We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great service!

Only negative was in the 5 day conference they served no Thai food. Other than that all was perfect.

All staff, in every situation, new the right answer. From the front desk clerk to the receptionsist in the health club everyone new how to take care of a guest.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEZARSTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,083
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,754
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Spent four days at the Shangri-La for a conference. It is the perfect location. The service was great and the rooms very comfortable. The breakfast was very good, but basic four star buffet breakfast. The hotel is easy access to various site-seeing in Bangkok, if you have the time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Lee_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We had a river view room which was as you can expect in an international hotel of this size and name. It is probably very good as a business hotel or for congresses , we felt it as being very unpersonal. Two little "incidents" to illustrate this. We arrived from Brussels on a Saturday around noon, and we're brought to our room. Nothing was said about breakfast , but something which is not to difficult to find we thought. The next morning (Sunday) , a bit jet legged, I find the breakfast room, quite buzzy, but I'm refused because breakfast is only until 10:30. The clock on my smart phone showed 10:27, so I insisted , asking to get me at least a coffee. I was seated at a dirty table and got a cup of what is possibly the worst coffee I've ever had. A quick look at the buffet showed that everything was already cleared away....
We asked the concierge where to book a long tail for a trip in the canals. He made a phone call and told us that the company they work with had no boat available . "Can we book one later?"
"They don't take reservations "
End of story.
Next time we'll go to a hotel without air miles , but with personal service

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_SLBK, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Anton V,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience as the service you experienced is not our standard. Your comments have already been taken in a constructive manner and effort is being made by those responsible to ensure repeat occurrences are prevented. I hope that you will forgive us on this occasion. We would love to welcome you back and that you will consider us the next time you are visiting Bangkok. You may contact me at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com for any assistance required.
Sincerely,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

There's always something to see happing in the river. Breakfast on the water is nice and with executive privileges. And room upgrade life is really good. I wish I had more time and money to live like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner & I stayed here for two nights in September in a room that was advertised as a partial view of the river, but for a partial view, it was pretty amazing! Plus, it was fantastic to look over the city especially at night.

The room was small but not cramped. Loved the seat by the window - we sat there drinking Chang beer (very classy but the Thai beer is great!) and overlooking the river a lot. Decoration was lovely, lots of charming Thai touches. Bed was very comfortable and we never closed the curtains just fell asleep with the city lights twinkling.

We found the staff incredibly polite and friendly, though service could occasionally be a touch slow in the lobby or in the bar by the river. But everyone was very friendly and otherwise attentive! It was rainy season when we were there otherwise we'd have loved to have spent more time sitting by the river.

Our flight didn't leave to midnight and after a day of exploring, the staff provided us with a room to have a shower and freshen up before heading to the airport -- a nice touch.

A really fantastic 5-star hotel. I'd happily return here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here. After a long flight from London the staff allowed us to check in early at 9:30am. This was greatly appreciated as we were very tired. Our club room was great with fantastic view over the river. We loved the club lounge facility with great breakfast and drinks available all day. Also the early evening canapés were delicious..those with a smaller appetite could almost have a meal from them. Staff without exception were very friendly and attentive. The free river boat shuttle was a great bonus and some times we were the only people on board. We noted that this hotel had the nicest boats compared to other hotels. The pool area was lovely. We were warmly greeted on each occasion with a large glass of water and towels laid out. Exceptional service and beautiful hotel. Good location too near sky train and public boats if you want to go further Down the river. We took the public boat from very close to the hotel for 40 bahts and then paid 500 bahts to get into grand palace which was located right next to one of the stops for the public boat...much cheaper than the tour operator cost of 1000 bahts for a trip to grand palace! Would highly recommend this hotel and definetly return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyb1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in this beautiful hotel right on the river. Our room had a balcony and river views which was really relaxing to sit and have a drink after a hard day sightseeing in the humidity.
The Shangri La was a fantastic hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the food at breakfast and when we ordered lunch was also fantastic.
I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again if I stop over in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a balcony room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing