We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A great return”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

What turned out from a four day stay turned into a 7 day stay for reasons that are unimportant to this review. Despite our travel hiccups, the staff at the Shangri-La were absolutely magnificent and could not have been more helpful. From the moment one enters the hotel and breathes in the glorious aroma and feels the welcoming coolness one feels on holiday. The atmosphere is just so conducive to having a relaxing time. We were given a fabulous room by the brilliantly efficient Man at reception and taken through the various upgrade options. We decided to upgrade to the Horizon Club (top 4 floors) which afforded us the benefits of the Horizon Club Lounge. This includes beverages, breakfast, afternoon tea and happy hour. During the happy hour they serve all manner of drinks both alcoholic and non-alcoholic, fabulous warm food from a mini buffet along with cold meats, salads and beautifully made desserts. If you are lucky the magnificent Pae will help you but, truly, any of the staff are more than competent. Guests can also check out at the desk at the lounge, use the computers (3 of them - two Apple and 1 Windows), printers, scanners and fax. There is WiFi throughout the hotel at no charge. Previously we had stayed in the Krungthep wing, which was closed for now until September 1st. It is quieter there and a little older but has a much better swimming pool, so if swimming is your thing rather use the pool on that side. It is about an hour from the airport. A taxi costs TBH 450 ($15) and is really easy to get from the airport. Commuting is really easy as the hotel is situated alongside a Sky Train station (Taksim) and a River Taxi pier. Do make use of both but the Sky Train is especially handy for getting into the city to visit the awesome shopping centres at Siam.

The success of any business is often measured by returning customers. We cannot wait to return for the 3rd time. A highly recommended establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in "the 20's", ie room 1820 etc for the best river view. It is magnific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotgif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,084
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,755
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wonderful location next to the river and close to the river bus stop and the Skytrain. We had a river view room which gave excellent views. All the staff were very friendly and provided a very high standard of service. We stayed there on vacation for 5 nights and it was excellent value when compared to The Oriental or The Peninsular. Good buffet breakfast and we also had a lovely dinner in the Thai restaurant. Gym facilities and pool were to a high standard. Reliable free wifi throughout the hotel. We will return here next time in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moretona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enricio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We are a family of four with two girls aged 5 and 9.

This was our second visit to the shangri la and if we ever visit Bangkok again we will be staying here.

Everything is quality from the lobby/reception to the rooms.

The staff are extremely friendly and can't do enough to help.

Well done the shangri la Bangkok!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank enricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This was the 6th time we have stayed at the Shangri La hotel in Bangkok and it seems to get better each time. The staff are superb and treated us like their extended family members. Many hotels have 5 stars; this one deserves all 5 of them, easily! It is simply one of the best in the world. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is luxury in every detail and perfectly located on the river side and 10 minutes to the market crowded area of Siam paragon mall; and easy access to the sky-train station with internal corridor directly from the hotel to the station, the breakfast variety is fit for all test and quality is superb.
the only shortage is Muslim menu although they have perfectly and smartly distinguished between non Muslim food by adding the pig picture next to each food with pork contain

Also the toilet is without side shower for Muslim consideration

My only recommendation is not to allow the front counter take pre-authorization amount from your credit card to avoid double charging of your room cost upon departure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in Bangkok and spent 2 nights at Shangri-La Hotel to get away from Bangkok hustle and bustle and to just relax and enjoy hotel facility. Situated along Chao Phraya River and not in close proximity of busy street the hotel is an excellent choice. We stayed at Shangri-La Wing Executive Suite which have access to Horizon Club where we spent most of our afternoon enjoying Bangkok city and Chao Phraya river views. The room is beautiful and has all facilities that we needed. Loved the tea set! The in room dining serves wonderful array of local cuisines and a selection from hotel's restaurant which include Angelini's, one of the best Italian restaurant in Bangkok hence we did not bother to eat out. Thank you to the ladies at Horizon Club they cater our needs wonderfully and attentively, our young son especially love Phee Golf.

My only comment is the sofa at the suite living room, it needs to be reconditioned. It feels full with dust and smells of dusts. The seat fabric needs to be replaced it looks dirty and worn out.
Other than that everything is perfect. Oh! Walk in closet is far separated from bedroom and bathroom. Minor inconvenience.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to Horizon Club and Chao Phraya river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTcherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLBK_Shangrilabkk, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear AmandaTcherina,

Thank you for choosing Shangr-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We are thrill to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your comments on the furniture are taken in a constructive manner and effort is being made by those responsible to ensure that upkeep are being met. Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement at ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Third time we have stayed in this hotel and never been disappointed.You are well looked after in this hotel nothing is a problem.Stayed in the Krungthep wing well worth the upgrade.Free breakfast, daily afternoon tea, Drinks/cocktails and canapés for 2 hours in evening. Rooms are in great condition with a balcony overlooking the river. It takes about 2 mins to walk to the sky train which is great for cutting out the hassle of traffic congestion in Bangkok(5-10mins to night market or Siam square)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BDuncanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing