We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't change!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Please don't change!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have stayed here many many times and love the place, but this last trip we were a little disappointed by a couple of things. It was so busy, with conferences it was overwhelming. Also, sadly missed the L'Occitane products in the bathroom, the replacements are definitely not up to standard. The Horizon Lounge was very good as always, but food had slipped a little and service not as friendly. If you want a coffee from Horizon to take to your room, they give it to you in a paper cup. Not a good idea. All in all we love Shangri-La, let's hope these little things were because they were so busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kfer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,217
    1,505
    365
    129
    75
See reviews for
1,672
3,800
477
1,046
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,912)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Balitmore
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just spent 4 nights at the Shangri-La while visiting Bangkok at the end of a sailing/diving trip to Koh Samui. The clean sheets, AC and huge bathroom were enough to seem like heaven.

Location is great for exploring Bangkok with easy access to river boats (and train system though we never used it) and lots of good places to eat in walking distance.

Room info:
- we stayed in the shangri-la tower in a balcony room. room #1314 (and presumably the xx14 on other floors) are corner rooms and have a lovely view north on the river and a huge corner bathroom with view of the river from the shower and tub. That's hard to beat.
- good desk and dressing table set up w/ multi-country plugs easily accessible on both (handy for a couple traveling with lots of devices to keep charged)
- mini-fridge (not the annoying kind often found in the US that charges you if you move something - so easy to stock with your own supplies). Coffee and tea set up.
- decent hairdryer in the bathroom. And a retractable clothes line over the tub.
- electronic safe and lots of closet and drawer space.
- the do-not-disturb switch is where you think the master light switch would be just inside the door, so I kept turning this on by mistake resulting in our room not getting made up.

Hotel info:
- food at the hotel is pricey - but there are tons of great options nearby if you dont want to eat hotel food. On the most basic level the street food stalls just outside the entrance are yummy. There's also good stall food over near Robinson's department store (about 2-3 blocks away). There's a good restaurant up the street called Mazzarone (?) that's about a 1 min walk from the hotel. Dinner there was about 900 baht for 2 (w/ 2 beers). Tongue Thai and Harmonique (both reviewed on TA) are walkable and good. There's a Tops supermarket up the street (below Robinsons) where we picked up yogurt and fruit for breakfast on the balcony each morning.
- room food is typical (to high) prices. Coke in the mini frige 250 baht. Coke at Tops food store or 7-11 a couple blocks away 12-15 baht. Water prices similar (though the hotel supplies 2 small waters a day in the room.)
-the boat shuttle for the hotel actually only goes to 2 malls. But the ferry boat is nearby and only costs 30 baht to go up river (and cross river ferries cost 3 baht).
- we took at long boat trip through the canals 1 day which cost 900 baht an hour direct to the boat driver but arranged by the hotel - the dock down the road had quoted us 1200 an hour - so a rare time when booking via the hotel was cheaper. Concierge was very helpful coordinating with the boat driver.

We did learn the downside of staying at the Shangri-la (or likely any high end hotel) is that the tuk-tuk and taxi drivers see it as a great reason to up their rates. We referred to it as "the shangri-la" premium. Wised up once and had them drop us at the train station up the street.

All in all no regrets - great location and view.

Room Tip: Looked like XX14 - XX18 were the balcony rooms on each floor in the Shangri-la wing- 14 and 18 were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

The Shangri La brand never ceases to impress and the Bangkok hotel is no different. The service is excellent (thanks to Suwannee Wongpienkit for helping us with our room)- the ferry ride to Asiatique is a must, lots of interesting places to visit there , the gym is amazing, shame the pool was closed however hopefully it'll be open soon

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Badlands_Davy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed four nights at the Shangri-la for a work conference. Everything about the hotel was very good including the rooms, pool, and exercise facilities. The prices for drinks and small snacks at the hotel were quite stiff but easily remedied by 7-11 around the corner. I don't usually stay near the River in Bangkok as it's a somewhat far away from Sukhimvit however it was a beautiful location and a nice change. BTS to Sukhimvit around 40 minutes but easy trip. For a hotel of it's standing, I expected better food quality. Was generally let down by breakfast and room service I ordered. Beef salad by the pool was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Shangri La Bangkok for 2 nights. It was just lovely. The rooms were perfect, clean and everything we could need. The staff were fantastic, always there when we needed something. We stayed at the Krungthep wing and was definitely worth the extra money. The afternoon tea and the cocktails in the evening were lovely. We enjoyed every minute of it and will definitely be back next year. Thank you for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Zarah896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you stay with family, it would be another perfect choice for the accommodation.
Especially Krungthep Wing is so nice which allows you to use all two swimming pools and many privileges at Krungthep Wing lounge.
If you are tennis lover, play here on 7th (not sure) floor top court.
I will definitely stay here again when visiting BKK again next time.

Room Tip: Krungthep Wing Balcony (or Terrace) Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Most of time, I prefer to reserve my riverside room in Shangri-la Hotel Bangkok. Especially for vacation not a business trip. Facilities are excellent. Location is good. I really enjoy sitting besides the pool with my book and facing the beautiful Chaopaya River. It doesn't like the other 5 star hotels located at the center of Bangkok which are surrounding by tall buildings. You will feel not relaxing and will have a feeling that you are being watched for all the time.
Restaurants and spa are extremely good. Buffet dinner is the most valuable enjoyment for your holiday.

Room Tip: high floor facing river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 867 in Bangkok
4,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 867 in Bangkok
6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing