We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book here - there are better hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bangkok Centre Hotel
Ranked #587 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and here are the issues surrounding my experience:
1-The reception area is 200% better looking than the rooms the difference will shock you. Rooms are one step above hostel status. I was wrangled in by G Adventures and wanted to not stay here, but they insisted as this is a "premier partner" of theirs and had to stay here (this poor choice in partners sadly reflects on G too)
2-no safes in rooms
3-HUGE communication issue between staff and customers; I heard a few arguments based on staff's poor communications (despite the high amount of English-speaking customers, they can barely speak English)
4-dead cockroaches on the floor leading to my room for days
5-my seizure medication went missing and I almost had to cancel my trip
6-someone else's hair was found on my bathroom floor
7-location is close to the subway, which was good; not a good part of town; not safe enough to walk around at night alone

If quality, cleanliness and safety are not an issue, this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Don't book here. You can find a better hotel on hotels.com. Mercure was amazing!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_H_11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Bangkok Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 676 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was in poor condition and, despite the convenience of being near the train station, not worth the price. Stayed for one night at the end of a G Adventures tour (the hotel seemed to be filled with other G adv. groups). The room was dirty and hotel staff did not offer to change the room, rather sent someone to clean up the dirty floor. Walls were paper thin and you could hear the nearby rooms through the night. Bathroom was mildewy and old, with poor fixtures. Hotel pool was under construction and not usable. Buffet breakfast was poor quality. All in all, for only a few dollars more you could be in a four-star hotel in a better neighborhood. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend the hotel at all.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel was relatively cheap and ok for a couple of nights. Clean overall but somewhat outdated. The location however is amazing, best location ever. Overall tired feel to the hotel and a bit like 1970s... Other than that... ok

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights one before I left for my g adventure and I Carnt say a bad thing about this hotel good service good food really good massage place right next door ... Then spent my last night after spending 30 days on the road it was just good to have me own bed

Room Tip: All rooms are good I stayed in
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hithereall1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was joining a tour group that was departing from the hotel. I booked a Jnr suite for my 2 nights at £70 per night room only. The room had a living area and separate bedroom and was very spacious, but very dated. The bathroom had been upgraded and was very nice with a good power shower but that was the best part of the room . The sofa in the living room was like a woven basket and to be honest I was scared to sit on it incase I went through it! The reception area was very nice and cool which was a bonus. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The pool was closed for maintenance so were unable to use it. Location is great! Next door to the main sub link and the main train station is across the road. The hotel is located in the main china town and is beautiful to walk through at night time or there was always tuc tuc drivers at the entrance to take you where ever you needed. I would stay here again for location purposes but I think you could get a better standard of room else where for that price .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Bed was clean, room was small but comfortable but the bathroom was horrible. There was mold everywhere and you knew both from the sound and the smell when someone upstairs was using the toilet. The WI-FI is painfully slow, has patchy coverage and is extortionately expensive. The breakfast is poor compared to most of the hotels I've stayed at in SE asia - we also suspect it made a few of our group ill. Oh and the pool is out of action as of July 2013.

There are a number of other hotels near by that offer a better service for the same or lower price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil_n_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

As said by others, the hotel is a fine starting point for G Adventures (and similar) tours. The location isnt great, with not too much in walking distance. A couple of free bottled waters in the room, free WIFI if you are there with G Adventures, and an onsite restaurant. The restaurant food was mediocre, and priced high compared to local options, but for the convenience it wasnt bad. In some of the rooms the beds were really hard. The sun is only on the pool until about 1:30 in the afternoon, so not the best if you want to tan.
Hotel staff were relatively helpful and friendly.
Wouldnt be my first choice for exploring Bangkok, but as part of a tour its a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Tongtara Hotel
#389 of 881 in Bangkok
234 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal Benja Hotel
Royal Benja Hotel
#384 of 881 in Bangkok
398 reviews
The Twin Towers Hotel
#498 of 881 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Narai Hotel
Narai Hotel
#208 of 881 in Bangkok
1,403 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Nasa Vegas Hotel
#707 of 881 in Bangkok
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangkok Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangkok Centre Hotel

Address: 328 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $42 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bangkok Centre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By less than 1 minute walk to Subway (MRT Hualumpong Station) and National Railway Station is just across, you would never find any easier way to reach city of Bangkok and other parts of Thailand than staying at Bangkok Centre Hotel.Just several steps out there, from our hotel, located one of the most famous temples in Thailand. It is known to the world as the “Temple of Biggest Golden Buddha on earth” or we called “Wat Trai Mitr” Additionally, Bangkok Centre Hotel is just extraordinarily closed to China Town (10-15 mins walk) where you can experience many of the best Thai-Chinese foods in Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bangkok Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing