We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay but very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #17 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I stayed in the Shangri-La in Bangkok with my husband for one night to break our long haul travel.

We arrived in the late evening tired, hungry and met by torrential rain however we received the warmest welcome from the hotel team and check in was effortless. Our room was over looking the river, which was a magnificent view at night and further complimented by the fact that it was the Queens birthday and there were celebrations and fireworks all around it. The rooms were large, luxurious and had excellent technology available.

We didn't avail of it, opting for a tuk tuk instead, but there were water boats that could take you between the different hotels, bars and restaurants which the hotel were happy to arrange.

The gym is a wonderfully bright, long wrap around room with brand new CV, resistance and free weight equipment, all with personal digital tv's and sound systems.

As we left early the next morning we did not get to enjoy the best the hotel had to offer but we would certainly return to the Shangri La if we were travelling through Bangkok again.

On a further note, I highly praise the house keeping and management, We left a brand new pair of sunglasses, still in their box, which we had bought in Abu Dhabi airport on the way out, in the room. The hotel held the glasses for us for three weeks until another family member was passing through.

Room Tip: Make sure to opt for a river view room
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,404)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,263 - 3,269 of 8,404 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

Shangri-La far exceeded our expectations. The pictures on the website serves no justice. Every square foot of this magnificent hotel is luxurious and well-appointed. Staff caters to your every need!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Rodney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week on our honeymoon and i cant find a single fault! They staff, rooms, food, location - all were just impeccable!

We had a deluxe room in the Krungthrep wing which had the added extras which made the stay even more enjoyable!

Highly recommended!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

There is something special at the Shangri-La Bangkok. The river location gives some splendid views and great settings for the pool and the Salathip restaurant. Service is 5 star. We ate in Next2 (buffet style) Salathip (Thai-on the river), Shang Palace (chinese) and Angelini (Italian) and all were good. The room was all we could hope for. Taxis to the city centre and sights are cheap and plentiful

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MijasEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Amazing hotel. The ambience, décor and service standards were very high. Staff were exceptional, very welcoming and helpful. Location wise, it is close to other amenities such as Sky train and the River and you can hop onto a boat and enjoy the historical sights and use it as transport to and from places. We have stayed in the Shangri la hotel in other countries and this is one of the best ones.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river, lovely view day and night
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend. Beautiful suite suitable for family with two young children. Great views over the harbour. A really nice breakfast with friendly and helpful staff who feed the fish for our daughters. It was an attraction itself.
Only con would be the location, which seemed to be a couple of blocks from anything. Would definitely stay there whenever I am in Bangkok - good value and luxury.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Mari_Star_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Wonderful hotel on the river. I have stayed here several times and it has always been very nice. The location is good and easy there is access to the city center with the monorail that stops close by. Business floor is great with its own lounge serving breakfast and a happy hour in the late afternoon. Rooms a bit old in fashion but nice and clean. Lobby area bar with live music nice. Good shopping close to the hotel within walking distance. The hotel was very helpful when I wanted to arrange a cocktail reception.

Room Tip: Get a room with river view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Petri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 881 in Bangkok
4,432 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $163 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing