We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, need serious renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First House Bangkok
Ranked #346 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dirty, need serious renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

I would definitly not recommend this hotel.
The only positive point is its location very near (almost inside) Patunam market.

I found the rooms old and dirty, as the rest of the hotel.
Very dificult to get a taxi in this small soi, far from subway.

However reasonable price

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvbackup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    141
    161
    50
    34
See reviews for
80
63
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

There was an ongoing renovation during my stay at hotel and it was chaotic, workmen used one of the 2 lifts for the the renovation work and there was a long wait for oncoming lift. Lobby area and restaurant badly needs a renovation too as its dark, old and lacks ventilation. I was given the newly refurnished room but room smelled of stale cigarette smoke so I requested for change of room. Second room was ok but old noisy aircon and bathroom had very bad smell because of drainage problem so have to keep toilet door closed at all times. No wardrobe in room but only a few hooks on wall. Room is small but clean and bright.

The breakfast is simple but fine for me as I do not have the time to have long lingering breakfast. Hotel is quite a distance to the main road and it was a hassle walking along the small stretch of road with cars and motorbikes coming both ways especially when carrying lots of shopping.

Most of the guests are from Indonesia, Singapore and Malaysia and hardly see westerners. There is a good money changer just behind the hotel but take note that their calculations on rates are different but it is still better than the money changers at the shopping malls.

I don't think I would come back again as there was no free wifi which I need for work. They charge per hour or for a day and it is just not convenient. Management should consider providing free wifi as most hotels do nowadays and anyway most travellers bring along their devices both for work or play so it makes sense to provide such amenities.

Room Tip: Ask to check room for bad smell especially inside toilet before confirming room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarawakJingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is old hotel but very center, if you are a people live with shopping, this hotel is very suitable, it's rate is very reasonable and you can save money for shop......but this is old hotel and the alley is noisy and dirty.

Room Tip: Don't take the corner room, it very noisy with the generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuiHuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

It is located in the heart of the city. But the street is very noisy for whole sale. It is crazy. It is located in front of pantip plaza the electronic world. The hotel is under renovation now so it is extra noisy. There is LCD TV in the room but with only thai canals. The breakfast is poor. There is a little window in the room but it faces a wall.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I've stayed at First House, Bangkok twice over the span of a year. Despite it being a little run down, it is one of the cheapest and the most convenient locations ever! I remember the first time going there (just 2 girls), we were allocated a room at the end of a dimly-lit corridor, and when we viewed the room, the bathroom light was not working and our window faced a view of a run down building. We got so freaked out that we requested a room near the elevator instead which they immediately consented without hesitation. The rooms are huge for 2 people. The staff speak adequate english, and they are more than willing to share travel tips or routes.

Shopping Areas: Stepping out of the hotel- immediately on your left is Pratunam Market where you can buy the cheapest clothes of the latest trends.

A short 5 minute work and across the bridge is the famous Platinum Mall where likewise you can get really cheap clothes and accessories.

Just behind the hotel is the Indra Mall where shopping is fantastic as well! At night, the Indra area has a disco bus selling beer, where you can sit al-fresco style. Also, all the street hawkers come alive at night! From seafood, to fried rice/noodles, anything and everything! Buying supper or dinner back to the hotel is not at all a problem

Food: The Omelette Man and the Fruits Man parks their mobile stall along your walk out to the main road. There is a famous Wan-ton noodle stall along the way too.

Facilities nearby: 7-11 where you can buy shampoo/etc, Money Changer. Cabs are EVERYWHERE when you get out to the main road.

Despite not having a hair dryer, hot water, proper body soap/shampoo, they provide a rather large medium fridge, beds, and a bathtub. I will not recommend this place if you're looking at something luxurious. But the location and price is so worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the elevator. Their corridors are quite dim and a little scary even in the day ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangerinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times as its central to the very good Shopping area for clothing and close to the wonderful IT Centre. The hotel is old and some rooms run down but management are upgrading the hotel which can cause some noise in other rooms during the day. It is not generally a noisy hotel to stay in but some guests never consider others.
The breakfast is a simple buffet and quite satisfactory to start the day off. Staff are very helpful, and the hotel and rooms are clean but towels and some sheets are getting a bit worn. The New Modern rooms have better towels and sheets, but no wardrobe to hang clothes. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms would be an advantage.

Room Tip: The Modern Rooms are the best and New
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

located in a good place in the centre of the market. rooms r pathetic not value for money staff not cooperative.breakfast is the same everyday which is not tolerable if you stay for more then two days.

Room Tip: never go with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Hotel Vista Express
#345 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#361 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#699 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLOW Pratunam
#85 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#329 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First House Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First House Bangkok

Property: First House Bangkok
Address: 14/20-29 New Petchburi Rd | Soi 19, Phyathai District, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First House Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First House Pratunam "HEART OF PRATUNAM" located at the heart of Pratunam where we are just literally one-step away from Pratunam Market. Our hotel location will definitely provide the best experience if you are planning to do a shopping around Pratunam area. Moreover, we are just minutes away (walking distance) from Platinum Mall, Baiyoke Sky, Pantip Plaza, Central World Plaza, BTS station and Airport Train Station. Food is also plenty around our hotel both day and night ranging from local food store to high end food store all within walking distance. That is a convenient of our hotel. Moreover, our modern hotel rooms will allow you to enjoy our hotel even more since we have staffs ready to assist you in whatever way we can 24/7. Our hotel rooms provide Free WiFi, complimentary hotel water, coffee and tea, First Club access, hairdryer etc. while having spacious room, LCD screen with international programs etc. We are committed to provide Enjoyable experience with best Convenient location for your travel purpose at First House hotel Pratunam "Heart Of Pratunam" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First House Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st House Bangkok
First House Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
First Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok First Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing