We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Horizon Premier Room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Horizon Premier Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Just came back from spending 4 nights with husband and teenage daughter in a Horizon Premier Room (pre paid - better rate). Room was excellent with separate dressing room, large bathroom, separate area for daughter to sleep (although not fully closed from our area). Service was exceptional! Drinks in Horizon Club Room fantastic each evening.
Highly recommended!! P.S. came across a good little Italian restaurant 2 minute walk from hotel-( on the way to Silom road ) Mazzoro. It also service good Thai food, about $15 aus dollars per person.
We also thought the breakfast which we had in the riverside restaurant was the best we have seen (better than last year at Oriental). They had everything you could imagine include homemade frozen sorbet / icecream , pastries baking whilst you eat etc.
You are also a 10 minute walk away from Lebua Tower sky bar which is great for a drink with a view.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melbdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,830
    1,430
    345
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,536
3,627
451
966
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,817)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Well what can I say about this hotel except for wonderful:-)
The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff are second to none and the location on the river is perfect. Both my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed at stay in the Krungtherp Wing. Our room overlooked the gardens and the Chao Phraya River. We had a personal butler who was truely lovel. The complimentary breakfast was great as, was afternoon tea and, the inclusive cocktails and canapés in the evening were fab too. There are several restaurants in the hotel, all of which are good, but you can also enjoy a less formal bar snack in the lobby areas. Sunday brunch is a happy event which should not be missed. The skytrain and river boad are located just at the side of the hotel only a few minutes walk. We didn't use the skytrain but we did enjoy many trips ion the river boat. You must remember that it is a working river and some of the sights are not for the faint hearted but nonetheless it is a good experience. Althought we stayed in the Krungthrep wing we did go over to the Shangri-la wing on several occassions and we have to say we enjoyed this wing of the hotel every bit as much as the Krungthrep wing (although we did enjoy the private pool area in our wing)!! The spa treatments are excellent - well what else would you expect in a hotel of this standard.
The staff can not be faulted. They were excellent truely professional and always friendly, courteous, well informed and willing to help.

In summary I would say that we were not really fussed on Bangkok itself but we loved the Shangri la so much that we are thinking of returning just to enjoy the hote.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindaamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

this is a very late review... i visited the shangri la this past may for a bachelorette party. every single staff member took personal interest and made our stay phenomenal!!! their concierge was superb! we felt safe whenever we called for a taxi, the hotel would give us a copy of their cab # before we hired the cab... and they honestly cared for our safety!! a bit pricy for a hotel in bangkok... but considering a 5 star hotel with their kind of service anywhere else would cost so much more! i cant wait to stay here again!
breakfast buffet in the main building is awesome! we stayed in the krungthep wing... its a bit of a walk but totally worth it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aqu8rius39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed in the Krungthep wing, and wow what an amazing hotel in an amazing city. Our room was gorgeous - massive bed and huge bathroom. Also a big balcony with gorgeous views across the river. A truelly lovely hotel, food was immense and staff were so lovely. Would definately recommend this hotel. lovely pool with really comfortable pool beds.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Specky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We have stayed at the Shangri-la on several occasions over the past five years and we have always had a fantastic time there. The location is second to none, with lovely gardens next to the river and great swimming pools. The little streets behind the hotel are lined with foodstalls and market stalls and you get a taste of the real Bangkok just stepping out of the door. The best place to stay is the Krungthep wing which has balconies where you can sit out and watch the boats. These rooms are luxurious with fantastic marble bathrooms, wonderful beds and every creature comfort you might wish for. If you get the full package it includes breakfast and unilimited cocktails in the Riverside Lounge which are well worth having. The room rate is good value, but we found the food very expensive and the minibar prohibitive. We ended up eating at one or other of the restaurants nearby which are excellent and reasonably priced. We also stocked up in 7/11 to prevent raiding the minibar. The service is friendly and attentive, and generally I could not recommend this hotel too highly. I would not want to stay anywhere else in Bangkok!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JANWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

This was our first stay in an Asian luxury hotel and we LOVED it. Forget everything else: Service is king at the Shangri-La and the place is absolutely gorgeous from the gardens, the building architectures and the rooms: from the booking all the way to our departure flight at the airport we were pampered.... The hotel was supposed to be under extensive renovation, construction, rubble and noise but we never heard or felt a thing. From the reception to the bedrooms, the place was squeeky clean (you could lie on the floor and lick it). Everyone was very efficient and friendly: we were offered the best rates and deals for our extended party (including young couples, older couples and young children). The restaurants in the hotel are excellent and catered to all tastes (from the exotic adventurous to contiental/international). Dare to say you canot find anything interesting on the 15+ page room service menu. The hotels caters to virtually everything Bangkok can offer. Take advantage of the evening cruise on the Shangri-La boat. Kids loved the short day cruise. Don't forget the ground level shops which offer excellent quality (at decent prices) products and tailor suits. The concierge will find anything that exists in Bangkok for you. Very friendly and polite staff. I almost gravely forgot to mention the spa. CHI is IT. Indulge and pay later.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evelynegomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Wow did we have a blast at the Shangri-la! Stayed here Sept. 5th - Sept.10th and we were spoiled!From the moment we were collected at the airport, till the moment we were brought back, we had the most luxury and enjoyable stay, we've ever had. We were met by a charming lady in the lobby with beautiful bracelets made out of real jasmine flowers and roses. We were escorted to our room at the Krunthep wing, and we're spoiled by our butler Betty. She's the best! She unpacked our luggage and saw to our needs, without us even having to ask! All the benefits we enjoyed in this wing were so wonderful. We had a great package deal with free coffee-tea in the lounge as cocktails and wine. The food in Next2 was faboulous! We could choose whether we wanted our breakfast in the Krunghtep lounge or by the riverside at Next2.
Never noticed anything of the hotel being refurbished as we were there. Their service and knowledge of everything we enjoyed thoroughly! We will be back at this TOP location at the river!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErinTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing