We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"If you agree with us, you will stay here.....”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #277 of 884 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

...if you don't, then you are not a client and therefore your views don't matter." (Dr. Max Henn)

That sums up the Atlanta. This place strikes a bold blow against the sex tourism trade, sometimes to extremes (Thai's are not allowed as guests of guests, no matter what their profession). But, if you spend 1 night in the Sukhamvit/Nana Station/Soi Cowboy exploitation fest that shares a neighborhood with the Atlanta you will understand why. The Atlanta deserves our business precisely because it exists as it does. Atlhough the rooms are barren (but A/C works!!) and there are few amenities (TV, fridge etc), there is a pool, the restaurant is EXCELLENT, and they are extremely accommodating to changing schedules and luggage drops. My only criticism is that they proudly display a signed copy of that horrid piece of self serving writing called "eat,pray, love" in the lobby.

Room Tip: A & B levels are suites with shared bathrooms, but the C & D levels are a 4 story walk up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 421 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Atlanta for just 2 nights over New Year.
We were relieved to be in a peaceful environment in an otherwise very busy city.
The hotel had made major improvements to a lot of its bathrooms since my last visit and now boasts European style facilities with good water pressure and bountiful hot water.
The hotel is otherwise the same. A charming oasis down a quiet street with an excellent restaurant, friendly staff and always a willing cat to sit on your lap if one so desires.

We finished our trip in Thailand with an overnight stay at the Shangrila hotel on the Chaopraya river. Reputedly 5 star. It failed on ALL counts to impress us. The service was extremely poor, the food very mediocre and expensive and the place was absolutely teeming with people.
Had we been able, we would have returned to the Atlanta!
In future we shall, and will leave the supposed 5 star establishments of Bangkok for others to contend with.
For us, the Atlanta is our home in Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As per other reviews this place won't suit everyone, and not just the sex trade tourists and louts The Atlanta are deliberately trying not to suit. The character of the hotel is left of centre with an old world charm. They don't apologise for their ethos or attitude. If you don't like the feel you get from their website: go elsewhere.

For those it does appeal to this hotel is pure gold. The rooms are basic but perfectly functional. The restaurant is amazing in terms of value, quality and range of dishes.

The pool provides welcome relief from BKK, although it is in desperate need of restoration to restore it to it's original beauty. I would encourage them to start a donation box if they do not want to fund this themselves, I would happily donate.

The hotel is close proximity to the Skytrain from which is it very easy to get around.

The garden reeked of either Terrapins or cat urine.

I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Remain aware that there is no elevator or lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The atlanta is my hotel of choice in Bangkok but it is NOT for everyone. If you want a quirky piece of history in a convenient Sukhumvit location, then this hotel is well worth a visit. If you want good service and comfort, the Atlanta is best avoided.

This hotel is idiosyncratic, to say the least. This will be like nowhere else you have ever stayed, and this is why I love it. It is tucked away at the very end of soi 2, and so long as you go to the end of the street you should have no problem finding it. This is a place beloved by artists and writers from around the world. The history here is amazing. It is like stepping into an art deco timewarp. The food deserves a special mention, especially if you are vegetarian. The famous menus here are half food lists half academic essays. There is a strict no sex tourists policy which is refreshing in this area (being close to Soi Cowboy).

They have a 'no complants' policy for a reason. Until they get to know you, staff can be surly and unhelpful. Booking can be a nightmare. The foyer is in excellent condition (used as a film set for its intact authentic art deco magnificence) but the rooms can leave a lot to be desired. Don't firmly expect aircon or hot water etc to be working, although the new room updates have fixed many of the issues one might expect here ten or fifteen years ago. And if you have a problem with ANYTHING service wise, don't expect a sympathetic ear. No complaints. They mean it. You get what you are given.

You can travel the world staying in hermetically sealed identical hotel rooms where comfort is assured but character has been surgically removed. Or you can travel in hotels that are part of their environment. If you like the latter, the Atlanta might be just the thing.

Room Tip: There is no lift, and guests are encouraged to be quiet, so a room on a lower floor is a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel! Great location on a quiet side street in Sukumvit district, 10 minute walk to the Skytrain. Restaurant was fabulous and cheap, the pool was a bit crumbling but very pleasant, hidden in the trees. Room are just fine- nothing special, but clean, with a/c. They didn't have a single room for me with private bath, but they offered me a suite with two bedrooms, and said they would keep the other one unoccupied! Staff very sweetvand helpful. I would go back any time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah52470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel has a funky art deco foyer and a restaurant that serve up the most delicious food I have EVER had on any trip to Thailand. The fresh fruit juices blended with mint are heavenly, all servings are generous and really cheap! Note though that they only allow people who are staying at the hotel to enjoy the restaurant, so you can't share these treats with friends who may be staying elsewhere.The woman who offers tourism advice in the foyer is lovely, there is a swimming pool and although the rooms are basic they are clean and have a balcony and it all comes at a very low price tag. All these things are great. Me and my friend were however treated with arrogance and INCREDIBLE rudeness, in its worst form, by the man in the reception (who is there every day), from the moment we arrived at the hotel until we left. He made us feel really small and VERY unwelcome! I wish we had reacted with anger and that we had just left the place but we were so stunned at the way he treated us and questioned us and were also too tired to start looking for another place. We were also asked if we were staying there, EVERY time we had food in the restaurant. We were the only ones they asked and were the only ones with more exotic looks. I am Swedish (Half Indonesian/Half Swedish) and my friend is French (born in Madagascar) and we are short and brown. We are nice and friendly and dress "properly" and really didn't do anything to warrant the reception man's behavior towards us. The girls in the restaurant were just doing what they have been asked to do but it was actually still really hurtful. You don't want to be faced with racism on your holiday. If you are "white" and preferably 40+ or have children, they will treat you nicely and you will enjoy the place. If you are dark or in a mixed couple, I would recommend you to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Eurasianess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visit the Atlanta as regularly as I can.
My first visit was over 20 years ago!
The ambience remains the same however, the rooms have recently been updated and although still simply furnished, the beds are comfy with new mattresses, the new European style bathrooms are über clean and the owner of the Atlanta still manages to keep the prices at budget level.
This is a family run hotel with strong family values.
People who like animals and recognise how many suffer on the streets of Asia, will be delighted to see that the Atlanta Hotel has been quietly rescuing mostly cats, but sometimes dogs, from an otherwise certain awful fate. Rescued cats of all ages are nurtured back to health and reside in the staff quarters in the hotels grounds. They are let out into the gardens on a rotational basis where they enjoy catching some sun or lazing on a chair. The hotel has rescued and cared for 100's of animals over the years.
This is no mean feat as veterinary help and medicine is spare and very expensive in Thailand. The owners of the hotel do their very best to help as many as they can and often there can be over 50 being cared for at one time.
As an animal lover myself and also, having seen some atrocities whilst visiting Thailand, I always make a conscious effort to leave a donation towards the cats upkeep or bring basic veterinary treatment like flea/ wormer which is so much cheaper overseas. Any little helps.

This hotel ticks all the boxes for me.

It is very reasonably priced, clean and safe, a little quirky with plenty of character, has a tremendous restaurant, wireless internet access, a wealth of interesting guests that do not include the sex tourists, an in house travel agency, staff that treat you like family and if you want, a cat to sit on your lap to really make you feel at home!

The Atlanta now has it's own website for Internet bookings. This is a busy hotel do you need to book in advance to secure lodgings.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#102 of 884 in Bangkok
1,258 reviews
Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
#173 of 884 in Bangkok
677 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Parinda Hotel
Parinda Hotel
#185 of 884 in Bangkok
251 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#110 of 884 in Bangkok
831 reviews
Silom
Swan Hotel Bangkok
Swan Hotel Bangkok
#470 of 884 in Bangkok
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing