We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on charm in the lobby, low on charm in the rooms”
Review of Atlanta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #273 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past (2004 & 2006), and am sad to report that our stay this September will be our last. The wrinkle in time lobby, friendly staff, amusing signs and interesting to read menu were just as charming as always, however the rooms are sadly lack lustre to the to almost to the point of austerity. Although we were happy to find the small bathrooms had been recently renovated, the beds are too firm and no blanket is supplied. There is no fridge in the room and no in room wifi. The hallways have a dormitory feel. The pool is tired and just passably clean, and the surrounding gardens feel dank rather than welcoming. Food in the restaurant is good, but nothing special, and definitely coasting on it's old reputation.

All in all I feel like this hotel is stuck between two classes. It's charming lobby connotes something more special is on offer than other budget hotels in the area, but the rooms are such a disappointment it's really not worth the long walk down to the end of the Soi everyday. They really need to take a step forward in time in the rooms. If they updated the rooms, renovated the pool and gardens, and re-invented the menu at the restaurant, I'd be happy to stay here again at double the price. As it is now, we won't be staying at the Atlanta again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Atlanta Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 419 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The first time I stayed in the Atlanta in 2001 I loved it. There was a particular charm about its antique interior. However each subsequent trip has been more disappointing than the last. Returning with my wife who is Asian, we were treated with suspicion by the majority of staff even though our two children were with us.

The people who were staying with us were in town for a wedding with his parents from Canada. The guy's brother lived in BKK and was marrying a Thai lady. His brother's new wife was refused entry into the hotel. In front of several guests the lobby staff harassed and yelled at this lady.

An old friend of mine who is of Chinese ethnicity but born and raised in Canada attempted to book there and was told it was full. Our suite had an empty adjoining room the entire time. They did allow him to join us on the pool deck for an hour one evening. They spied on us and made us feel unwelcome.

We found the staff lied to us several times and were dishonest regarding tourist information.There was a daycare up the road which was available for 1 day and 1/2 day babysitting. When the staff found out we used this service they told us we had to use their babysitting service.

That was the final straw. There is much better value in the same area with no absurd rules. BTW the restaurant may have been good 40-60 years ago but its pedestrian by today's standards and over priced.

You are paying for the atmosphere of the lobby and restaurant that is it.

Room Tip: Far away from the Atlanta
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank UB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Atlanta six nights with long intervals, as we crisscrossed through Thailand from north to south. The place is utterly charming: the lobby and the restaurant have the great fifties feel from old movies about the colonial past. The rooms are basic, and we were happy to see they have finally started tackling the bathroom situation for the old ones were getting rather dingy. The pool is nice, the staff is great and the restaurant is top notch. The only downside to this hotel is its location: it is situated right in the middle of the sex tourism area. Try to book a night here and a night in one of the backpacker places on Khao San Road, to see two different Bangkoks.

Room Tip: Get one of the renovated rooms on the C-floor.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Provoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

A difficult hotel to rate - it's not really what you'd call average, but neither is it very good. The main selling point is that it hasn't been renovated since the 1950s, so it's like stepping back in time. This has its good and bad points. The public areas are a treat, but our room was like a concrete bunker, with little ornamentation, and the beds have no blankets. They're not really necessary in Bangkok's climate, but it felt a little Spartan. The pool is great - not too many budget hotels in Bangkok have anything like this, and it didn't matter too much that some of the tiles were chipped and there was algae growing on the bottom - the water was clear and reasonably clean, apart from a few leaves from the wilderness-like garden.

The restaurant was again a blast from the past, and had an extensive menu with many vegetarian options, which our travelling companions appreciated, but several of the meals we had were distinctly ordinary - well below the standard we found almost everywhere in this foodie paradise of a country. Other negatives were the 600-metre walk to the train station (there are taxis along the street, but they laughed when I asked them if they were metered), and the obsession with sex tourists. Everywhere you go in the Atlanta - and even on the menu and hotel stationery - are signs saying "Sex Tourists Not Welcome". True, there are some dodgy places not far away, but we didn't see any obvious sign of them, and this seemed like overkill. On our return to Bangkok we stayed in another place not far away, which was perfectly respectable without all the signage. We got the feeling that the place is coasting on its former glory, established under its founder, Dr Max Henn, who died 10 years ago at the age of 94. As budget hotels in Bangkok go, it's something out of the ordinary, but could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Number8Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Atlanta 6 or 7 times and will happily be back. I love the restaurant as much for its atmosphere as for the food, and the manager there, Anong, is like a stern, kind Aunt. She remembers me and comments on what I'm up to when in the hotel (not in a stalky way!)

The other staff are generally lovely and if you have any awkward moment at all, it's probably down to that person being new.

The rooms are basic, but I spend all my waking hours either out or by the excellent pool/garden. The lobby is fantastic and people do gather there sometimes, though less since smoking was banned indoors. A certain strata of the clientele can be snooty in an academic way. Who really cares about that?

The location is good for SkyTrain and airport taxis. I like to walk to the Siam area sometimes for a browse. The Ploen Chit supermarket, downstairs from the McDonalds, etc, on the corner is very very good for picking up a few treats like wine, snacks, nice soap or whatever, and some souvenirs too. There is an ATM there that takes overseas cards.

The street restaurant on Soi 2 is great and I can say I've never had an upset stomach from the food there. I recommend a peice of fried chicken and a som tam salad, taken back to the pool to savour slowly.

When I leave the Atlanta I've always have staff members come outside and wave goodbye. It seems to be a place that rewards respect and humility.

I can't wait to take my wife there. I know she will appreciate the literary atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

travelling with a family of 6 we chose this hotel BECAUSE of their stand on NO SEX TOURISTS. It was a quiet, ambient sanctuary in a busy city and we LOVED our stay there.
You pay a budget price but have the glamour, and ambience of the original decor. The rooms are in the process of renovation. The restaurant had a huge selection, and wonderful waiting staff, but small helpings for our large Kiwi appetites, so if you have a large appetitie...order more servings. Easy walk to skytrain, and shopping, and local food vendors for snacks.Because there were so many of us we just used a taxi from here to Chinatown etc.
Lots of useful info available here...wifi downstairs and a pool for the children.
Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Bangkok. Why stay somewhere with a stark hotel interior when you can have this kind of character!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Dear fellow traveller,
The Atlanta Hotel off the Sukhumvit Road in Central Bangkok is an institution, loved by its many many repeat guests. "Party Central" it is not, but a retreat from the hurly burly Bangkok streets, maybe better appreciated by the more discerning, mature traveller. Guests either "Get" The Atlanta or they dont ! It is NOT luxurious and the rooms are very spartan with NO frills, NO WiFi in the rooms (there is FREE WiFi in the lobby, garden and restaurant), NO TV's, NO fridges and often not a lot of hot water ! BUT the history of the place is a delight, the staff are great characters and very helpful, the garden and slightly tatty swimmimg pool are a joy and the food from the restaurant is AMAZING and inexpensive (as are the rooms inexpensive). Another great joy is that seedy "Sex Tourists" are not allowed at The Atlanta Hotel and the bringing into the establishment of sex workers is strictly forbidden. The management of The Atlanta Hotel is ably assisted by a wonderful Brit, Mr Roger LePhoque, a former food & wine writer and an old University friend of the hotels owner. Roger goes out of his way to assist guests with their myriad questions, queries and problems. I consider myself very fortunate to stay at The Atlanta in an inexpensive second floor, C class A/C double room, every January/February and I very much consider The Atlanta Hotel to be "Home from Home".
Haste me back,
Andrew Bruce
Dumfriesshire
Scotland

Room Tip: Book early as very popular and often running at 100% capacity. NO Email booking so you must either t...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
Lohas Residences Sukhumvit
#171 of 881 in Bangkok
668 reviews
Sukhumvit
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
Hotel Solo Sukhumvit 2
#99 of 881 in Bangkok
1,248 reviews
Silom
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
Pas Cher Hotel de Bangkok
#335 of 881 in Bangkok
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Parinda Hotel
Parinda Hotel
#188 of 881 in Bangkok
249 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Address: 78 Soi 2 Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $24 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok is, literally, untouched by modern pop culture. Walking into The Atlanta is like walking into another world, a long lost world. Most of what a guest sees and hears is old and classic - and authentic. ***The Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok, founded in 1952, features many superlatives, notably, the most photographed and oldest unaltered hotel lobby in Thailand, the first hotel swimming (diving) pool in Thailand, the largest selection of Thai vegetarian dishes in the world, a unique jungle-like garden right in the middle of Bangkok. The western menu features dishes made in the 1950s style - dishes that were on the original menu of The Atlanta, and prepared in the same way. ***The historic Atlanta Hotel in Bangkok has strict policies: sex-tourists, drug users, trouble-makers, and undomesticated people are not welcome. Any of these found on the premises are dealt with summarily. Because of these strict policies, The Atlanta Hotel has many detractors or even enemies. The Atlanta Hotel upholds its principles and policies without compromise. As of 1st September 2013, smoking will no longer be permitted anywhere on the premises. ***The Atlanta Hotel is also home to destitute cats and terrapins. Injured and abandoned cats seem to find their way to The Atlanta. Many are rescued from elsewhere. There are at the time of writing 36 cats. Some live in an enclosure on one side of the garden; others live in the staff section of the hotel. The terrapins are all rescued and saved from loss of habitat. There are at the time of writing 27 terrapins. They live well in and around the pond of the jungle-like garden of The Atlanta. Two staff are employed full-time to look after the animals, and visiting vets often volunteer their services, which The Atlanta welcomes. There is a celebrated drawing by a regular guest of The Atlanta of the lobby featuring cats lying on the round sofa. The caption reads (in Italian), "Cats, the real guests of The Atlanta." Guests of The Atlanta are typically animal lovers. *** The Atlanta, being at the bottom of a lane, has no passing trade. All our guests are either regulars or friends of regulars. The Atlanta has many returning guests who have been coming to The Atlanta since the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and, of course, much later. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Bangkok
Atlanta Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing