We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury and calm in the middle of a crazy city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of luxury and calm in the middle of a crazy city...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I absolutely loved everything about this hotel - from the beautiful, friendly staff to the mouth-dropping breakfast spread - it really was a perfect stay in a perfect hotel.

We had a room overlooking the river and it was lovely sitting out on our balcony soaking in the hustle and bustle of the busy river. The hotel itself is the epitome of elegant luxury and the room reflected this. Every member of staff we met on our stay was so friendly and very attentive - a complete credit to the hotel. The pool side massage was just what was needed after a full day's sight-seeing in Bangkok - one of the best massages I have ever had (although somewhat hard at times!). The beauty facilities offered were also fantastic - I can especially recommend the pedicure after a few days on your feet in this city!!

We ate in the restaurant a few times and the food was just delicious. One night we went to the Banyan Tree and ate in their Vertigo Restaurant which was a fantastic experience and one I'd highly recommend (unless you have a fear of heights!) Eating dinner in an open air restaurant 60 floors above the streets of Bangkok is an experience not to be missed! When we were booking our trip we were torn between the Banyan Tree and the Shangri La and I'm so pleased we opted for the Shangri La, as we found that the Banyan Tree had a much more corporate, business feel to it.

We took the water taxi to visit the Grand Palace and enjoyed the ride up the river as much as the tour of the palace. It's a great way to see things and the breeze provided much welcome relief from the blazing sun! We also took a Tuk Tuk to Pat Pong which we loved - but this is definitely not for the faint hearted! Although we giggled all the way there and back, there were a few heart-stopping traffic moments! And Pat Pong is just something else - and great for realistic looking designer bargains!!

It was great to experience everything Bangkok has to offer and the one thing that was constant wherever we went, was the friendliness of the people. They are such a credit to the city and just so welcoming.

Bangkok is a great city to visit but not one that I would rush back to. So if you're planning a visit, the Shangri La is the perfect place to stay when you're here - an oasis of luxury and calm in the middle of the noisy, dirty craziness that is Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Think-Out-Loud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,905
    1,447
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,557
3,672
465
977
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Overall: a lovely 5 star experience in the heart of Bangkok.
Service: top notch service from everyone - could not be faulted. Charming and professional. In my view this is an area in which Shangri-la particularly excels.
Rooms: we stayed in a deluxe balcony room in the Krungthep wing for 10 nights. The rooms are very pleasant and the balcony overlooking the river is great. The decor could do with some updating (as could be said for the foyer). It was clean and in good shape (with a couple of minor wear and tear issues) but looks slightly dated. By contrast the cheaper Shangri-la wing has mostly completed a makeover and looks fantastic. Our room was on the 9th floor and very quiet with the balcony door shut even though it was relatively close to the road. The beds are extremely comfortable.
Location: I would think the best in Bangkok - right at a sky train stop and the main ferry stop. Other hotels may say that they are close to the sky train but this is right next to it. We used the sky train many times during our stay - it's a great way to get around - and also caught a number of ferries. The location made transport a breeze.
Facilities: generally excellent. Very good lounge in the Krungthep wing. The pools were great although we didn't see a need to swim in the main pool as the Krungthep pool is lovely and right on the river. The only meals we had at the hotel were breakfast, which was good. Although we had Internet access throughout the hotel it is wireless only in the public areas which meant that an iPad could not be used in the room (nor for that matter any Apple computer as even with a USB port the hotel's wired system is not compatible with Apple).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Hotel has a wonderful ambiance. Rooms were spacious, plush with all the amenities.
Breakfast was the best.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank JenniferR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Even if you leave home with great expectations about Shangri-La Bangkok you will always be astonished when you realize that what you can get there is even more than excellence. From brand new 7series BMW waiting for you just outside Bangkok international airport until check out it will be an amazing experience to stay at Shangri-la Bangkok. We stayed 3 nights at Krungthep wing: all the staff is fully dedicated to you and their hard job to make you feel home is really impressive and it makes you always feel safe and relax about any need you may have. Saying that lobby, gardens, pools rooms etc are amazing is something that is not enough: you have to be there your self to really appreciated how far they can go with excellence!! Moreover the location of the hotel is really suitable for tourists like us that were looking for a day by day and self managed visit of Bankok: just out of the lobby you can find the peer for public/private boat transportation on Chao Phraya river as well as the metro station of Sapah Taksin from which you easily access the most well places in Bangkok. More than luxury and amenities, which are anyway astonishing, what really impressed us is that while you get back in the lobby from a busy day in the city, noise, traffic, pollution, warmness, etc suddenly disappear, and you will find your self in a safe harbour of peace backed by to tier services and facilities.

Our room was at the right corner (facing Chao Phraya river), I suggest you to stay, if possible on this side because sightsee is better and balcony is oversized. The overall appearance of the room reminds you the essence of luxury with looking old fashion. Eevrthing is in the right place and the beautiful roof chandelier completes an amazing atmosphere. The bathroom is very big, with beautiful marble all around with separated tub and shower (very big actually): wc and bidet are in a separate area.

It is really worthy to try Salathip restaurant both for its very nice and flavoured cuisine and for its beautiful location along the river in an old Thai style architecture.

What to say then…even if you are not new tot 5stars luxury hotel experience Shangri-La and its people will definitely remain in your mind and will exceed your expectation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnini00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I staid at the Krungthep Wing for 3 times in one month time.
All together for 7 nights.
This was the best experience I ever had in a hotel
The staff is the best!!!! So helpfull and sweet.
The rooms are not big but they are really nice. Bathroom is marvelous.
Bed is the best bed I ever slept in. And the biggest bed I ever slept in.
The last time I staid in a suite and that was the best!
Breakfast is really nice but if you want more choice you go to the buffet at the main building.
During the day drinks and sandwiches at the pool.
Nice cocktail hour including a nice little buffet with sushi and good cheese.
High tea is very nice.

I really felt sad leaving the hotel for the last time.....hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We treated ourselves to a night stay in the Shangri-La Bangkok and we weren't disappointed. We had a room with a view over the river which is was wonderful. The hotel itself is centrally located to see the sights and luxurious enough to help you forget that you are in a very busy city. It is expensive so don't book a room if you are overly concerned about spending your well earned money on yourself for a few days! The restaurants in the hotel are very good, the dinner buffet in Next 2 is excellent. We also did an evening dinner crusie on the hotel's boat which was super!!We used bangkokdaytours.com to give us a tour at the Bridge over the river Kwai. We went to Hellfire pass too which was very enjoyable. The Grand Palace is also worth a visit and make sure you read the Lonely Planet on Bangkok which will give you the low down on Bangkok and it's sights. The tourist boat and skytrain are easy to use and worth the effort. Enjoy the Shangri-La and all it has to offer!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCelticTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

After three weeks of "grass roots" group tours through Vietnam and Cambodia, my friend and I decided to treat ourselves to a room in the Horizon Club - it was perfect, we loved every bit of it (u must order something from the room service menu, that is an experience in itself and nothing like Aussie room service!!) Would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing