We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly staff , my room was comfortable some amenities were excellent such as the internet free access in all areas . The pool area and the view to the river from the restaurant were excellent



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank luisrobertobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,084
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,755
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have been a guest at the Shangri-la in Bangkok for many years with several nights each year - both for business and leisure - and I find the hotel to be one of my favorite places to stay anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Skingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Prime location near the river with excellent views of the city. friendly staff and amazing rooms and facilities! There is no better place to stay in Bangkok. Being in walking distance to many places to eat and shop help add to the convenience of this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

people are very nice.easy to communicate..great as always..and very honest..i love shangrila its still the best...feel so safe here..food is good..place is always at its best espcially there pool..staff are very courtious..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Shangri-La Hotel Krung-Thep Wing . Beautiful , go and enjoy . Stayed for the second time and still as wonderful , the room , the staff and just being there is a different world , I know all about the other famous hotels in the area , but this is where I would rather stay












Room Tip: Not telling you , you might take my favourite !! HE HE
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank spudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We started our trip to Australia, in March,with a stop over in Bangkok. We only stayed for one night at Shangri-La Hotel, which had been recommended by Friends. It was a real treat. From the limousine pick up at the airport to checkout the next day. This hotel does not disappoint on any level. The staff, without exception, were courteous and helpful. the room was spotless and well equipped.We only had breakfast, I am gluten Intolerant and there was everything I needed without having to ask for it in advance.I would recommend this hotel, if you are looking to go to Bangkok.We shall definitely be returning for a longer visit and won't be looking any further than Shangri-La.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe King River View room, fantastic outlook especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel very nice staff very helpfull etc a real 5 star Shangri la but
Thai restaurant has very slow service they are very nice but it is so slow 40 min to get your first dish...
Concerning the room, you can hear every person talking in the corridor or entering their room...
Other than that great place short walking distance from bts what is a must when you travel to Bangkok.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AiTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_SLBK, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear AiTrip,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were, however, disappointed to read that our services at Salathip has fallen short of your expectations. Our apologies for the shortfall in regards to the waiting time at the restaurant. Your comment is taken constructively as it forms the foundation of our service improvement process. Rest assured we have given this our attention.

We do hope to see you back again one day. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can personally assist you in any way via e-mail ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing