.

In the name of the staff and the management of Emporium Suites by Chatrium, I would like to express our sincere apology as you have stay that not reach your expectations.

All issues you brought in will certainly bring in the attention of the management immediately. We always heard what our cleints voices.

Once again, thank you very much indeed for sharing this with us.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    516
    126
    25
    13
See reviews for
305
292
115
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is definitely not a "wow" hotel by any means despite what many of the recent (and surprise, surprise, first time....) reviewers have suggested. It's location is it's key selling point together with a beautiful pool area, high quality breakfast and luxuriously comfortable bed. Aircon was whisper quiet and very effective. Our room's fixtures and fittings on the other hand, had seen better days and altho the room was 50sm it seemed cramped and was poorly designed. That said, the small kitchen and full sized fridge was very convenient especially when on the top floor of the Emporium mall was a fantastic deli with beautiful fresh produce and a massive selection of small goods. Housekeeping each day was excellent.
We paid $80 Aus a night and all in all thought that was great value just don't go expecting a shiny, glitzy new build.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views as the hotel rooms start on floor 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Rodandi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and the time you took to review.

I am glad that you pointed out that we are " location is it's key selling point ", " beatiful pool area ", "high quality breakfast", "luxiriously comfortable bed", these all ones looking for when you want a place to stay in any places.

We believe classic stays forever.

See you soonest again at Emporium Suites by Chatrium.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is really memorable stay in the heart of Bangkok; just beside the BTS Phrom Phong and Park in front for exercise and children playground. It has a high street shopping mall in the tower.
Excellent staffs and services. Kitchen with the room.

Room Tip: if your are traveling with family, ask for a room with kitchen utensils and room with a seperate Ref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank akmJahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your time to review us and your compliment to the hotel.

Your Tip is very helpful, for family, we have 2 bedrooms up to 3 bedrooms suite. It is huge, range from 135 sqm. to 200 sqm. Besides the full equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, the room itself has stunning view and at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, we clean the room everyday.

Wish to have a chance to welcome you and your family back soonest.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Pros 1-6 Great hotel standards
Cons 7-8 Slow elevator and dishonest taxi drivers

Good points

1.Check-in
The courtesy, and welcome of concierge and hotel reception staff is excellent. Communication skills are outstanding. All staff are excellent.

2. Room 26F
Clean spacious and comfortable.
The bedside light didn't work. I checked if the bulb was tight and it blew the fuse, cutting the TV, clock and lights. I contacted the reception at 9:00PM and they had it fixed very quickly. Great response fast action. Very impressive

3. Location
Perfect location to use the overhead BTS, or connect with the underground MRT system.

4. Breakfast
A good selection of Thai fruits, continental and cooked breakfasts and wide variety of bread. Good service

4. Guests
I would estimate that 80% of the guests were Japanese ranging from business men to retired groups visiting Thailand.
The adjoining streets Soi 24-26 cater mainly to the needs and cuisine preferences of Japanese tourists as such, prices tend to be higher.

5. Personal Security
This is important in Bangkok. Staff quickly remember guests faces and open the door or press the elevator button, when you approach the hotel, especially at night.

6. Check-out efficiency
Polite and fast.

Weakpoints

7. Waiting for the Elevator (major weakpoint)
The architech who designed a 42 floor building with only 3 elevators, should be given an award for outstanding bad design and inept planning skills. There is a long wait to get into the elevator, I learned to allow 10 mins from room to reception floor. This is the Emporium suites biggest weakpoint and one that cannot be fixed easily.

8.Taxi Driver
My guest experience at Emporium was very good until, they arranged and guided me into a taxi on Sun February 17 at 06:30. The taxi driver placed my suitcase on the front seat and drove off towards the airport. After 5 minutes he advised "NO Meter, 400 baht." He then drove like a madman along local roads (no toll charges). On arrival at the airport, I paid and asked for a receipt "NO Receipt". As soon as the 400 baht was in his hand, he showed no interest or concern and walked off looking for the next gullible tourist arriving at the airport. This taxi was arranged by the hotel, not selected by me, so I am concerned and disappointed with guest safety and taxi fare overcharging. (no meter rip-off)
Emporium Suites management must take immediate action to ensure the safety of their guests.

General Caution on Taxis:
Get out of any taxi that has a meter, but the driver refuses to use it.
Dont allow a taxi to take you to a different location/business to the one requested.
Confirm that they can give you a recept before driving off.
If you have a problem take a photo of the taxi name and vehicle license plate. (my mistake)

Emporium Suites management need to apply a taxi check before any of their guests get into a taxi arranged by them. Two checks must be made. Will the driver use the taxi-meter? Does the taxi driver provide receipts? Will the taxi use toll roads (expressway) if yes then the customer will pay extra charges.
The taxi must be easily identified so that overcharging and bad driving can be reported.

Room Tip: Request a room closest to the three elevators. Waiting for 5-7 minutes for an elevator is common at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank FinnMcCoolAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your informative reviews. I am sure that many people will find your review extremely useful.

Appreicate for the compliments of check in and check out which are directly under my control. I am glad to learn that my staff are providing you services that you satisfy with.

Apologize for the delay of elevators, thank you for bring this up. I have already reported your comment to the Management and we already called in the elevator company to find solutions for this issue.

As for the taxis, I am sorry in the name of Thais. Since they are out of control of the hotel and it was indeed a shameful act, I am again sorry that you experienced this.

We have a stand of taxis in front of the hotel, once we have been reported of dishonest taxis our Security section immediately act by get rid of that car from the stand. Meaning the taxi will cannot come back to our stand.

Our Security section had also reported this to the government section that control taxis drivers which we hope that they would able to find the driver and give him warning, the hotel is following on this to make sure the dishonest one will be punished.

Couldn't thank you enough for stayed with us.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed on the 41st floor, the checking-in process was fast and efficient, the room was clean tidy, spacious and good view that we could see the Chaophraya River in the far side. Hotel staffs were always smiling read to help no matter what that making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,

We loved your title "Excellent". This word simply describe all activities we been striving in everyday for our guests.

We are glad you love the River Side, on the clear day we will even see moutains from the room on 41st floor.

I suggest you try to Park Side room for the next visit then, you will stunnded with the lights of Bangkok in night time.

Thank you for stayed with us.
Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Enjoyed our weekend shopping trip to Bangkok. We have chosen the hotel because of its location and reviews we have read. From the time we stepped in to the hotel until the day we had to leave we have truly felt like home. Everyone has been very helpful and attentive to our wishes. The rooms are well decorated. The only downside we have experienced is the breakfast service. The food was average and the selection is rather limited. I guess the hotel was fully booked and the staff a bit overwhelmed in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Park side room, snooping mall and BTS are great and just footsteps away
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Bernd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Madame,

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your shopping trip and your stayed with us. Thank you for compliment our services. This is what we strive for each day to serve our guests the best we could go for.

I apologize about the breakfast issue and I will bring this to the attention of the Management of the hotel so we can look into this issue and improve it.

Thank you very much indeed.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just want to share an experience about our stay in this hotel, especially the popular kindness and available of staff who helped us upon departure from hotel. The check out process was smooth, no problem but when we arrived the airport and found that we forgot our passport in hotel room. We were shocked and phoned to the hotel and talked to the Concierge, he was very very helpful and told us to wait at the airport and then he arranged the hotel limousine to bring us our passport in time. It was incredible. We almost missed the flight because of our carelessness. We would say "Thank you" to the staff and surely we'll come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
48 Thank Zahidur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saminee, Front Office Manager at Emporium Suites by Chatrium, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for compliment our Concierge team.

This is what our staff doing everday, went extra miles to serve our guests. We wish you and your family the best of luck and pls. visit us again if you have a chance.

Yours sincerely,
Saminee T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
#76 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#361 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Sukhumvit
DoubleTree by Hilton Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grande Centre Point Terminal 21
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#288 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporium Suites by Chatrium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporium Suites by Chatrium

Property: Emporium Suites by Chatrium
Address: 622 Sukhumvit Soi 24 | Khlongton, Khlongtoei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#203 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emporium Suites by Chatrium 4.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emporium Suites by Chatrium presents elegant luxury living and unparalleled convenience downtown in one of Bangkok’s most prestigious areas. Situated above Emporium Shopping Complex, it offers everything from designer shopping to easy access to the business district. Each guestroom provides exceptionally spacious comfort, with floor-to-ceiling windows, separated cooking stations and the high quality furnishings. Dining at The Emporia combines delicious international cuisine with stunning city views, whilst cocktails can be sipped by poolside at the Pool Bar. Stay fit in our modern Fitness Center, with both male and femalesteam and sauna rooms before getting down to business in one of our five meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Emporium Suites by Chatrium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporium Suites By Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Emporium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Emporium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing