We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New World City Hotel
Ranked #493 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Bed was a little hard but I could still sleep. Keep in mind this is a Muslim hotel so I you are a drinker I would stay somewhere else. (There is a bar across the street). The TV is mostly in Thai so if watching Western TV is a big deal I would also look elsewhere. Public transit is nearby and very easy to get a taxi. Taxi rate from BKK was ฿500. There is a free shuttle one way to MBK mall and the bell captain will get a metre taxi for you if you would like. 7-11 is next door too! The restaurant is excellent just remember no beer or pork. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLinguist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    130
    82
    38
    28
See reviews for
25
86
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wyndham Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

For all my travels, this would be by far the worst hotel that I have stayed in. Rooms were very grimy, the beds were that hard, I'm sure I would have got a better sleep, if I had slept on the floor, but they were dirty as well. The bathroom looked as it hadn't been cleaned for a few days, and the shower was broken. When I called reception, they told me that a serviceman would look at it tomorrow. Since i was only there one night, they didn't move me to another room. Will in future when in Bangkok, look elsewhere for a hotel, unless you like sleeping on concrete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel isn't worthy of a 3 star. My wife and I checked into the standard room which we booked on agoda. To say the least we were placed in a room that was nothing as pictured online.

The room was so moldy that the stench was making us sick just from being in there for half an hour. The walls had cracks in them, the WiFi was so slow we ended up giving up on it. The air conditioner unit was terribly noisy and the bathroom was worst then a gas station washroom. The view outside the balcony was a big wall of a building next door. Not to mention dust bunnies all over the floor.

We repacked our things and told the front desk which her solution was that she would send housekeeping to clean up. I don't mean to sound rude but I don't think housekeeping can tear the room down and rebuild it in the for us to stay the night because that's the only solution that I could think of.

The front desk lady then placed us in the only other room available which was great news except that it had two single beds! We were too tired to argue at this point so we just obliged.

The only improvement with this room we got instead was half the amount of mold. And this rooms ac wasn't just noisier but kept shorting at the breaker panel which we had to reset frequently. Really disappointing long weekend mini getaway for us. We have been told by local friends that there are plenty of better options for the price and location. Never again!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porkchop_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in bangkok for 2 days, mainly as a starting point to meet up with friends flying in from different countries before we all head up north and a start to our 3 weeks vacation in thailand. The hotel was a good value- clean room inclusive basic breakfast. The location is good- near some restaurants, 7-eleven, walking distance to khao San road. We took tuk tuk or taxis to other sites. We did not pay much for the taxis (never take those tuk tuks waiting outside of the hotel, they will trick you and take you to some souvenirs shop.- when we refused, he told us to get off his tuk tuks). The hotel reception are nice and helpful. It's recommended if you are staying only for 3 days max. There are two sides of the hotel, the new building and the older building- the prices differ tremendously (we stayed at the old building).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice rooms with a lovely rooftop chilling out area. Perfect for meditating,relaxing or read a book. Near a great area but will need to walk two blocks for the backpacker area. Gym is well equipped on the rooftop next to the pool. Great area to sun bake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

wonderful hotel, wonderful staff, worth the stay, helpful staff, cute girls on reception, close to khaosan road, peaceful, quite,clean, warm welcome,i was very happy to have stayed in this hotel, lovely

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Thought i would stay in an ok hotel as i first arrived in Bangkok. This hotel does not look like it does on the website (they never do). staff are incredibly friendly. Room is horrid, shower worse. Bed stiff.

Plus points only for free/complimentary wifi in room.

Location in a dodgy part of the city. If walking from Koh San Road be careful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veebz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#177 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#294 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Banglamphu
Thai Cozy House
Thai Cozy House
#712 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#135 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Banglamphu
Bhiman Inn
Bhiman Inn
#344 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#150 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World City Hotel

Property: New World City Hotel
Address: 2 Samsen Soi 2, Samsen Rd | Banglumphu, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World City Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok close to Khaosan Road on Rattanakosin Island old city and historical part of Bangkok. It's also easily accessible to the Royal Grand Palace, The Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Keaw),Wat Pho (Temple of the Reclining Buddha), the Golden Mountain and National Museum. Just a 10 minute walk to Banglumphu Market and Khaosan Road, the place for the best in nightlife, shopping, and dining in the area.For 20 years, the New World City Hotel has been proudly serving and accommodating guests from around the world and has built a reputation for being one of the friendliest hotels in the city.The hotel provide its guest with modern, bright, well-appointed guest rooms with inter-connecting rooms also available. All guest rooms have windows and balconies, private bathrooms, hot & cold showers, IDD telephones, satellite televisions, in-room safes, minibars and refrigerators, along with 24-hour Halal room service food.Sara Restaurant services Thai, European, and Indian Cuisine with a wide A La Carte menu and 24-hour room service. Guests are welcomed by friendly and courteous staff that are always ready to greet you with a smile and Sawadee, Thai custom for a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your New World City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New World City Bangkok
Hotel New World City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing