We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but require good Maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
President Solitaire
Ranked #385 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice rooms but require good Maintenance”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I went with my family under some hot deal scheme......which was good.....

I requested for a extra bed which was already included in hot deal....and it looked like a hospital bed of some 3rd class hospital......it was fold able bed which had annoying voices while you turn sides.......

At the time of check in...on presenting the hot deal detail mail....she still confirmed with the reservation staff which she should have known earlier.....what if reservation staff wasn't there at last night.....

It is a good 10 minute walk to the main road and far from all the malls like MBK etc.......however hotel do provide tuk tuk till the main road- BTS station but obviously they cant come to pick you up when you are tired of shopping and reach BTS station.......

Please be careful while taking a bike ride...cause I saw somebody slipping and was flat on the ground from the bike at the slope of the hotel porch......

Buffet breakfast was amazing....spread was good.

An old property which needs maintenance and refurbishment. I saw spider webs in the room.

Room Tip: All the suite rooms are good with skyscrapers view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritz1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    326
    173
    77
    61
See reviews for
132
329
191
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at the president solitaire on several occasions over the past 9 years, but have decided not to stay there this year as we felt that last time we were there the positives were starting to outweigh the negatives and with are other newer hotels a little closer to the BTS we felt it was time for a change. Having said that, we always liked the service and ambiance of the hotel, but must concur with other reviewers, that some rooms are in need of an upgrade. Some of the club rooms have been upgraded and are good value, especially considering the amount of space you get.

We like the Sukhumvit location, though President Solitaire is a bit of a trek down soi 11, but you can get a hotel Tuk Tuk to Robinsons if it's available, however in the heat it's a long 10 - 15 minutes walking back from the BTS. Not a deal breaker by any means but it depends what your schedule is during your stay, and we really like the bars and livelyness of soi 11 so the location can be viewed as a positive.

If you get a good deal on a club room it's worth giving it a go, the rooms are large and pool is nice, but we found the packed breakfast room hard work on the last two visits. The pool area is nice and we have never found it crowded. A good pool is a big plus for us as we like somewhere to relax after a hot day trawling around Bangkok.

The spa at the hotel is lovely. We like to think of ourselves are connoisseurs of nice spas and recommend a trip here. One of the best facials in Bangkok.

Our short-list of hotels this time included President Solitaire, but it was beaten on quality in the end and not price or value for money. If they do a full refurbishment we may well come back in a year or so, but with so many options that are newer, fresher or just better maintained, we felt we couldn't book this time.

Room Tip: Go for a refurbished Club room on a club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stives4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khanom, Thailand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed the massive space 80m2 offered to us with the Penthouse Suite,understand however that you should book the bigger room size.Nothing to complain about the room at all huge bed , must be bigger than King Size ! 42 inch LED flatscreen TV , Lovely bathroom & Kitchen. The free Tuk Tuk to the BTS Nana and Asok is very useful.Breakfast was ok but not top quality at all. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarloKunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here recently for a couple of days before heading down to Hua Hin for a longer break. Its an older hotel and we had two different rooms over a three nights. The first room was good for the price but the second room we had (room 104) is to be avoided at all costs. It is apparent that water has run out of the bathroom at some stage and into the bedroom and living area which has lifted the floor boards. This has left raised areas with floor nails and other sharp areas exposed where I cut my toe on one of the exposed nails. Instead of trying to repair the floor the hotel has simply placed a floor rug over the worst affected area of the floor.

Free wifi and decent breakfast buffet was a bonus.

Otherwise the location is great being at the more quiet end of Suk 11 and easy access to the best street in Bangkok and all its great restaurants and bars.. The BTS Skyrail (Nana Station) is the other end of Suk 11 which is handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in President Solitaire Hotel & Spa July 20th for 3 Nights. My wife and myself really enjoyed our stay. Good internet connection free, nice breakfast, good location, nice staff. lovely room. Its not a 5 star hotel but still a nice hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

i have to agree with the recent reviews i have read on TA. This ,i can most comfortably state, is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I have experienced some doozies. What attracted me to the place was the huge discount that Agoda offered...£200+ to £46 for their "platinum" suite. As we were travelling in the off season, and booking fairly late, it was not unreasonable to expect such a discount, but God, did we overpay for it. As stated by the other reviewers, the room is huge, bedroom, hallway, living room and kitchenette, + bathroom, That is all that is good because i would have happily stayed in a shoebox if i had the opportunity after being there. It is very old...paint peeling off from the walls, damp around the windows, and repairs to the bathtub that appeared to have been done by a four year old. The smell we first encountered seemed to be smoke which considering we were on a non smoking floor was wrong...when we complained they came to spray it ,which of course lasted for only a short time...the smell then slowly became the smell of death... horrendous. The bed was riddled with bed bugs...I have never been bitten so much. The TV was terrible , with only a few channels working and distorted sound. They changed the TV but the 1988 model was not much better. Not only bed bugs but ants everywhere too, which considering there was no food in there was a bit surprising. Upon consulting the local taxi drivers, we got a bit of the story about the place...It seems it used to be apartments, but there was a fire which resulted in some deaths...They told us that everyone who went there complained, and we were not alone in our feelings about the place.
The real shocker was the smell when we entered the lobby... A combo of horrendous Body odour and death... I kid you not. When we asked the front desk staff what the smell was, the answer was "what smell?"....I sat next to another guest who was checking out after one night who asked the smae question...Dead pan reply was the same as ours. Maybe the staff are immune to it, but the staff in general were terrible , unsmiling and almost rude...Very un Thai. Special mention has to go to the room and maid service.. Most days they never came to clean...when they did, they didnt leave new towels or refill the bath gel and shampoo. When we asked for replacements, they never came. Considering the size of the room , it would not be unrealistic to expect that 2 people would be sharing it, yet there was only 1 robe and 1 pair of slippers... When we asked for more.. none came.
The water pressure was the final hurrah for the room..well.. when i say pressure, I am being generous. it was a trickle. it took at least 10 mins to warm up, which was a bit ironic as the sign they left in the room was telling us that flushing the toilet less saves water....just farcial.
All I can say is please please please dont go there. Agoda need to really inspect these sort of places. How dare they try to suggest this is a £200 a night hotel. In Thailand that money buys you 5* ++ . This is not even 1*
I dont often make comments about hotels...I am driven to do so because this place needs to be shut down.... RIGHT NOW. Even if you get a deal for £10 you will regret it I promise you.

Room Tip: Do not go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Captain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compass H, Manager at President Solitaire, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Captain B,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are sorry to read of the number of service failures that you and your wife experienced during your stay with us and would like to offer our sincere apologies to you and your wife.

We have taken your comments raised very seriously and do our best to look into the service failures you experienced to ensure immediate improvement are made.

Best Regards,
Mike Herbosa
eMarketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A worn out and damaged property laid in the heart of Bangkok City is sufficient for ruin your holiday, which on top is administered by one of the most hopeless, ruthless and inefficient staff and set of so called managers. Nothing seemed to be right there... the internet was not working the moment we checked in and one had no access to his mails. The rooms were worn our and stinking. Seemed that the corridor carpets just outside your room were never dusted, the window panes were all dirty with stains, the bed in the rooms with flat springs with nothing to support your spine.

We, as a family, traveling with 2 young kids, had a bad experience, but were saved as because we had this rare opportunity to stay in the 3rd class hotel only for 1 day. We shifted to other hotel immediately the next day so that the damage to the holiday could be contained.

The breakfast was the most concerning factor of the lot. I understand that being in Thailand, you may not expect to have the highest level of culinary variety, but the food they served was not even up to the acceptable standards. So the question of improvement is out of context.

Never to stay in this hotel, even if provided free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Piyush C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Mercure Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
Mercure Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
#252 of 858 in Bangkok
76 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand President
Grand President
#694 of 858 in Bangkok
1,615 reviews
Sukhumvit
Fraser Suites Sukhumvit
Fraser Suites Sukhumvit
#78 of 858 in Bangkok
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sukhumvit 11
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Ramada D MA Bangkok
#567 of 858 in Bangkok
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Solitaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Solitaire

Property: President Solitaire
Address: 75 / 23 Sukhumvit Soi 11, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#224 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — President Solitaire 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in one of the hippest streets in Bangkok is the all-suite President Solitaire Hotel, offering all conveniences and comforts of living. Large suites and penthouses to relax and feel at home, a spa with sumptuous feel-good treatments, fine food in the hotel restaurant or suite, the perpetual energy of Bangkok's Sukhumvit Soi 11 with its exciting restaurants and chic nightclubs only minutes away. Each of the 126 suites and 8 penthouses has a spacious living area, a well-equipped kitchenette, and all the amenities to make a leisure or business trip a real pleasure. The BTS Skytrain Nana station and MRT Sukhumvit station are within easy walking distance, and we also provide a free tuk-tuk shuttle to the stations and to the famed Terminal 21. Central Embassy, Siam Paragon and CentralWorld, along with the renowned Bumrungrad International Hospital, and Bangkok's famous historic sights are all within easy traveling distance of President Solitaire Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Solitaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Solitaire Hotel And Spa
President Solitaire Hotel Bangkok
President Solitaire Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing