We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Exelent!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this wonderful hotel and we are looking foward to coming back as soon as possible! The hotel is beautiful, the room is comfortable and has an amazing view of the Chao phraya river. The breakfast is OUT OF THIS WORLD! The best hotel breakfast I´ve ever had! They also have a night boat that takes the guests to a local night market called asiatique, a very good place to have dinner and walk around, I strongly recommend this hotel. The price range is really good for everything the hotel provides. Just amazing!

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the river! Nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,160
    1,489
    363
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,641
3,779
472
1,039
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,900)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Shangri-La. It is in a great location and had a great view over Bangkok. It has a great atmosphere as it is busy but not overcrowded. The rooms are good and the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently with my partner in the quieter part. We'd made our reservation online a few hours earlier. When we arrived the booking was missing owing to a computer upgrade. These things happen and the receptionist was amazing in sorting out the issue and keeping us informed in the ten or so minutes it took to check in. She also mentioned that there was only a twin room available and would arrange with Housekeeping to move the beds together. Very sweet.

We didn't hang about in the room initially as we awaited the bed changes. As such we missed our introduction to the butler which came with the room. Nevertheless he ensured we had welcome drinks and cookies in the room for our return. In fact we met him later when he returned with more cookies. He was very sweet and professional and really made us feel welcome. Of all the amazing service in the hotel, Philips the butler was the most welcoming and memorable. He was discreet, friendly and probably what I would recommend the most about my experience in the hotel.

There were complimentary cocktails included in the package and we had a few downstairs in the lobby. This part was a little soulless, probably due more to the clientele as the staff once again were lovely. We didn't have breakfast there, preferring the busier restaurant where the choices were incredible.

All in all I enjoyed the stay in the hotel. It's a shame the room was a little dated, although the main part of the hotel was immaculate. Perhaps that was just because we had the last room. But anything lacking in the room was made up by the excellent butler service. I would return to the hotel if only to be waited on again by Mr Philips.

I would recommend this hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serafin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumatra, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I love returning to the Shangri-La. Being able to grab public transport to all the must-see sights is great - public river boats, private long boats, BTS Sky Train, CHEAP taxis, not cheap Tuk tuks, and free Shangri-La boat transport. The rooms are lovely expecially with the window seats and a corner unit with a bathroom that looks over the river is bliss. Can't say enough about the fabulous buffet breakfast! Have to add that the service is superb and the touring Bangkok advice from the concierge is invaluable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonianSumatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week Nov 2013, it was a deluxe room. Really nice layout and had a partial view of the river, a very comfortable stay. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Location wise, its away from the hum drum of the sukhamvit road, which is where I have stayed on my earlier trips. We did the horizon cruise which was decent too, good view of the river banks and the buffet spread was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, well situated near to both river and skytrain transport. Very clean with excellent and friendly staff, and beautifully laid out facilities. Somewhere I would recommend for all forms of travel. The buffets are amazing, totally spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Last December, we had a great stay at Shangri la Bangkok. We stayed just 2 nights but already feel want to come back. The hotel has fantastic taste of design and very comfortable. Ensure you get the room facing the river because it worths every penny. We send big thanks to the team who has been very friendly, and helpful, and always on top of our requests. We are coming back this year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandXiaoMing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 863 in Bangkok
4,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#28 of 863 in Bangkok
6,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing