We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wife's shopping trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First House Bangkok
Ranked #346 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wife's shopping trip”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times as its central to the very good Shopping area for clothing and close to the wonderful IT Centre. The hotel is old and some rooms run down but management are upgrading the hotel which can cause some noise in other rooms during the day. It is not generally a noisy hotel to stay in but some guests never consider others.
The breakfast is a simple buffet and quite satisfactory to start the day off. Staff are very helpful, and the hotel and rooms are clean but towels and some sheets are getting a bit worn. The New Modern rooms have better towels and sheets, but no wardrobe to hang clothes. Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms would be an advantage.

Room Tip: The Modern Rooms are the best and New
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    141
    161
    50
    34
See reviews for
80
63
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

located in a good place in the centre of the market. rooms r pathetic not value for money staff not cooperative.breakfast is the same everyday which is not tolerable if you stay for more then two days.

Room Tip: never go with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

pro:
very very near shopping area (whole sale centres of pratunam located around it) so you can always walk around to shop even to the siam square (where the happening trendy bazaars are - around 20min walk) and to siam paragon.
clean bed though abit lumpy.
clean room
breakfast is ok. nothing to shout about.


cons:
never trust the pictures. somehow its always misleading in thailand when it comes to hotel room pictures. if its less than 3 stars, then seriously dont trust the pictures.
language a slight problem they tend to speak a few vocabs only.
staff are the usual thai customary friendliness, not overly friendly. do not mind the staff at the reception if you are the type that comes in late at night everyday. they tend to be a bit rude. (sleepy i guess).
currently one of the floors is under constructions.
if you get the 2nd block tower and you are constantly shopping get a room change immediately to the 1st block tower. as the 2nd tower connection are by steps. quite a hassle if your hands are full.

conclusion:
a good place to stay if you want to just sleep in it and go shopping the whole morning.

Room Tip: look at it first when you check in, if your not happy you can always change the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel. First you should know it is located on a soi in the Pratu Nam shopping district a short walk from the main road Phetburi. The soi is a collection of old shop-houses. You can walk out of the hotel into the Pratu Nam Shopping stalls. The hotel is a "Jekyll and Hyde" The owners have been remodeling the hotel. So some floors are remodeled and others are not. Fortunately we were on the 8th floor and had a newer room. The bed was OK a mattress on a wood frame. The pillows were hard. No free water with the room. We had booked and paid for the room on line but we still had to place a ฿1,000 deposit. The breakfast was so so. Breakfast was fried rices, fried egg, salad, french toast, noodle. Do yourself a favor and have your coffee from a stall in the soi. There is a 7-11 in the soi where you can get drinks and snacks. It is an easy walk to Central Word, Platinum and the airport link.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrischompoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2011

It was a last min booking & i had no chance to read reviews on it. It was situated in the pratunam market. Doesnt look like a hotel at all. Run down and the area around the hotel looks shady. No toiletries, hair dryer and iron/board. I left some money on my dresser and it was gone when i came back! I ordered room svc n they didnt return my change! Worst, when i check out, they chargd me for ovs call to australia made from my room phone?! I was out sightseeing the whole day so how could i make a call? The people there are cons. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sephiä N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Went to check out rates for a few hotels, either it's too far or too expensive..
This is a great hotel and they will try to change the rooms if you are unhappy with it.

Room Tip: Take a min of 4th floor or higher else it will be noisy once the wholesale started at 5am..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adesmond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

stayed here on my first trip to bangkok ... and this place was close to all the cheap shopping and bargain areas. The room was basic and good value for money. it had a aircon, well equiiped refrigerator and decent linen which was changed every alternate day. The bathroom had a shower and tub attached. The breakfast was complimentary and had a decent spread - pretty well worth the money that one paid for the package room. It was a little inside - in one of the bylanes of the shopping area - and atleast on two occassions my taxi driver had a difficulty in locating the address. The bathroom is also a bit too cramped. I may consider other options on my next trip to BKK. As i was part of the kingfisher holiday package - i had no problems at check in or check-out.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnsroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Hotel Vista Express
#342 of 852 in Bangkok
294 reviews
Siam
Residence Rajtaevee
Residence Rajtaevee
#362 of 852 in Bangkok
253 reviews
Baiyoke Suite Hotel
#701 of 852 in Bangkok
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
GLOW Pratunam
#84 of 852 in Bangkok
1,512 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#322 of 852 in Bangkok
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First House Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First House Bangkok

Property: First House Bangkok
Address: 14/20-29 New Petchburi Rd | Soi 19, Phyathai District, Rajthevee, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First House Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First House Pratunam "HEART OF PRATUNAM" located at the heart of Pratunam where we are just literally one-step away from Pratunam Market. Our hotel location will definitely provide the best experience if you are planning to do a shopping around Pratunam area. Moreover, we are just minutes away (walking distance) from Platinum Mall, Baiyoke Sky, Pantip Plaza, Central World Plaza, BTS station and Airport Train Station. Food is also plenty around our hotel both day and night ranging from local food store to high end food store all within walking distance. That is a convenient of our hotel. Moreover, our modern hotel rooms will allow you to enjoy our hotel even more since we have staffs ready to assist you in whatever way we can 24/7. Our hotel rooms provide Free WiFi, complimentary hotel water, coffee and tea, First Club access, hairdryer etc. while having spacious room, LCD screen with international programs etc. We are committed to provide Enjoyable experience with best Convenient location for your travel purpose at First House hotel Pratunam "Heart Of Pratunam" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First House Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st House Bangkok
First House Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
First Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok First Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing