We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel with personnel that provide excellent service and make you feel very much at home. The Restaurants at the hotel is very good. Try the Thai-restaurant and get a taste of heaven!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,688 - 3,694 of 8,447 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed 8 days at the Krungthep Wing and it was truely wonderful.
A very comfortable large room with a balcony overlooking the river, the room kept very clean and with fresh frukt every day. In short everything you need to stay comfortable - and a little extra.
Two big pool areas overlooking the river, the Krungthep pool being a bit more quiet than the pool in front of ShangriLa. Very clean and very comfortable sunbeds, lifeguard allways on duty and food + beverage service.
An extremely good consierge service and reception.
The riverside restaurant Salathip is one of Bangkok's best and moderately priced?
ShangriLa is not the cheapest hotel in town, but well worth an extra dollar.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We finished a whirlwind tour of Southeast Asia (Hanoi, Pattaya, Bangkok) with a return stay at Shangri-La. This was our third time there - the first as a new couple, the second on our honeymoon, and this time with our infant son (along with my in-laws and 16-year old son).

Our first impression of the hotel was that it had aged. While still elegant, it seemed dated and tired. However, the staff was among the best-trained we've experienced in a lot of global travel, and their service was impeccable.

We were able to negotiate great room upgrades for our party, and while the rooms were also quite dated, they were very clean and pleasant. The service still continued to be the distinguishing characteristic of the hotel, with a perfect score in my mind. The club lounge was wonderful, with an amazing buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, although we always took breakfast in the main dining room, which presents the best buffet I've seen ever.

The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool, though drinks there are quite expensive. It is in a perfect location, and we walked many places, and availed ourselves of the water taxis as the hotel is right on the river.

Overall, a wonderful stay, with the best service imaginable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My 19 year old daughter and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in Bangkok. We have previously been to Bangkok (so were not intent on being tourists) and were looking for somewhere to stop over and relax on our way home after a trip to Dubai and the Shangri La was perfect. Staying on the river is magical and watching the comings and goings along this working river is fascinating. We decided to pay the extra to stay in the Krunthep Wing and it proved to be excellent value. The rooms had all you could want, sleep was deep and completely noise free except for Saturday night Karaoke on the river (par for the course all over Thailand!) . Breakfast we chose to take in the next to café as the food choice was much greater than in the riverside lounge and truly had all you could desire. Afternoon tea and cocktails and canapés served in the riverside lounge were delightful. The staff were on the ball the whole time and your every whim was catered for. and mostly prompted. Having said that we were not planning on being tourists if you have not been to Bangkok before and want to see all the sights the hotel is in a perfect location. You are 3 mins walk from the metro so you can get anywhere easily and you are right on the river so you can visit the grand palace etc via the river a great way to get about in this bustling city. Avoid taxis if possible as the roads can be so congested. There is nothing negative to say about this place. We loved our stay and I am planning a return next January with my other daughter. Thankyou Shangri La for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: pay the extra to stay in the Krunthep Wing very worthwhile. Ask for a room at the end away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel has an excellent location on the river, transportation very easy as you can use the river or the Skyway which is right behind the hotel. It's a fabolous experience to stay at this hotel.The hotel and rooms are beautiful and don't miss watching the Sunday tea dance in the lobby!

Room Tip: It's well worth to pay a little more to get a riverview room, as you get a marvellous view of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Serpil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a terrific 5 days at the shangra-la Bangkok. We would use it again if we return to Thailand . The location was great and the service and facilities were first class. The location was within walking distance of the main boat pier which
gave access to many of the river attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay at in Bangkok. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious. We upgraded to a corner suite at check in which gave access to the horizon club. This was expensive but worth it. The room had incredible views from the top floor and was spacious with a truly special feel to it.
The pool area is great and pool service attentive.
The only negative is that we had a very average meal at the hotels Thai restaurant (Thalip)
Would stay here again!

Room Tip: You may be offered what is described as an 'upsell' on check in (upgrade)- ensure you are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,463 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 883 in Bangkok
6,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $166 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing