We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of This World”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Quite Simply one of the best hotels in the world. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here in this year and this place never fails to impress. We have noticed they have upgraded the service by a couple of notches, and every staff member going out of their way to be helpful and friendly. With Marlon Hirsh the Resident Manager and Sachin Tyagi Director of Rooms spending time with us to ensure that our stay was faultless.
We had booked a Horizon club River suite was luxurious, carpets had recently been replaced. Wireless Internet as well as cable connection. 
The pool area is beautiful the guys were attentive bringing cold towels and free water. 
Restaurants - Next 2 serves the most amazing international buffet, Breakfast is also served here I have never seen a breakfast like the ones we had at the Shangri-La. Huge choices of fruit juices, fruit, cereals, breads, cakes, 6 different ice cream/frozen yogurts, big Asian type breakfasts. The egg station chefs were prompt and cooked exactly what you asked for. Sit outside and watch the boats go by on the river, which was lovely. If you go, take some extra bread and feed the fish in the river, they are huge and very hungry The Horizon Club Lounge serves free drinks and 'afternoon tea' whilst between 5:30pm and 7:30pm they serve excellent canapes and free cocktails / alcoholic drinks. 
Close proximity to the riverboat station as well as the sky train made it a perfect location.
A truly great hotel experience, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a Horizon Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fly2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,394 - 4,400 of 8,640 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nothing to complaint about this hotel. Room come with great comfy with spacious river view. The deco is nice with superb facilities. The swimming pool is huge with great cocktails. Imagine you drink a cocktails in the comfy lounger while watching the great sunset at the river? Such a amazing moment. The afternoon is nice as well as the Italian restaurant. Easy to access to many areas as its close to sky train. The hotel is always crowded so need to make sure that you book everything in advance. The hotel got two wings with different decoration. The spa is the best. You can try their hot stone spa. Still can't find any spa good like this. Recommended for those who like to try hotel spa while getting the best hotel services.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sivakorn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as our start of 3 week round trip in Thailand. Maybe wrong place to start as any other hotel will struggle to keep up with this experience. We stayed in the Krungthep wing where butler service and afternoon tea was a part of the package. Most likely this was waste of money for us as travelling with 3 children age 9,13 and 16th we where never back in time for afternoon tea and the butler service we used once in 4 days when we needed a shirt to be ironed.
The hotel facilities where great with an outstanding two pool options and great pool service.
Also very convinient to have at least 3 different restaurants to chose from in the evening at the premises The only drawback is tthat they are costly compared to restaurants on the street, the problem here is that you hade no choice outside your hotel as there was only street food and you needed to go by taxy or sky train to any other restaurants.
All in all great hotel to chill out and experience a sence of luxury. Short sky train ride to the MBK shopping center. Enjoyable for all of us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

love this brand. love this hotel. love thailand! service was exceptional. but that goes without saving in thailand. right on the river. great views. the pool area was quite busy which was a shame. the food, esp breakfast buffet was outstanding. the canapes in the evening were nice. i'd stay again next time but perhaps get a suite as the extra cost wasnt too much extra.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sunday_worshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family of 5 (with 3 teenagers) stayed at the Shangri-La at the end of June 2013. We booked connecting rooms in the Krungthep wing of the hotel and could not have been happier. The included breakfast, happy hour and afternoon tea were well worth the extra cost to stay in the Krungthep wing of the hotel--a nice respite from the busy streets of Bangkok. The hotel location on the Chao Phraya River next to the ferry dock and Skytrain station made getting around the city so easy. The views of the river from our balcony were amazing. ALL of the staff at the hotel were extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We used their airport shuttle when we arrived at nearly midnight, thinking our transportation options might be limited at that hour and paid the 3300 THB for the van. Although it was very easy and we spotted the hotel driver immediately after coming out of the international arrivals area, I think you could definitely spend less by finding a cab at the airport. The BKK airport is open 24 hours and was very busy even at that late night arrival time.

Room Tip: Stay in the Krungthep wing of the hotel for added amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texastraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Currently staying here for four nights. The hotel has wonderful views over the river, and as all Shangri la hotels the service is second to none. We are staying in one of the club horizon rooms, on the 24 th floor which gives you excellent views over the city, it also allows you cocktails and canapé in the evening as part of the package, as well as unlimited cold drinks and beverages throughout the day, the Shangri la is a calm oasis amidst the noise and chaos of Bangkok, I have visited several other 5 star hotels in Bangkok, and the shangri la still hast he wow factor and edge over the others

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macneillfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in May 2013. This hotel has amazing location as it is besides the river with a great view. The location of the hotel ensure that you have train station, boat pier all within 2 mins of walking distance. Hotel has very good service and staff are always helpful.

Hotel has its own boat service also which can take you to Asiatic and some other markets. The breakfast is a great spread and eating in the morning besides the river is a pleasant experience. I will certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: Room with the river view in the middle part has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrutiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,568 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 891 in Bangkok
6,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $185 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing