We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Pure Luxury....Beautiful on the river location. Great Pool......................

Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
2  Thank CristinaA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,881 - 5,887 of 8,623 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

Shangri-La Bangkok is one of the finest big hotels you can find on this planet.
The best experience is the staff- extremely friendly and helpful- you feel pampered all the time. Organization and training of staff are top-notch otherwise in a hotel of this size would be impossible to guarantee the very high standard.
Location is excellent- the skytrain nearby and directly on the river Chao-Praya- so for many destinations you can avoid the horrible trafic chaos on roads. It is a rare combination of big metropolis hotel and a resort as it is so quiet and has a big pool in tropical surroundings.
The rooms are not all up-to-date but currently under refurbishment- yet there is everything you might want. extremely positive: high-speed internet use is free! on the room you find a cable to connect with your PC.
Among the restaurants Salathip Thai restaurant provides a memorable riverside dining experience. We did not try the chinese restaurant.
The recent changes in Angelini Italian restaurant follow more a fashion trend than anything else. Tables are too big creating distance between the diners and together with offered live music a conversation is next to impossible. The wine list in the restaurants has improved a bit over time but is still far away from being remarkable- most wines are wood-loaded bottles from Australia.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Krunthep Wing for 4 nights and were looked after very well by the Guest relations manager Ninnet, Concierges Nattakorn, Chalotorn, and receptionists Woraporn and Susarrada. They were very efficient and hardworking and always anxious to help. The butlers were excellent. The K wing is extremely convenient for the Skytrain and the rooms although close to the bridge are sound proofed. Breakfast was more than sufficient and snacks at the lounge very welcome. We recommend taking the package which includes the butler, lounge etc. We usually stay in the Peninsula or Hilton but found the Shangrila more than met all our requirements. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. There is everything we need at the Krungthep wing and we will happily stay there again. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikeyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed at 5 top rated hotels during our recent 24 day holiday and the Shangri La held its own against the Hong Kong Intercontinental, the Singapore InterContinental, the Hilton Beijing and the Opposite House in Beijing. It was very different from the other hotels but it was superior to the other hotels in the included breakfast and cocktail hour. If there is a downside, it is its location which can be difficult to get to because of traffic. While you can walk to the markets outside of its doors, it can take forever to get to the other side of the river during rush hour. The views from the rooms are lovely and the rooms are a very good size. Room amenities are L'Occitane and they were repleshished freely. Toothpaste/brushes, combs, razors were also provided. Soft drinks were also provided from the minibar. Additionally, each evening the butleress delivered a free drink and hors d'hoevres. The lobby is very large and elegantly designed, but very quiet without having a business feeling. Attached to the lobby, is a lounge where breakfast and cocktails are served. Both were among the best I have ever had at any hotel. The breakfast was not just a buffet, but also included a cooked breakfast. There was a pool outside near the river. The Thai restaurant was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank berniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

This hotel is dated to to point of being dirty and tacky. There is a renovation in progress which just makes it a noisy mess. The architecture is not interesting and they should have just built a new hotel. Bangkok has so many other options - there is no point wasting money at this hotel. This is not a luxury five star hotel - especially by Bangkok standards.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Construction noise. Jackhammers could be heard from other rooms. Pool is unsafe, I have seen a person falling when trying to get out. Food quality went down as prices were increased.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chnachxese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at the Kronthip Wing. The room was comfortable, with a view of the river, but perhaps a tad too close to the highway. Nice to have a butler service, and our butler made sure that there were cookies and fruit in the room. Nice!Extra perks like High Tea and Happy Hour were great. The staff were friendly, and the dinner buffet, superb. Our only major dissapointment was the Salathip restaurant, where the Thai food we had was tasteless. We enjoy Thai cuisine, but not at this restaurant. The Skytrain was easy to get to, so going shopping was no problem. Also, I would definietly recommend the spa, Chi.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viv_leejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 889 in Bangkok
4,557 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 889 in Bangkok
6,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $181 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing