We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Residence - a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Residence Bangkok
Ranked #377 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Because I was travelling with 3 children below 12 years, I needed to find a nice and convenient place to stay during our last trip to Bangkok. I found La Residence with the help of TripAdvisor and was not disappointed at all. We loved our family suite - it was spacious, clean with a nice warm feel. My kids loved the fact that they had a DVD player in the room with a vast selection of DVDs to choose from downstairs. Good job on the place, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JulesK97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for La Residence Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

Our first stay at Le Residence was in November, 2008. We arrived very early in the morning and very tried from India; the staff at Le Residence were friendly, helpful and gracious. They even got us into our room early. The room was comfortable and VERY quiet.

This small hotel is located near the Skytrain, and pretty close to the train station as well. They also have a great selection of videos that you can watch in your room at no extra cost.

Since we had planned to stay in Le Residence a second time after traveling around Thailand and Cambodia, we left a bag there. But due to the political protests and closure of the airport, we were unable to return to Bangkok. The manager at La Residence was kind enough to ship the bag and its contents to us (on the Andeman Coast). We highly recommend La Residence; all in all is is a great place to stay in Bangkok. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

La Residence is a great little boutique hotel in a very convenient location. We were lucky to get Suite 7 on the top floor, which has an enormous leafy balcony.

The Skytrain is about ten minutes walk away, and Patpong about the same. You can switch from the Skytrain to the Metro at a couple of stops, and they are both a great way to get around most places.

To get to the main temples, it's best to get the Skytrain to the river terminus, where it's two minute walk to the ferry. Don't bother getting a tourist pass, just jump on any Express heading in the right direction and pay on board (much cheaper).

Just around the corner from the hotel we found our favorite restaurant in Bangkok "Take a Seat". Pleasant leafy garden and cheap excellent food. La Residence staff will direct you, it's half way to the Skytrain.

We checked out a few other rooms at the hotel, and the single rooms are very small. However the location and the friendly staff make up for this. There is free a DVD library and book swap.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Captain_Beefheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

I spent a couple nights here and had a good experience. It is close enough to the river and BTS skytrain, and lucky for me, close to the Jim Thompson silk outlet. No complaints. The room was small but quiet and clean. The staff accommodated, suggesting restaurants and giving me a wake up call. As a single female traveler, my three requirements are clean safe and cheap or at least reasonably priced. This one met all three.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank pnewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Fabulous hotel. We had a great suite, very large and clean. Staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast came with the room and it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieselChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

In the first five months of 2008, I happened to spend a considerable amount of time in South-East Asia (Myanmar, Thailand, Laos and Cambodia), and used La Residence, an extremely pleasant boutique hotel in the Silom district of Bangkok, as a base to return to on several occasions. The highly attentive and considerate staff even joked that I'd stayed in almost each of the 26 rooms, and on the various visits I stayed in singles, twins and on the last occasion even in one of the suite.

Starting on the rooms, let me agree with a few of the previous reviewers that the singles are indeed a tad on the small side, but still comfortable, spotlessly clean, and tastefully designed. The double rooms are a lot more spacious and yet again, the owners have done their best (and succeeded in my view) in making the rooms feel unique and special. However, for some real luxury though, and the “home-away-from-home”-feel, try one of the suites: they're enormous, with a bedroom and a separate enormous sitting area, complete with CD- and DVD-player and a kitchenette. The bathroom was spick and span and looked as if the tiles had just been put in two weeks earlier, such a fresh feel. Throughout all the rooms of the hotel there's WIFI-capabilty at an extra charge of 150 baht a day. For those without a laptop, there's two computers next to the lobby for any internet-junkies (again at 150 baht a day), a wide collection of DVD's and a sizable library of books in the lobby.

Location is wonderful, about a 7 minute walk away from Patpong night market, and I'd say about the same distance to the Skytrain or metro (which I consider to be close by, in contrast to one of the earlier reviewers). Ten minutes walk gets you to one of the oases of green in the concrete jungle of Bangkok: Lumphini Park. There's a wide span of different restaurants, cafes, shopping centres and ATM's in the direct vicinity, but you're far enough to keep you away from the hustle, bustle (and noise) of the busier parts of the district. An almost constant flow of taxi's passes by the hotel and about 90% of them don't need any extra push to put on the meter. Give the tuktuk's a miss, I haven't met one who I didn't consider a scam or cheat, and why give up the comfort of airconditioned cab? A maximum of 80 baht should get you a taxi to just about anywhere in central Bangkok. And for returning to the hotel, just mention Somboon Seafood on Thanon Surawong, as the closest landmark to the hotel

Staff, as mentioned earlier, was highly attentive, courteous, knowledgeable about the surrounding (giving tips on places to eat in the neighbourhood). I really can't compliment them enough. From the very first time I stepped into the hotel and was greeted with a “sawat-dee-ka!”, I knew I'd made a good choice. Very quick to respond to queries by email, and highly considerate of your every need.

Breakfast, included in the price, is served in the hotel restaurant, and contrary to some of the earlier reviewers I have absolutely no complaints: tea or coffee, fresh juice, a selection of fruits (pomello, lychee, grapefruit, pears, I've seen all sorts), toast, eggs in any shape or form you would like and bacon). I always left the breakfast table nicely satiated and satisfied, ready for another day.

So in summary, I can only say that next time I come to Bangkok, I will definitely be staying at La Residence and look forward to seeing the staff here again. I'd have no hesitation at all in recommending this place to anybody seeking a nice place with a more intimate atmosphere than any of the “big-chain” hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank garybarnes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed in this small hotel over the week end. Location is great. The rooms were simple, clean, and generally ok.
I had booked my room through internet, directly with them, and eventhough they were very nice by email, it was not so once we got there.
The stay was ok, convenient, eventhough no so welcoming, and I was rather enoyed when it got to the check out time, and that my bill was twice what was agreed on. They tried to make me pay for transfers which I had not requiered nor used, and they tried to charge me an extra night in a rather cheeky way ( by withholding my deposit, and charging the room as If I had not given one!).
Just thought I should post this up!
Enjoy bangkok, Its a great city!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank babsysingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#360 of 881 in Bangkok
16 reviews
Silom
Lullaby Inn
Lullaby Inn
#284 of 881 in Bangkok
236 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#110 of 881 in Bangkok
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Kokotel Bangkok Surawong
Kokotel Bangkok Surawong
#202 of 881 in Bangkok
124 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
Red Planet Surawong Bangkok
#147 of 881 in Bangkok
533 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#197 of 881 in Bangkok
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Bangkok

Address: 173/8-9 Surawongse Rd | Corner of Soi Anumanrajdhon1, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residence Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Résidence is an intimate, yet hip boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok. Located on Suriwongse Road next to Silom Road, it enjoys easy access to all the major shopping areas and is only minutes away from the Chao Phya River which is the best shortcut to all the famous temples via river taxis. Patpong Road, the notorious entertainment area which converts into a shopping bazaar from 1700 until 0200 is only a few blocks away. Major shopping centers as well as souvenir shops at the Silom Village are also within walking distance.Well known for its beautifully decorated rooms and delicious, authentic Thai food, La Résidence is a rare find in a city full of cliched decor and banal rooms.Each of our twenty six luxurious rooms and suites are equipped with all the amenities and charmingly furnished with lots of little personal touches and each with it's own unique theme.Best of all, rates are very reasonable coupled with impeccable service. Most of the guests are regulars who could afford 5-star hotels, but wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Residence Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
La Residence Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok La Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing