We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & value for your money”
Review of Ma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ma Hotel
Ranked #654 of 865 Hotels in Bangkok
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location & value for your money”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Really good and friendly service. Good location in Silom area. Rooms are clean and nice. Good value for your money!
Also restaurant services provided good.
Swimming pool are is quite small and inside, but ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TapioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    123
    128
    52
    39
See reviews for
35
79
38
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best value for money I got for a while. Probably dont eat here much though the menu is very scant and not too many options however what we had was nice.
The service was very good , rooms very modern and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davodownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Having booked this hotel before reading reviews,,,i was really worried that it would be awful..
However it is obvious that major renovations have and are still being carried out !!!

The rooms are clean,,well appointed. The beds are so comfy and snug,,i had the best sleep. I did have a problem with the shower drainage,,which had leaked into the corridor,,but this was quickly dealt with.

I had no disturbance from any building work being done,,as i think they are on the last few rooms,,i could see across the courtyard.

I only had one drink there as i thought a little pricy ,,140thb for a small Singh beer.

I was informed that the management had changed and i think it showed,,the staff were friendly and helpful.

2 things to beware of though,,,the taxis out front don't like to use their meter,,,so check before u get in,,,if not there are plenty passing by.

Also it is a NON smoking hotel,,which was not obvious when i booked on a different site.

I was informed upon check in,,,but not of the 2000thb fine they will impose if you do smoke in the room,,,also no mention in the room,,just a no smoking sign.

So upon check in they wanted to keep my 1000thb deposit and want 1000thb more.
I explained that they must inform guest of an imposed fine,,can not just spring it on at the end.
As i discussed this in a rational way with the reception manager,,i agreed to pay 200thb,,to use extra spray as i do appreciate the smell of smoke can lingre.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justjonnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

THE FIRST HOTEL STAYED AT IN THAILAND.
Thought we had booked a super hotel at a reasonable price for the quality. The reality is somewhat different. They are still building the hotel around you and it is unfinished. In my opinion they should not be letting this hotel untill it is finished.
Immediately complained about the banging noises ( after a very long flight/journey, dead tired ) and were upgraded to a quieter room, although could still hear noises. Lots unfinished, hallways, bakery, not open, shops not open, boarded up. etc,etc.
Good large room ( upgraded, standard smaller ), good bed, but room quite bare, not as good as photos. Virtually no view from corner window over entrance courtyard.
The swimming pool is located in a very strange position off the entrance lobby ? Everyone can see you, so not used !
The rate does not include breakfast, payed extra, but not that good. Poor quality.
Staff helpfull and pleasant, I think they are a little embarrassed about the hotel.
Booked this hotel through BOOKING.COM and ended up paying a lot more than originally thought I was paying, as one pays locally at the hotel.
Location is in the JEWELRY district, so out of it a bit, fairly near river. Very few restaurants around accept for the INDIAN HUT next door which is good but expensive.
Stayed at several hotels/guest houses in six weeks, but would NOT stay here again. Wear ear plugs !

Room Tip: Virtually all the hotels suffer from poor noise insulation in walls and floors and their hard surfac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickthetrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've read some reviews before going to this hotel and was scared about all the bad things people are writing about hotel stuff - in my case it was not true. The stuff was SUPER pleasant, nice and healpful. We arrived 8am and they were able to accomadate us earlier. Also informed about attractions and things to do.
The room was not that good, was very small and dark, impossible to open curtains since on the other side always people watching.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place it's not quite finished, but it's very close to City centre which makes it easier to get around.
It was about £30 per night which it's quite reasonable considering that you are very to the State Sky tower (The Hang Over 2 ) movie was shot.
The staff were very friendly and helpful we asked to leave our luggages there after our check out as our flight wasn't until late evening and they were happy with that.
Great service, good place and brilliant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a City View, as it will look amazing at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ervo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were there in August Last year. Good Calm and Peaceful Location. Reception is good.
But the service was pathetic.People were not bothered to address our concerns. Same as Breakfast. It was a sick and the same Indian Breakfast everyday.I would not come back and stay there because you get much better deal and good service within Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijayjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#378 of 865 in Bangkok
10 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#445 of 865 in Bangkok
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Intown Residence
Intown Residence
#779 of 865 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Silom
Bossotel Bangkok
Bossotel Bangkok
#262 of 865 in Bangkok
747 reviews
Sathorn
Forum Park Hotel
Forum Park Hotel
#397 of 865 in Bangkok
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Hotel

Property: Ma Hotel
Address: 412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #654 of 865 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ma Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Hotel is a 243 rooms 4-star hotel. Our concept is about simply being "Smart" - Smart and comfort design, Smart service, and, most of all, Smart choice for you. With our 6 room categories and functional facilities, such as: cozy indoor swimming pool, lobby lounge, restaurant and bakery cafe, we are ready to serve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing