We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can If not front facing room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Ranked #653 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can If not front facing room”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here twice at either end of an organised trip. The first room was awful Damp, smelly and facing a brick wall. The room was on the back face of the hotel. Facilities in the rooms do not match the initial impression of the foyer. When we returned at the ens of the trip we had a rear room which smelt of urine. It was changed but it indicates the standard! The rooms are small and the beds have a plastic cover. The worst hotel we stayed in in a 5 week trip around SE asia. I reckon we stayed in about 14 different places and this was by far the worst.

Breakfast is poor.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front seem airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller99Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    193
    276
    108
    52
See reviews for
60
145
131
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The rooms are small and not nice. The bathroom was very old and not appealing. The room which was allocated to us smelled of old smoke, but the reception was happy to provide us with another room (which did not smell).

We left early in the morning and did not try the breakfast buffet. After explaining three times to the reception which airport we were going to, they got us a taxi and we went off... to the wrong airport, the driver had been told the wrong airport and we ended up with almost missing our flight and paying for an additional 60min in a taxi + highway fees.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EiB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night as part of a G Adventures group. It must be cheap as I can't think of any other reason why they would chose it except for the fact that it's close to the metro station. Bathroom was tiny,damp and old. Bedrooms were really basic, furniture didn't match and they were charging a fortune just for a bottle of water.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BecG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here 1 night as the last night of our G adventure tour. This seems to be the main point of operations & the standard of the rooms was of poor quality compared to the rest of the trip through Vietnam & Cambodia. The room was very small & felt quite claustrophobic. The bed was awfully uncomfortable - the mattress was covered in plastic which wouldn't usually bother me but our bottom bed sheet didn't fit the bed properly so the sleep was 1/4 on plastic, 3/4 not. Apart from that, the hotel is in a great location - right by the metro making it easy to get around & the staff were friendly enough.

We moved to another hotel the next night for our three day stay & I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while on a trip and expected a unenjoyable stay from the reviews we had read however it wasn't all that bad. The lobby area I agree is glamorous compared to the rooms but still our room was ok it was clean apart from the shower which had definitely seen better days!! The staff weren't over friendly or helpful our wifi didn't work as did none of the 16peoples on our trip we were given a code which worked for a short time but soon said it had expired but staff refused point blank to give another code as we were only allowed one. Ok wifi isn't the most important thing but when you are backpacking and trying to organise further travel it is and to be refused another code even though we were guests was unacceptable! In the end we got another after much deliberation that didn't work! Another thing I found good but a little amusing was staff ringing guests to make sure everything was ok but they only rang the same guest repeatedly that said everything was ok but ignored others! Location for forward travel is good but for exploring Bangkok is poor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1986882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

although this hotel looks glam when you first walk in it stays just there on glam! the room was awful, hair from previous occupants everywhere, the shower poured brown water, the room stunk of cigarette smoke and the air con made it worse. The sheets had stains and was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. upon breakfast in the morning they were running out of items and was not replaced. As a start or/and a finish hotel for G adventures this is not good and was the pits of all hotels stayed at. Upon leaving the next day we went outside and they offered to call a taxi but wanted to charge extortionate prices to use it! we decided to use the underground tube which was 300 baht cheaper. This hotel was also not central to areas needed to go so be warned, 20 mins cab ride to pub street!

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dar5570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I am sorry to say but this was the worst hotel we stayed in during our 3 weeks in Thailand! Our room was absolutely awful, bathroom dirty, fridge was not on, but I wouldn't have anything from it anyway (just look at the pics), staff didn't bother about anything. We would have not booked this hotel ourselves; it was booked for us by G Adventures, with who we booked our 12 days tour around Thailand. I very rarely leave really bad reviews but this one really deserves it, especially that in the morning when we went to have a breakfast we saw cockroaches running between plates with food! I am not joking; I only had coffee, and later realized that my mug was dirty! This hotel is a big NO NO. Only plus of it is that is right next to tube stop. I can’t recommend it as for the awful experience in the dining area. :(

Room Tip: Next to the tube station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Tongtara Hotel
#387 of 858 in Bangkok
226 reviews
The Twin Towers Hotel
#540 of 858 in Bangkok
661 reviews
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#208 of 858 in Bangkok
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Royal Benja Hotel
Royal Benja Hotel
#350 of 858 in Bangkok
393 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#319 of 858 in Bangkok
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Centre Hotel

Property: Bangkok Centre Hotel
Address: 328 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #653 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangkok Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By less than 1 minute walk to Subway (MRT Hualumpong Station) and National Railway Station is just across, you would never find any easier way to reach city of Bangkok and other parts of Thailand than staying at Bangkok Centre Hotel.Just several steps out there, from our hotel, located one of the most famous temples in Thailand. It is known to the world as the “Temple of Biggest Golden Buddha on earth” or we called “Wat Trai Mitr” Additionally, Bangkok Centre Hotel is just extraordinarily closed to China Town (10-15 mins walk) where you can experience many of the best Thai-Chinese foods in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bangkok Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing