We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Narai Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Narai Hotel
Ranked #203 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently revisited this hotel after 23 years. A hotel that was value for money. The central location of the hotel enabled us to visit many places either by foot or a short cheap taxi ride. The staff were friendly and courteous and all spoke English. Included in our deal was buffet breakfast which was an excellent mix of Asian and western types of food. Restaurants on site also gave us the option to dine in if we did not want to go out in the evening. If we were to revisit Bangkok we would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELEN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    669
    291
    76
    21
See reviews for
161
532
135
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hi this is Charlie from South Africa. Went to Bangkok end of last year with my 2 sisters and their husbands. As I have been to this hotel 3 times before I thought I would like to tell you that this hotel is situated fantasticly in the heart of Bangkok. From the hotel's entrance you turn left and about a 150 yards further you can enjoy the Pat Pong Night Market which is very well known. Thousands of bargains and lots of dealing and wheeling with the owners of the stalls. You just cannot experience this in one night. Inside the hotel they have 3 counters where you can ask the agents advice and bookings on tours. The rooms are clean and they have different floors for smokers and non-smokers. The food is really great - western and eastern breakfasts, plus two great restaurants. The hotel is also in walking distance from more modern shops. Had a lovely time again at the end of last year and am planning to go there during 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - even if the front are rooms facing the street, which is busy, by closing the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times, its central to the shopping places.
I have to say though that the hotel just doesnt seem to get the bookings correct, I booked two rooms with two beds , on arrival we had to wait for another hour before being sent up to our rooms, which turned out to be 2 rooms with kingsize beds in them! I had to speak to reception on the phone on the floor and then go down to the desk to sort it out. I showed them my booking papers, which also stated I needed to be close to assist my mother with her medical problems, and we required a walk in shower. The Concierge finally sorted it out and upgraded us to the top floor (we were only one floor down previously) where the beds were correct in the rooms as was the shower facilities, but our rooms were a little bit apart, but manageable!
Another problem is they advertise free WiFi in the hotel, well its free but only on selected floors and the 12th floor(top floor) wasnt one of them. I had to go to the lobby to use my Ipad on their WiFi. a bit disappointing when you believe you can use it in the privacy of your room!
I will say that the staff were very friendly and their shuttle bus to the MBK Shopping Centre is a bonus - they go twice a day and drop you off there, all free.
We will continue to stay there as the location suits us, but I think they need to upgrade their WiFi and their booking process as we booked and paid about 7mths in advance and they should have gotten our booking correct.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is not badly located; pool had lots of chairs, but hotel building got in the way of the sun

The room with double bed we stayed a bit old but big and clean. Staffs at the fronts desk are not friendly but they do the job. The rest of the staffs are also very nice and helpful.

We were there over Christmas, and many things in the neighborhood were closed. We didn't want the instant coffee in the room in the morning, but when I went to the restaurant for a cup of brewed coffee, I was told I had to buy the entire buffet breakfast in order to get coffee, in spite of the fact that the nearest Starbucks is 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this from my room 642 in Narai Hotel.

This hotel has some positive attributes to potential become a good or if they can resolve some serious issues. In gist, there are more misses than hits.

It is located only about 15 mins walk from the nearest BTS (no subway within walking distance). The Patpong night market is about 25 mins walk.

The room is old and all the furnishings look so dated. The bath room floor tiles are very slippery and can be a potential safety hazard. There is also no toothbrush nor comb. There is also no mini bar in the bar.

One of the biggest issue I have with the room is the noisy aircon. Tried to get them to fix it but apparently, the aircon is still noisy after the technicians did something to it. They informed that all the aircons are noisy so I'd just have to live with it.

The house keepers were also inconsiderate. At 10.30 am they would call my room and wake me up from my sleep just to ask if they could clean my room in spite of the fact that i had hung the Do Not Disturb sign outside the door.I just could not get back to sleep after that. The housekeeping also do not replace the amenities and I had to ask for it in the morning. They just go thru the motion to fold the comforter and change the hotels. I think they bring more bacterial to the room than cleaning it.

The check in was slow and inefficient. I had clearly indicated that i wanted a non smoking double room at the time of the booking but there was none available at the time of check in. I was instead offered a smoking room with twin bed. I had requested for the check in staff to check again for the availability and miraculously, within 1 min, the non smoking room double became available and it was offered to me. I was not sure why they had tried to inconvenience their guest.

If you have luggage a, do not expect any of their staff to assist you. They are more interested to talk amongst themselves rather than to help the guests.

Besides one lovely lady who was polite, I can attest that all staff in this hotel are rude and unhelpful.

When I enquired about the password for the wifi, one matured receptionist told me me it is in the information in the room. This encounter left a sour taste as he could have simply let me have the password instead of trying to implicitly tell me 'why don't you read the info file'. In the 1st place, I had not even got to the room and how would he have expected me to have read the info file.

There is a staff named Matee who seem to be always on night shift was even worse when it comes to customer service, He was so unhappy when I approached him to let me have the check in voucher as I had intended to change to another hotel that he started to raise his voice at me and this happened in the night.

The hotel is also infested with mosquitoes at the lobby.

Poor service aside, this is definitely not a 4 Star hotel. It is a 3 star hotel on the brink of becoming a 2.5 hotel.

I had stayed in the Furama hotel just opposite Narai and it is 10 times better value than Narai. The marginal difference in price makes it a no brainer. Choose other hotels for the kind of price you are expected to pay for Narai. There so many hotels which offer better value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chung1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and provides for quick access to the sky train and the night market. The hotel also provides a taxi service on a dailay basis at 11:30am to the MBK shopping mall..you would however have to find your own way back to the hotel. We found that taking the sky train would be the most affordable option and taking a walk further down the road back to the hotel. The hotel rooms are quite outdated and some are not in the best conditions but they do allow you to change rooms at no additional costs if you are not happy. They would also be willing to upgrade your room at an additional fee if applicable. The staff are friendly however they do not speak english very well and some of them cannot speak or understand it at all. The pool area is quite small if you do plan on spending your stay at the pool side, however if you plan on exploring the city, temples and ancient sites then the pool area shouldnt be an issue. The best thing about this hotel.. hands down is the breakfast buffet!!

Room Tip: Reconfirm any requests or taxi bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

It's second time for me to stay here. Very cheap but good service. I will go again next time.
close to night market.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Furama Silom
Furama Silom
#241 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#61 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#126 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#243 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
iCheck Inn Silom
#193 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#374 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narai Hotel

Property: Narai Hotel
Address: 222 Silom Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Narai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 474
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narai Hotel is conveniently located in the city main business, shopping, and entertainment area of Silom Road such as Pat Pong Night Market, the hotel is also located close to Chong Nonsi Sky Train Station, a river pier, and the express way with access tot he airport in only 40-60 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Narai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing