We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay....although not as grand as it once was”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great stay....although not as grand as it once was”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have stayed at Shangri La several times over the years and it was very opulent and grand years ago, and it is sad to report that it seemed a little tired once inside, dirty carpets, worn walls etc.

Saying that service at front desk was very good. We stayed in the Horizon Club. We felt that the room wasn't anything special, it needs a bit of TLC. The Club lounge was okay. Again, felt more casual than grand as we remembered it.

The shower tray kept filling up which meant I had to get out quick and the taps were leaking to give you an idea.

We had a lovely gesture of chocolates from the manager to congratulate us on our anniversary which was a pleasant surprise.

We did have wonderful views of the river and the bed was very comfortable as always. We remembered this hotel as being a great base, but somehow forgot that it was a 15 minute walk to the Sky train station. It was a very long walk through the hotel to the Krungthep Wing which is much closer to the BTS - about 5 minute walk - so stay there if you want easy access! We opted to take taxis in the evening as traffic wasn't too bad.

We chose to have breakfast in the main dining area and it was a generous varied spread right by the river.

I don't think we will stay here again just because of the location and until we hear the hotel has been refurbished.

Room Tip: High floor, river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONDONMANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear LONDONMANIA,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were, however, disappointed to read that our recent room refurbishment and facilities have fallen short of your expectations. Although we are a long standing hotel, we do our best to keep our premises refresh. Our apologies for the shortfall in regards to the working order of your bathroom.

In regards to the service of our Horizon Club Lounge, your comment on the ambience is taken constructively as it forms our service improvement process. Rest assured we have given this our attention.

We do hope to see you back again one day. Please do not hesitate to contact me at ed.brea@shangri-la.com if I can personally assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,891
    1,447
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,553
3,669
464
975
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,838)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel is one of the best hotels in Bangkok. The hotel's location is excellent. I used the Horizon Club Lounge services that were overly spectacular. Would like to give the hotel more than five stars, but the scale out of five!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
4 Thank seti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Simply, Superb in every respect with a wonderful ambience situated beside Bangkok’s Chao Phraya river and just a couple of hundred metres down from the world renowned and equally splendid Oriental Hotel.
My wife and I stayed here last year and our every need was catered for with a truly excellent level of service with equally excellent staff. A quality and service that could only be dreamt about back home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

hello,

we travel the world, that is my wife and 3 young infant boys, this hotel and its staff are truly unreal. if anything over the top. this was the best trip we ever have had. 5 star all the way. staff every where. getting into a car getting out of a car we had 5 or more staff. around the pool staff always asking checking on ur needs. always smiling always saying hello. always made sure you were ok, never a problem. we stayed in a suite and horizon club, they checked me online for travel, at airport they checked me in as far as secruity. it was unreal. no other resort or hotel does this.

we travel all the shangri las and this was and is the best. food was great ,staff very classy place. we were the only ones that had 3 kids and was not a problem. staff love kids

great location too, tutts tutts 50 metres from front door, and staff do everything for you. this place is the stuff dreams are made off. we are going back in 6 months because it was so good, this is no joke. iam now friends with some staff on facebook now too, if you can pay a bit more pay for horizon club with all the benefits, well worth it. darren neal .xxxxx

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We spent the most amazing 3 days at this hotel and it was the perfect start to our honeymoon.

Although we found the city a great place to explore... everyday we found it hard to pull ourselves away from the great service and facilities the hotel had to offer.

We decided to book only 5 stars in all four stop overs of our holiday and must say this was probably our favourite of all. It offers a haven from such a busy city.

Service all around the hotel is exceptional with a special mention to the staff around the pool and greeting you at the entrance to the lobby. Will certainly be back and will always choose Shangri-la's in future based on this stay!

Enjoy the exceptional service & BREAKFAST that this hotel offers

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

An elegant old lady kept impeccably this wonderful hotel makes you feel special from the moment you walk in. The staff are fabulous and couldn't do enough for you.
A room with a view of the river would be a must as it is ever changing and the Hotel is on the best part of the river .
The pool is wonderful and the breakfast spread 2nd to none. Shangri La congratulations on this flagship hotel .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julessyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel inside and out. I showed up well before check-in time to drop my bags before hitting the city to kill time but they made sure I did not have to wait around for my room and showed me straight to it. The staff are absolutely wonderful and will do anything possible to make your stay fantastic.The rooms are immaculate as well. Go for one of the Horizon rooms if you can and you get access to the club floor. I will definitely be returning to this hotel next time I'm in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vidrineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,193 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 852 in Bangkok
6,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing