We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
195
147
65
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
147
65
38
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 466 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

...if you don't, then you are not a client and therefore your views don't matter." (Dr. Max Henn)

That sums up the Atlanta. This place strikes a bold blow against the sex tourism trade, sometimes to extremes (Thai's are not allowed as guests of guests, no matter what their profession). But, if you spend 1 night in the Sukhamvit/Nana Station/Soi Cowboy exploitation fest that shares a neighborhood with the Atlanta you will understand why. The Atlanta deserves our business precisely because it exists as it does. Atlhough the rooms are barren (but A/C works!!) and there are few amenities (TV, fridge etc), there is a pool, the restaurant is EXCELLENT, and they are extremely accommodating to changing schedules and luggage drops. My only criticism is that they proudly display a signed copy of that horrid piece of self serving writing called "eat,pray, love" in the lobby.

Room tip: A & B levels are suites with shared bathrooms, but the C & D levels are a 4 story walk up. Trade off a shared bathroom to a climb? No rooms have good views, except possibly C1 & D1.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Atlanta for just 2 nights over New Year.
We were relieved to be in a peaceful environment in an otherwise very busy city.
The hotel had made major improvements to a lot of its bathrooms since my last visit and now boasts European style facilities with good water pressure and bountiful hot water.
The hotel is otherwise the same. A charming oasis down a quiet street with an excellent restaurant, friendly staff and always a willing cat to sit on your lap if one so desires.

We finished our trip in Thailand with an overnight stay at the Shangrila hotel on the Chaopraya river. Reputedly 5 star. It failed on ALL counts to impress us. The service was extremely poor, the food very mediocre and expensive and the place was absolutely teeming with people.
Had we been able, we would have returned to the Atlanta!
In future we shall, and will leave the supposed 5 star establishments of Bangkok for others to contend with.
For us, the Atlanta is our home in Thailand.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hrj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

As per other reviews this place won't suit everyone, and not just the sex trade tourists and louts The Atlanta are deliberately trying not to suit. The character of the hotel is left of centre with an old world charm. They don't apologise for their ethos or attitude. If you don't like the feel you get from their website: go elsewhere.

For those it does appeal to this hotel is pure gold. The rooms are basic but perfectly functional. The restaurant is amazing in terms of value, quality and range of dishes.

The pool provides welcome relief from BKK, although it is in desperate need of restoration to restore it to it's original beauty. I would encourage them to start a donation box if they do not want to fund this themselves, I would happily donate.

The hotel is close proximity to the Skytrain from which is it very easy to get around.

The garden reeked of either Terrapins or cat urine.

I will definitely return.

Room tip: Remain aware that there is no elevator or lift.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The atlanta is my hotel of choice in Bangkok but it is NOT for everyone. If you want a quirky piece of history in a convenient Sukhumvit location, then this hotel is well worth a visit. If you want good service and comfort, the Atlanta is best avoided.

This hotel is idiosyncratic, to say the least. This will be like nowhere else you have ever stayed, and this is why I love it. It is tucked away at the very end of soi 2, and so long as you go to the end of the street you should have no problem finding it. This is a place beloved by artists and writers from around the world. The history here is amazing. It is like stepping into an art deco timewarp. The food deserves a special mention, especially if you are vegetarian. The famous menus here are half food lists half academic essays. There is a strict no sex tourists policy which is refreshing in this area (being close to Soi Cowboy).

They have a 'no complants' policy for a reason. Until they get to know you, staff can be surly and unhelpful. Booking can be a nightmare. The foyer is in excellent condition (used as a film set for its intact authentic art deco magnificence) but the rooms can leave a lot to be desired. Don't firmly expect aircon or hot water etc to be working, although the new room updates have fixed many of the issues one might expect here ten or fifteen years ago. And if you have a problem with ANYTHING service wise, don't expect a sympathetic ear. No complaints. They mean it. You get what you are given.

You can travel the world staying in hermetically sealed identical hotel rooms where comfort is assured but character has been surgically removed. Or you can travel in hotels that are part of their environment. If you like the latter, the Atlanta might be just the thing.

Room tip: There is no lift, and guests are encouraged to be quiet, so a room on a lower floor is a good bet.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigBolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel! Great location on a quiet side street in Sukumvit district, 10 minute walk to the Skytrain. Restaurant was fabulous and cheap, the pool was a bit crumbling but very pleasant, hidden in the trees. Room are just fine- nothing special, but clean, with a/c. They didn't have a single room for me with private bath, but they offered me a suite with two bedrooms, and said they would keep the other one unoccupied! Staff very sweetvand helpful. I would go back any time.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah52470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews